We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late lunch date”
Review of Darwin’s Kitchen

Darwin’s Kitchen
Ranked #83 of 401 Restaurants in Shrewsbury
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: American, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Darwin’s Kitchen enjoys a great location in the heart of Shrewsbury with easy walking access to the railway station, local tourist spots and many great independant shops and boutiques. Four stylishly decorated double rooms are complimented with contemporary en-suite bathrooms, flat screen tv's and free wi-fi access. Darwin's Kitchen is the newest addition to Shrewsbury based company The DiTella Group also comprising of The Loopy Shrew and Darwin's Townhouse. The Chefs have carefully created a menu offering guests a social dining experience. The Kitchen offers a wide range of small and bigger plates some British favourites and some inspired from around the globe. Darwin's Kitchen has created a warm and inviting environment, perfect for any occasion. Cosy up on the sofas with your morning coffee and paper, catch up with friends in their tropical, leafy conservatory, treat your nearest and dearest to dinner in The Dining Room, a firm nod to Charles Darwin’s roots and style
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

Popped in for a drink and tapas. The outside area is covered and is a lovely addition as it was very relaxing. Tapas was good but not as flavoursome as the menu suggested. Will pop back soon for dinner.

Thank Terri_35_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenL6591, Manager at Darwin’s Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Terri


We have taken on board your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for dinner.
Please ask for the manager when you arrive.

Kind regards

Darwins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 927 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

We’ve been here twice now and both times it’s been the same. The food has been good but the service has been very lacking. This evening we ended up being effectively forgotten twice and had to call the waiter over both times after a long wait. We were then overcharged on the bill to top things off. I can’t imagine we’ll be going back again. It’s a relatively expensive menu but the service simply doesn’t match the prices.

2  Thank TimGUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenL6591, Manager at Darwin’s Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon Tim

We are sorry to read your review.
We have taken on board your comments and retrained staff to ensure that service is now top notch.
If we are able to tempt you back, please call ahead and ask for the manager on duty.

Kind regards

Darwins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

If only I could give 10 stars! The food was superb. I wish I lived nearer as would eat there often. Husband had pepper corn sauce with his steak and said it's the best he's ever eaten, and he's eaten many. Going back on September 7th, can't wait.

1  Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

I made a late booking to Darwin’s Kitchen with rooms last week. I wa expecting cheap and cheerful but that’s certainly not what I received.
The barman was very welcoming showing me to my room which consisted of a Kingsize bed and beautiful modern bathroom. There was a small fridge with fresh milk, as well as a massive assortment of tea’s & coffee and bottled water.
Food was tapas style, I started with the pate which was beautiful and very well presented followed by smoked salmon and a portion of grilled scallops, what a lovely tasting assortment. Breakfast menus was great with plenty of options, I had the full English which was again well presented and flavoursome.
I will certainly be back soon.

1  Thank Glyn9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenL6591, Manager at Darwin’s Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Glyn

We are thrilled to read you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Darwins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

Popped in for a drink & wish we could have eaten here as well - food looked great. Had tried to book a room for the night, however, bit on the pricey side. Well worth a visit, busy on weekend nights.

Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenL6591, Manager at Darwin’s Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Dave

Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back for dinner soon!

Kind regards

Darwins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darwin’s Kitchen also viewed

 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to Darwin’s Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing