We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderfully relaxing stay”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed on a Monday night and had the most wonderfully relaxing time. We stayed in the Argyle Suite which was beautifully decorated and furnished. The only negative was the rather noisy aircon/heating system which even when switched off seemed to make strange gurgling noises! The spa was excellent and the outdoor thermal pool was a real treat. We had dinner in the Vellore Restaurant which was very nice although one minor complaint was that bread was not offered which you would expect from a 5 star hotel. I am sure that if we asked it would have been no problem. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of breads, pastries and cooked options. Although we only stayed for one night we left feeling refreshed and relaxed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,921
    1,238
    678
    320
    153
See reviews for
591
2,745
66
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I have stayed here several times over the years. first stay was 20 yrs ago when it was clearly a 5* and I have to admit that back then it was real luxury. Since taken over its still a very good hotel but the food is a let down compared to back then. If you upgrade your room and add in a couple of treatments or a spa day at a good rate (shop around!) its ideal for the enchantments if Bath. I adore the whole area for its architecture, shopping, restaurants, countryside and the hotel certainly had gorgeous grounds to walk into. Ensure you try a room at the front for the pretty view and have breakfast with the window open....I wish the service and the food were Like they used to be but its a big chain now who think profit !

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SerenityIsMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed at the Hotel, from start to finish the experience was outstanding, our reservation was made by a lady called Tina the customer service was brilliant, really made us feel special we had dinner in the Vellore restaurant the food and service was superb, the spa was lovely. the bedrooms were clean all the staff were friendly. Would highly recommend the Bath Spa Hotel.
Truly had a lovely week end.

Room Tip: Penthouse lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank great186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with cooked breakfast included.

On the first night the room was too hot, the window was stuck fast and the cooling function on the air conditioning was disabled (my experience now tells me this is not unusual in most hotel rooms). More worryingly, it was obvious there were condensation issues in the room (black spot mould growth on the external wall around the windows, lots of condensation on the windows) - not ideal if you are afflicted with respiratory issues. I find that situation at odds with their status as a spa hotel. Anyway, I explained the situation to reception the next morning and by the afternoon, the window had been eased and opened, which was fine.

Bathroom was a good size, with lots of shelf space. The shower was hot and reasonably strong. Not up to my standards of cleanliness - dirty floor, stained bath / WC, mould growth on the bath sealant.

The indoor and outdoor pools were pleasant, although heavily chlorinated. This is not necessarily a bad thing, when one is forced to share what is essentially a 'large bath' with the other punters.

Breakfast was adequate, although when I order a full English breakfast, I expect to see two sausages on the plate, not a lonesome chipolata. Admittedly it was a gourmet sausage, but size was disappointing :/

Located about 10-15 min walk (quite pleasant) from the City Centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GentleBenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a ebookers offer. What really struck me as soon as i entered was that it reeked, really reeked, of hospital food. As you walked around the lovely, if dated and a little threadbare, halls, the scent would change from boiled cabbage to baked beans to 2-day-old Sunday roast. The staff were indeed all very helpful and attentive but the fact that i felt i was in an old folks home meant that we only had a single, extortionately overpriced drink in the collonade bar, surrounded by many paintings of out-of-proportion horses while being careful not to squeeze too many feathers from the holes in the very dead sofa.

The spa, the food? No idea, but Bath itself was more than capable of satisfying those needs.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beirtipol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights March 2012. Hard to fault this hotel. Staff very good. Spa great. Rooms clean. Good quiet location 10 minute walk to city center and Roman Baths. We did not eat at the hotel, we got a taxi £5 to the city and explored the many resturants. Drinks at the hotel expensive £8.50 large red, £12 malt wiskey but don't let that put you off. This is a nice ,smart hotel in a lovely city. Yes would recommend

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

stayed here for 2 nights with 4 other friends. i don't like to write such a negative review but there were just too many things that did not live up to a 5 star, several hundred quid mini-holiday. i wrote a comment card listing these grievances, and made it clear i was happy to be contacted, and have heard no response, so i feel our experiences are not uncommon and simply ignored. so i write this for TA users, assuming the hotel does not look at TA.

the most disappointing part of the stay came at breakfast on the sunday morning. after a fun night out in bath we were all clearly needing tea and coffee, first and foremost. this is, as far as i am concerned, normal procedure. well, after helping ourselves to the (very nice, it must be said) buffet, ordering and receiving our cooked breakfasts, and asking several times for the much needed hot drinks, one of our group went up to the maitre d and mentioned it would be nice if we could get our hot drinks before we finished our breakfasts. this was approx 1 hour after ordering them. the most memorable part of the morning was when a young man then came to our table and said, "i would like to remind you that we are short on coffee pots" and walked away.
now, i don't blame this young man for not knowing that this is not appropriate in any way-- i blame the (non-existent) management for not training their staff, who (some) seemed to WANT to help, but just didn't know what to do.
this does not apply to the young lady who was running around, who, after being asked for milk to go with the tea (which finally arrived-- without milk!), and being asked again, and then a THIRD time (tea is cold now!), snapped at the whole table-- "it's COMING!!"
so... we thought, even though they told us on arrival that the hotel was full, so should've known the restaurant would be full at breakfast-- maybe they were overwhelmed and underprepared on that particular day.
the next day's breakfast... half-full restaurant, yet the same treatment. and AGAIN-- no milk with the tea and coffee!! so this time, we borrowed the large milk jug from the buffet (for cereal) thinking that they would promptly get us a replacement-- but every server that noticed this just left it on our table.
both days the cooked breakfast was cold food served on a piping hot plate, overcooked inedible mushroom, and i sent one of my poached eggs back as it was hard-cooked. both days as they brought out the piping hot plates for our table of six, no one had cleared the buffet plates, so they stood there staring at the table, and all the plates went back to the kitchen while they then came back to clear the other plates. on the second day the method of clearing the plates off our table was to stack them all up on the table next to us and leave them there for the duration.

i'm sure there are more things i could say about the restaurant, but i trust that paints the picture.

as for the rooms-- the beds were very comfortable, the setting was beautiful, the bathrooms very nicely done... but avoid the adjoining rooms if you are not very good friends with the people next door. i don't think they tell people it is an adjoining room-- but you must be able to ask for one that is not. you can hear conversations, coughing, toilet flushing, etc-- none of which bothered us as we are good friends-- but it did make for late night or early morning whispering, when you don't want to wake up the other couple. it really is that un-soundproofed.
also, a thick layer of dust on the desk next to your head when lying in bed. not just dust but very visible white layer that we could write our names in.

the outdoor heated spa pool was absolutely amazing. after a day spent in here we were so relaxed our legs were jelly. obviously this was all slightly for nought, as we got so riled up at breakfast.
one night we went down to the pool as it closes at 9. we went down at 8 thinking a nice hour would do us good. at 845 the young man who works there came out and told our group of 5 that we had to leave now-- but whilst he was saying this he was walking over to the blue plastic cover and bending over to grasp it, as if he would pull it over our heads if we weren't quick. we were outside the door of the spa at 8:50, as he ran around us gathering all the heaps of towels that had been left there from the day, as if his ride home turned into a pumpkin at 9:00.

not once during our stay was there a person who asked us if we were enjoying ourselves, or who seemed to care about our stay, or who it seemed would take control of anything. it felt like a big beautiful hotel with no management, with a bunch of untrained people who may or may not care about whether their customers are enjoying themselves.... so far away from any 5 star establishment i have ever been to. best western or holiday inn treatment in what could be a 5 star luxurious hotel.

one of our group spoke to the asst'manager on leaving, he was apologetic-- 'i'm sorry about that'-- but no sense of anything going any further than that. i mentioned in my comment card that i would be going on tripadvisor (and, like i said, was clear that i was happy to be contacted), and it seems that this hotel doesn't care about tripadvisor.

shocking!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.3 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.6 km away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.8 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Apsley House Hotel
1.1 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,364 reviews
0.8 km away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Property: Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#7 Family Hotel in Bath
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing