We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bets in Bath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Ranked #20 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary with a 2 night stay at this hotel in July. We live in Bedfordshire and were travelling down to Cornwall and decided to stop off in Bath as my husband has always wanted to visit.
We reviewed the hotel online and yes, it's not cheap but it's a 5* hotel and I don't know any that are......
Upon approach the hotel looks magnificent. We arrived slightly early and our room wasn't ready but rather than wait we were told we had been upgraded to a suite. This was a lovely touch - I know it cannot happen every time for everybody but when it does it's fantastic.
Our suite was beautifully fashioned in a lovely contemporary style inkeeping with the hotel and grounds. Wonderfully comfortable and spacious.
We didn't make use of the spa facilities as we wanted to explore the city, however we did have a look around and I decided that I would be bringing my daughter back here for an 'after exams' treat as the pampering facilities looked superb.
Breakfast was delightful with ample choice and excellent service in a lovely airy room with views onto the back gardens.
we ordered room service on our first night as we were worn out after travelling and then walking around the city - delicious food that was served hot and within about 20 minutes of ordering.
If people complain that this is too expensive then I believe they need to compare it to other 5* star hotels and justify their comments. Regardless of our room upgrade I cannot fault this hotel and will definitely be returning.
Tip: We dined at The Olive Tree but wished we had taken evening meal here instead. The Olive Tree was extremely dissappointing with bad service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowen_WilliamsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,453)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,723 - 3,729 of 4,453 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

Tired rooms and laughably poor service. Gaffes in the surprisingly (at first) empty restaurant included: not taking our wine order until we were at table with our starters in front of us - then presenting us with a warm bottle of white wine. When this was commented upon, the 'sommelier' informed us that he would "leave it in the ice bucket for a bit"; inedible scallop starters, which were sent back but could not be replaced because "that's how chef cooks them". Equally poorly cooked fish main courses, but by then we had decided that the chef simply couldn't cook fish and had given up. Back in the bar a chocolate and banana based cocktail was delivered with a whispered "we've run out of chocolate" - a statement which upon inspection was undoubtedly true but astonishing nonetheless. The chocolate-less cocktail was promptly returned to the bar, to be replaced about half an hour later with one which did contain chocolate, although the recipient had rather gone off the idea by then.
Our overly warm room was presented to us as having a 'cooling system' - which we were told would not cool the room as the outside temperature was lower than the room temperature. We took this as an invitation to open the window. The bathroom had worn grouting and a sign over the bath asking us to ensure that the bath mat was in place and the shower curtain inside the bath - as neither item actually existed the advice seemed inappropriate/unnecessary.
The invitingly wide bed turned out to be two singles pushed together, with the inevitable chasm in the middle, although in fairness the bed was comfortable.
In compensation the staff were generally attentive, especially the door staff, the other staff being mainly clueless rather than deliberately ineffective. My wife's spa treatments were good if a little shorter than expected, but they should be good given the prices. With a bill of well over £500 per couple for a one night stay, I don't think we'll be back.

Room Tip: Choose one in a different hotel
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Two night stay, dinner bed and breakfast for two....£496. Small bedroom, decent bathroom. All staff were excellent without exception. Some prices were crazy. £12.50 for a Gin, the tonic was extra. £5 to park your car for the night, you could park outside the hotel for free.Shame as the setting was great and I'll definately go back to Bath but not this Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julian_adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Wish I had read trip advisor before booking this hotel. The prices for breakfast and lunch are so over priced and frankly not worthy of a premier inn. The hotel lacks any warmth or atmosphere it felt like you were sitting in a doctors waiting room in the bar or resturants. Please save your money and book in one of the many other hotels on offer. I also filled out a comments card before leaving the hotel and contacted the macdonald group but am still waiting.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I booked a two night stay for my mum as a surprise for her 60th birthday and what a fabulous time we had. We were greeted by the concierge who were very impressive, the receptionist couldn't do enough to help, we even had a free upgrade. The room was fab, clean and tidy with a view over Bath and the grounds. The spa and swimming pool was out of this world, we had a treatment which was great too. The breakfast was superb too. We decided to eat out both nights as thought the restaurant was quite expensive. The only down side was our room was quite cold, but this was soon fixed when we were given an electric heater. We even spotted Pauline Quirke at breakfast on our second morning! Overall we had an amazing and relaxing weekend in a superb hotel, with superb facilities and grounds and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed for a few days in April for a spa break. The Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel really made our stay relaxing and comfortable, they even turn back the beds at night and lay out your complementary slippers. Staff are very friendly and always around to help with anything. The Hotel is absolutely beautiful and the food excellent. The spa is one of the best we have visited,they have thought of most things and is kept extremely clean. The beauty rooms are also one of the best we have indulged in. The therapist professional and the facilities are just perfect for relaxing and pampering. We shall be back next year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My family and I have just returned from an excellent stay at the Bath Spa Hotel. The service was extremely good and everyone was very helpful and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. When we arrived we were greated by a very helpful man at reception who gave us some useful tips and places of interest to visit while we were in Bath and the Concierge showed us around the hotel. We ate one night in the hotel and the food was very good and we also found the breakfast more than adequate. We used the pool at the Spa but were slightly disappointed that the children had to vacate the pool by 5pm but that was our only niggle. We had interconnecting rooms on the Garden Level which were probably more 4* than 5* but having said that they were very clean and spacious. Bath is a fabulous place to visit and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel as somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine39London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.6 km away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.8 km away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#12 of 32 in Bath
1,359 reviews
1.8 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.0 km away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 32 in Bath
2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

Address: Sydney Road, Bath BA2 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bath
#5 Business Hotel in Bath
#7 Family Hotel in Bath
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $229 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in the heart of historic Bath and within walking distance of the major attractions and city centre, Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is one of the leading five-star hotels is this popular destination. With years and years of history behind its wall and rich in character, the history is subtly complimented by modern facilities and amenities such as a relaxing spa and outdoor hydrotherapy pool. The food at Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel is simply outstanding and awarded two AA rosettes for quality and service in the popular Vellore Restaurant. Unwind overlooking the fabulous grounds with stunning views over the city. For that extra special treat, consider booking an Imperial Suite with its very own butler service, one of the best ways to stay in historic Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Bath Hotel Bath
Macdonald Hotel Bath
Bath Hotel Spa
Macdonald Bath Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing