We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient for town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brocks Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brocks Guest House
Ranked #55 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very convenient for town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Pleasant staff, nice breakfast in nice crockery. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FPnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    75
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
55
152
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Good value for money B&B
It is a bit dated with the decor.

We have stayed in Brocks manytimes, and its the location that really makes it ,situated between the Cresent and the Circus., its right in the heart of the city,. We have always found it quiet, and its also close to a large carpark.

There are a few restaurants very close by, including The Circus, almost next door, its very nice & makes a great place to meet up if your party are not all arriving at the same time.

For children, dont forget the Play ground in Royal Victoria park, which is super

Room Tip: THere is a variety of rooms, so check when you book - the middle floors have the higher ceilings you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CB_UK987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

A warm welcome from the moment we arrived to the end of our stay. An ideal place to stay, with comfortable room and facilities. Good location, within walking distance to the local attractions and city centre. Brocks issued Parking permit which was very handy indeed. Will return to Brocks again for both the hospitality and good location of this Guest House. Thank you Richard and to his staff. I would suggest packing your best walking shoes if visiting Bath as soo much to see (this has no bearing on the location of this lovely Guest House - just Bath itself..)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Our Online reservation experience with Brocks left a rather bitter after-taste that almost destroyed our confidence with online (website) booking for other hotels in England.

We made a booking for a family room in Brocks Guest House through “visitbath.co.uk” along with 10% advance payment. We received the booking confirmation by email (after the usual checking for room availability) from "Visitbath", and our credit card payment was received and acknowledged.

A few days later, to our horror, we received the following email from Richard of Brocks,”I’m very sorry but we are fully booked for the dates requested. ..(we will) request a refund of your 10% deposit.” We were rather distressed, because we had received booking confirmation, made deposit payment in advance, and cancelled tentative bookings with other hotels.

We wrote to Richard to: 1) express our concerns about the poor integrity of the booking system, 2) get refund on our deposit, and 3) get an explanation of how a situation like this could have happened.

Instead of getting a reassuring response, we received a rather patronizing response from Richard,”It's called HUMAN ERROR, I do apologies but these things happen.” I couldn’t believe the response I got, so I had to telephone Richard just to hear Richard’s incredible explanation for myself, and to convince myself that Brocks Guest House isn’t just an internet scam. The phone calls cost more than my cash deposit, but I had to do it, otherwise this would’ve destroyed all my years of confidence in online hotel bookings.
We got our deposit returned eventually, only after several anxious weeks of enquiries via email and telephone calls from half way across the world.

If customer service starts at the point of reservation, I’m afraid Brocks Guest House FAILED MISERABLY.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank DavChandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Brocks Guest House was a fantastic place to stay. It has a great central location, but in a quiet street, very pretty on the outside, giving a great first impression. They had plenty of information on sightseeing and things to do in Bath, great for first time visitors. They also went completely out of there way to help with the parking situation (which was a nightmare in mid December) The room was extremely clean and had everything you need, the breakfast was also good. I also thought it was well worth the price paid. I would recommend Brocks to anyone and will definitely visit again, thank you Brocks, for giving us such a great weekend!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

brock house was nicely situated and easy to find,on arrival was greated and given keys to our rooms ,Nice and clean room bed very squeaky and bedding not as lush as would have
liked.inall worth the money and overall a nice place to stay.







like but ok and clean ..

Room Tip: would advise room 3 as very lush and roomy,we had room 7 nice but liked our friends room which was r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clduplix@aol.com
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Very disappointing,old and outdated decor.Amenities,no shampoo,a slither of soap not much bigger than 50p coin.Breakfast very average,all for £89 per night .
Have stayed in the Dorian (not central but fantastic) by mistake went to Brooks,modern large rooms,great award winning breakfast ,But the location is fantastic,adjacent to the Crescent and 5 mins away from shops and restaurants

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarelouised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 km away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.6 km away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
0.5 km away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#29 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#43 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.3 km away
The Bath House
The Bath House
#7 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
0.6 km away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brocks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brocks Guest House

Property: Brocks Guest House
Address: 32 Brock Street, Bath BA1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brocks Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant Georgian home was built by John Wood the younger in 1765, and is ideally situated in the loveliest part of Bath between the Circus and Royal Crescent. We aim to offer you comfort and personal attention. We will gladly help you plan your stay in Bath, giving guidance with visits, tours and routes. Our rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable with all the expected amenities of a 4 gold star guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brocks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brocks Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing