We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brock's Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brocks Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brocks Guest House
Ranked #54 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Brock's Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

This was our first time in Bath. Brock's was an excellent choice primarily because of it's location. It was just a 10 -15 minutes walk from the train station and is located a short distance away from the center of town. So it's an easy walk to town but on a quiet street between the beautiful Crescent and the Circus. My husband, daughter and I had the family room at the top of the lovely house. It was tastefully decorated, comfortable and clean. Richard is a wonderful host. He works so hard----greeting guests, helping us with a parking permit, cooking breakfast. Yet he is always pleasant and gracious. Breakfast was substantial.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    75
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
55
152
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed here on a visit to Bath and it was lovely. Big rooms - you could have been in a hotel, and lovely staff. Parking permits are a massive bonus as bath is hard to park in and expensive!

Great location too. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrsHop78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Brocks is very convenient, and though road busy in day is quiet at night. Parking permits are a bonus. The staff were friendly and breakfasts excellent. We had the family room right at the top which was light and roomy.( stairs keep you fit!) Wish our stay had been longer and would not hesitate to go there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at Brocks for 4 nights in early April. We found the staff very friendly and helpful however, we thought the room would need a little bit of updating. The room was clean and the tea, coffee and biscuits a nice touch. The shower continually moved from hot to cold which we found out must be an ongoing problem as there was a notice in hallway stating shower temperature must be lowered to avoid problem. On Sunday morning we requested full English breakfast but was immediately informed no bacon or sausages were available, only eggs available which was disappointing. We mentioned this to Richard, however, we were charged full rate but I think we should have been given a refund for Sunday. This B & B is well located and very quiet,

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here for one night mid-week. Had arranged to meet friends for dinner at The Circus bistro in Brock Street which is right in the centre of Bath linking The Circus to the Royal Crescent. Most of the Bath B&Bs that score highly in Trip Advisor seemed to be located between 1 and 2 miles outside the city and we really just wanted a short walk back afterwards. Via the AA web-site discovered this B&B was actually next door but one to our bistro and the location really is superb.

I was a little unsure by some of the mixed reviews but on the advice of another reviewer we asked for Room 3 which was a large en-suite room overlooking the street on the second level. If I were looking for faults, I might mention the sofa was looking a bit worn/grubby and the towels werent exactly egyptian cotton. But on the otherhand, this is a lovely old georgian town-house in the centre of Bath retaining much of its old character. Several reviews mentioned problems getting access and i was quite amused when Keith actually rang to find out exactly when we would be arriving - he wanted to be sure he was in!

No problems on arrival and Keith very kindly lent me the residents parking permit and I was able to park right outside. Furthermore he was also happy for me to keep it until early afternoon after booking out so we were able to have a wander around the city next morning without worrying about car parks etc. Breakfast was fine - cooked to order and very tasty. Keith and the lady who served breakfast were both very friendly and welcoming and I can certainly recommend this B&B. The Circus Bistro was also a hit!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 911prentonpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Pleasant staff, nice breakfast in nice crockery. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FPnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Good value for money B&B
It is a bit dated with the decor.

We have stayed in Brocks manytimes, and its the location that really makes it ,situated between the Cresent and the Circus., its right in the heart of the city,. We have always found it quiet, and its also close to a large carpark.

There are a few restaurants very close by, including The Circus, almost next door, its very nice & makes a great place to meet up if your party are not all arriving at the same time.

For children, dont forget the Play ground in Royal Victoria park, which is super

Room Tip: THere is a variety of rooms, so check when you book - the middle floors have the higher ceilings you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CB_UK987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 km away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.6 km away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.5 km away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#29 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#44 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.3 km away
The Bath House
The Bath House
#7 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
0.6 km away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brocks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brocks Guest House

Property: Brocks Guest House
Address: 32 Brock Street, Bath BA1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brocks Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant Georgian home was built by John Wood the younger in 1765, and is ideally situated in the loveliest part of Bath between the Circus and Royal Crescent. We aim to offer you comfort and personal attention. We will gladly help you plan your stay in Bath, giving guidance with visits, tours and routes. Our rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable with all the expected amenities of a 4 gold star guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Brocks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brocks Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing