We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveller rating
80
102
81
79
151
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
102
81
79
151
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre up hill english breakfast weekend break conservatory
Filter
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 493 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I had a grate time in this hotel. The staff is really helpfull and very good. Rooms are really clean with grate view and the food is really tasty as well... i'm sure i will came there again

Room Tip: the rooms at the top floor have better view
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justyna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I spent a great time at this hotel. Staff very nice. Food tasty. Rooms very clean. Surely I come back to this hotel.....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed here over the weekend of the Half Marathon. Like others we were nervous in view of the mixed reviews – I emailed the hotel well in advance requesting a “Room with a View” and we ended up on the top floor. That is probably my main (tentative) conclusion from all the reviews and our own experience – avoid the basement and aim high! Also one or two ground floor rooms appeared to look out onto some building work.

But I have to say that we were very impressed with the hotel. We are not particularly fussy about designer furniture and furnishings, just functionality – the décor was 'interesting' but absolutely fine. In fact some of the oddities, like the grotesque bar stools had their own appeal! The bar was satisfactory, comfortable, and cleanly decorated, though the range of drinks was limited (eg 3 brandies on the tariff, but only 1 (different) one of dubious 'spanish holiday' quality was actually available, and there was bottled lager but no beer 'on tap').

Our room (No 2) had an impressive view over Bath. It was not big, but quite satisfactory. It helps to be able to climb a couple of flights of stairs, but they weren't difficult (at least with overnight bags – 30kg cases might be more of a problem!). The ensuite was a bit cramped; the shower pressure was good but the temperature control was not – very hot or stone cold, especially at peak times. The bed headboard was a curious furry thing which made reading in bed a bit of an itchy experience. But everything was clean. We did have to ask for tea/coffee/milk top-ups as the room staff forgot to replenish them – plentiful supplies were provided immediately, with apologies. The TV was a modern plasma one and the range of channels was pretty good (mainly Freeview).

There was certainly no smell of curry during our stay (let alone any 'stink'). Almost a shame, as we had been looking forward to one when we got there, but the chef was off. So do not rely on an evening meal on arrival unless you arrange it. We went down to the local pub (The Bear) which has been recommended by the hotel and does very good food and ale.

The breakfast was extremely good, and prompt once ordered, but make sure you get someone's attention to take the order if they don't materialise reasonably quickly. The buffet had an extensive range, including (very) fresh fruit, cereals and a few sorts of bun-type bread. The cooked breakfast was excellent, especially if you like a traditional 'full English' (we do) as there aren't the alternatives which are sometimes available, such as kippers or smoked salmon. Toast is DIY, some slots quick, some slow (elements a bit weak)!

We found all the staff very polite and helpful, and the Indian lady who seemed to be the 'management' was charming - we certainly had no language issues with any of the staff. There are city-centre short-cut directions at reception you can take, which are extremely useful, and the website directions for the bus are spot on.

Basically, a definite 'Thumbs Up'! We will be more than happy to come here again next year if our 'youngsters' do the Bath run again in 2013.

Room Tip: Top rooms seem very good, avoid the basement!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Please check the room before you pay the second half of the money to the 'reception.' We were shown to our basement room, branded as a premium double which was located next to the service entrance. The room was absolutely tiny and decorated like an Amsterdam Brothel complete with provocative pictures on the wall. The 'receptionist' struggled to tell us what time breakfast was and answer any of the usual questions you expect to be answered when being welcomed to a hotel.

This place felt like being in a halls of residence. We paid 270 GBP for two nights. Despite being by the service entrance and having displayed the 'please make up my room' tab on the door, our room was not made up.

I second some of the comments on trip adviser, the hotel did stink of curry, the views out of the rooms were horrid (building site/ in our case the bins) and the service was worse than I have had was 'hostel' more than 'hotel' at best. We took taxis to and from the hotel into town as the location was not quite as described.

This hotel is a lottery winner's idea of class. The hotel needs Alex Polizzi to go in here and work her magic. The building is lovely and has lots of potential, from some of the comments from previous individuals who have stayed here remembering th 'glory days'
It really does seem to have lost its way.

Hotel owners if you are reading this please think about what service you are offering. £270 is a lot of money to charge individuals in any suburb hotel. Please think about neutralising the decor, taking the clutter out of the main corridors and dining room. Visiting ikea to buy matching service items for breakfast, purchasing top sheets for the beds, investing in new showers, cleaning out the luggage storage area (currently a dulux resting place), changing the lay out in the bar, removing those horrid plastic seats, removing the ill positioned chairs and sofas or placing covers on them so they don't look circa 1992, get matching suites in the bathrooms and not a broken addis bin. You should seriously think about reducing the number of rooms you have to optimise the space and make those premium rooms premium. It is obvious that you are unable to manage the room capacity both from a decor and chamber aiding capacity. By reducing the number of rooms and increasing the size of the existing rooms you will actually be able to charge more money for your rooms...

Please owners invest in this hotel or you will go bankrupt/shut down. I shall be advising booking.com that your photos are out of date and the description of the hotel is currently not correct. I went on the customer rating which was 4/5 and was foolish not to read the comments from guests. I am not sure how the 4/5 rating came about but I am pretty sure it didn't come from anyone that has actually stayed there...

Owners I look forward to hearing your response, but would love to see you turn this place around and visit in the future.

Best wishes,

Room Tip: Check the room before paying the rest of the money upfront....
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weekender450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed in this hotel last weekend for our wedding anniversary and were worried after seeing the reviews but absolutely no complaints.Well cooked breakfast.Romantic nicely decorated room.Friendly staff.Completely enjoyed our stay no complaints.Will recommend and definately stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobydelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews