We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For those looking to save money...”
Review of Wentworth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wentworth House
Ranked #148 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Ansbach, DE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“For those looking to save money...”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Wentworth used to be a lovely Georgian home but has not had updating or maintenance, it seems, in decades. Worn carpeting, walls badly need painting, bathroom fixtures are worn out, beds are worn & uncomfortable, and so on. Our room was small, which was to be expected, but everything in it was so old and worn out including all the bathroom fixtures, the beds, the lamps, and so on. It didn't help that we were put in the basement and we couldn't open a window at night as the window was right at street level where anyone could just bend over and look in if they chose, so it didn't feel very safe.

The staff is friendly enough when you run into them. The breakfast, however, was inedible... and I'm not a picky eater at all. The location is walking distance to Bath if you're very fit as the Wentworth is up a big hill.

I would only recommend this to people who really want to save money as the cost was lower than the hotels in town.

Room Tip: We were put in a basement room... definitely do NOT do that. Maybe the upper rooms are better, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    86
    70
    69
    138
See reviews for
53
248
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed whilst in own for a relatives birthday, the room was smaller than our touring caravan, our knees banged on the sink when we sat on the toilet and there was a lingering smell of take away food in the whole building! The staff were pretty rude once they had our money and didn't care weather or not we were happy with the accommodation. Every noise could be heard in the rest of the building, doors opening and closing, people on the stairs, water heaters turning on non stop. The kettle had to be on the floor if you plugged it in which is potentially a fire hazard, but the cord was so short it didn't reach the table. The decor was tacky and cheap with the odd granny's thrown away chairs thrown in. The staff tried to say that the standard rooms are small because it is an old building and that I should have booked a bigger room, the photos shown on the website are completely misleading and we couldn't upgrade as the place was supposedly full. Would never come again or recommend anyone else to!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ladycircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

cork
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

So this is Bath and this venue is great value.
Staff very helpful, the stairs were tight but we were told so- perhaps the style in the original design. The place is perfectly suited to the vibe I expected from the city of Bath- an old style that is getting harder to capture.
Location: perfect. breakfast: top class.Parking: great. Will I stay again: yes, certainly

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karnice, Zachodniopomorskie, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I had a grate time in this hotel. The staff is really helpfull and very good. Rooms are really clean with grate view and the food is really tasty as well... i'm sure i will came there again

Room Tip: the rooms at the top floor have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justyna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalowa Wola, Tarnobrzeg, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I spent a great time at this hotel. Staff very nice. Food tasty. Rooms very clean. Surely I come back to this hotel.....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed here over the weekend of the Half Marathon. Like others we were nervous in view of the mixed reviews – I emailed the hotel well in advance requesting a “Room with a View” and we ended up on the top floor. That is probably my main (tentative) conclusion from all the reviews and our own experience – avoid the basement and aim high! Also one or two ground floor rooms appeared to look out onto some building work.

But I have to say that we were very impressed with the hotel. We are not particularly fussy about designer furniture and furnishings, just functionality – the décor was 'interesting' but absolutely fine. In fact some of the oddities, like the grotesque bar stools had their own appeal! The bar was satisfactory, comfortable, and cleanly decorated, though the range of drinks was limited (eg 3 brandies on the tariff, but only 1 (different) one of dubious 'spanish holiday' quality was actually available, and there was bottled lager but no beer 'on tap').

Our room (No 2) had an impressive view over Bath. It was not big, but quite satisfactory. It helps to be able to climb a couple of flights of stairs, but they weren't difficult (at least with overnight bags – 30kg cases might be more of a problem!). The ensuite was a bit cramped; the shower pressure was good but the temperature control was not – very hot or stone cold, especially at peak times. The bed headboard was a curious furry thing which made reading in bed a bit of an itchy experience. But everything was clean. We did have to ask for tea/coffee/milk top-ups as the room staff forgot to replenish them – plentiful supplies were provided immediately, with apologies. The TV was a modern plasma one and the range of channels was pretty good (mainly Freeview).

There was certainly no smell of curry during our stay (let alone any 'stink'). Almost a shame, as we had been looking forward to one when we got there, but the chef was off. So do not rely on an evening meal on arrival unless you arrange it. We went down to the local pub (The Bear) which has been recommended by the hotel and does very good food and ale.

The breakfast was extremely good, and prompt once ordered, but make sure you get someone's attention to take the order if they don't materialise reasonably quickly. The buffet had an extensive range, including (very) fresh fruit, cereals and a few sorts of bun-type bread. The cooked breakfast was excellent, especially if you like a traditional 'full English' (we do) as there aren't the alternatives which are sometimes available, such as kippers or smoked salmon. Toast is DIY, some slots quick, some slow (elements a bit weak)!

We found all the staff very polite and helpful, and the Indian lady who seemed to be the 'management' was charming - we certainly had no language issues with any of the staff. There are city-centre short-cut directions at reception you can take, which are extremely useful, and the website directions for the bus are spot on.

Basically, a definite 'Thumbs Up'! We will be more than happy to come here again next year if our 'youngsters' do the Bath run again in 2013.

Room Tip: Top rooms seem very good, avoid the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Please check the room before you pay the second half of the money to the 'reception.' We were shown to our basement room, branded as a premium double which was located next to the service entrance. The room was absolutely tiny and decorated like an Amsterdam Brothel complete with provocative pictures on the wall. The 'receptionist' struggled to tell us what time breakfast was and answer any of the usual questions you expect to be answered when being welcomed to a hotel.

This place felt like being in a halls of residence. We paid 270 GBP for two nights. Despite being by the service entrance and having displayed the 'please make up my room' tab on the door, our room was not made up.

I second some of the comments on trip adviser, the hotel did stink of curry, the views out of the rooms were horrid (building site/ in our case the bins) and the service was worse than I have had was 'hostel' more than 'hotel' at best. We took taxis to and from the hotel into town as the location was not quite as described.

This hotel is a lottery winner's idea of class. The hotel needs Alex Polizzi to go in here and work her magic. The building is lovely and has lots of potential, from some of the comments from previous individuals who have stayed here remembering th 'glory days'
It really does seem to have lost its way.

Hotel owners if you are reading this please think about what service you are offering. £270 is a lot of money to charge individuals in any suburb hotel. Please think about neutralising the decor, taking the clutter out of the main corridors and dining room. Visiting ikea to buy matching service items for breakfast, purchasing top sheets for the beds, investing in new showers, cleaning out the luggage storage area (currently a dulux resting place), changing the lay out in the bar, removing those horrid plastic seats, removing the ill positioned chairs and sofas or placing covers on them so they don't look circa 1992, get matching suites in the bathrooms and not a broken addis bin. You should seriously think about reducing the number of rooms you have to optimise the space and make those premium rooms premium. It is obvious that you are unable to manage the room capacity both from a decor and chamber aiding capacity. By reducing the number of rooms and increasing the size of the existing rooms you will actually be able to charge more money for your rooms...

Please owners invest in this hotel or you will go bankrupt/shut down. I shall be advising booking.com that your photos are out of date and the description of the hotel is currently not correct. I went on the customer rating which was 4/5 and was foolish not to read the comments from guests. I am not sure how the 4/5 rating came about but I am pretty sure it didn't come from anyone that has actually stayed there...

Owners I look forward to hearing your response, but would love to see you turn this place around and visit in the future.

Best wishes,

Room Tip: Check the room before paying the rest of the money upfront....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weekender450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 km away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#35 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.5 km away
Astor House
Astor House
#64 of 154 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.5 km away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#45 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Elgin Villa
Elgin Villa
#149 of 154 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.9 km away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.6 km away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#19 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth House

Property: Wentworth House
Address: 106 Bloomfield Road, Bath BA2 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wentworth House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wentworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth House Hotel Bath
Wentworth Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing