We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wentworth House
Nearby Hotels
US$479
US$465
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath Priory(Bath)
US$273
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Abbey Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$295
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$128
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$302
US$284
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$110
US$89
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$261
US$239
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dukes Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$181
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
78
98
74
76
147
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
98
74
76
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centreup hillon site parkingenglish breakfastweekend breakcereal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
297 - 302 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I stayed whilst in own for a relatives birthday, the room was smaller than our touring caravan, our knees banged on the sink when we sat on the toilet and there was a lingering smell of take away food in the whole building! The staff were pretty rude once they had our money and didn't care weather or not we were happy with the accommodation. Every noise could be heard in the rest of the building, doors opening and closing, people on the stairs, water heaters turning on non stop. The kettle had to be on the floor if you plugged it in which is potentially a fire hazard, but the cord was so short it didn't reach the table. The decor was tacky and cheap with the odd granny's thrown away chairs thrown in. The staff tried to say that the standard rooms are small because it is an old building and that I should have booked a bigger room, the photos shown on the website are completely misleading and we couldn't upgrade as the place was supposedly full. Would never come again or recommend anyone else to!

Stayed: April 2012
4  Thank ladycircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

So this is Bath and this venue is great value.
Staff very helpful, the stairs were tight but we were told so- perhaps the style in the original design. The place is perfectly suited to the vibe I expected from the city of Bath- an old style that is getting harder to capture.
Location: perfect. breakfast: top class.Parking: great. Will I stay again: yes, certainly

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I had a grate time in this hotel. The staff is really helpfull and very good. Rooms are really clean with grate view and the food is really tasty as well... i'm sure i will came there again

Room Tip: the rooms at the top floor have better view
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justyna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I spent a great time at this hotel. Staff very nice. Food tasty. Rooms very clean. Surely I come back to this hotel.....

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed here over the weekend of the Half Marathon. Like others we were nervous in view of the mixed reviews – I emailed the hotel well in advance requesting a “Room with a View” and we ended up on the top floor. That is probably my main (tentative) conclusion from all the reviews and our own experience – avoid the basement and aim high! Also one or two ground floor rooms appeared to look out onto some building work.

But I have to say that we were very impressed with the hotel. We are not particularly fussy about designer furniture and furnishings, just functionality – the décor was 'interesting' but absolutely fine. In fact some of the oddities, like the grotesque bar stools had their own appeal! The bar was satisfactory, comfortable, and cleanly decorated, though the range of drinks was limited (eg 3 brandies on the tariff, but only 1 (different) one of dubious 'spanish holiday' quality was actually available, and there was bottled lager but no beer 'on tap').

Our room (No 2) had an impressive view over Bath. It was not big, but quite satisfactory. It helps to be able to climb a couple of flights of stairs, but they weren't difficult (at least with overnight bags – 30kg cases might be more of a problem!). The ensuite was a bit cramped; the shower pressure was good but the temperature control was not – very hot or stone cold, especially at peak times. The bed headboard was a curious furry thing which made reading in bed a bit of an itchy experience. But everything was clean. We did have to ask for tea/coffee/milk top-ups as the room staff forgot to replenish them – plentiful supplies were provided immediately, with apologies. The TV was a modern plasma one and the range of channels was pretty good (mainly Freeview).

There was certainly no smell of curry during our stay (let alone any 'stink'). Almost a shame, as we had been looking forward to one when we got there, but the chef was off. So do not rely on an evening meal on arrival unless you arrange it. We went down to the local pub (The Bear) which has been recommended by the hotel and does very good food and ale.

The breakfast was extremely good, and prompt once ordered, but make sure you get someone's attention to take the order if they don't materialise reasonably quickly. The buffet had an extensive range, including (very) fresh fruit, cereals and a few sorts of bun-type bread. The cooked breakfast was excellent, especially if you like a traditional 'full English' (we do) as there aren't the alternatives which are sometimes available, such as kippers or smoked salmon. Toast is DIY, some slots quick, some slow (elements a bit weak)!

We found all the staff very polite and helpful, and the Indian lady who seemed to be the 'management' was charming - we certainly had no language issues with any of the staff. There are city-centre short-cut directions at reception you can take, which are extremely useful, and the website directions for the bus are spot on.

Basically, a definite 'Thumbs Up'! We will be more than happy to come here again next year if our 'youngsters' do the Bath run again in 2013.

Room Tip: Top rooms seem very good, avoid the basement!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews