We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bedroom disappointing not like any on website”
Review of Brooks Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse
Ranked #33 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We booked this guest house on the strength of its website,as it had pocket sprung beds and I have a bad back,plus the pictures of the bedrooms all looked lovely. what a disapointment our room was nothing like any on the website, it was tired I have thrown better furniture away,and the decor looked like it had been done by somebody on LSD,the beds were ok, the shower room was very narrow and there was a brown/black stain on the grout of a couple of tiles,There were two very large sash windows one of which had a broken lock so you could not lock it when you went out, I would have worried about leaving any thing of value in the room.and all the doors need to see a oil can.this house is on a very busy road.On the plus side the staff were lovely, food good, and only a 10 min walk into the city.

Room Tip: make sure the pictures match the rooms,ask when the website was last updated and I think a front roo...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikefindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,045)
There are newer reviews for Brooks Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2011

We had a bad start to our stay with a flat tire. The manager on duty helped us by making phone calls, booking us a reservation at a great local restaurant and recommending a place to get the flat fixed. The room was roomy enough, great view of the Abbey, had a great bath, and while I would have rather had one double bed instead of two twins, I would stay here again. Easy walking distance to everything in my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zaqurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My husband booked this B&B as a surprise for my birthday as he loved the pictures on the website and modern shabby chic interior of the rooms. But what a let down the hotel was like a sweat box with a terrible must oder, the room was not as described it was a box with a bed and a wardrobe facing a car garage. We actualy tried to book another B&B but all were fully booked so ended up staying. Our room was facing the main road and due to the exstream tempriture of our room we had to have the doule patio door open what a nightmare imagine having your bedroom facing a busy A road. We barely slept all night. Breakfast was good service was friendly but all in alll not worth the over 110 he paid. Very expensive for a B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay the room you stayed in was a king double at £110 B&B its £9 under the average price of a room in Bath. You are right Bath is expensive but there are other B&B 's outside of Bath much cheaper ,
The room you stayed in is a king double with two bed side marble tables, lamps a dressing table and a wardrobe & chair , lovely patio doors onto a patio and a good sized ensuite bathroom, it was exceptionally hot last week an indian summer which is why fans were in all the bedrooms.
I know that you "walked out l"ate in the evening but then but then had to come back as Bath was full and you could not get another hotel so obviously it was never going to be the best experience after the dramatic , exit glad you enjoyed breakfast & our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Really enjoyed our 2 night stay here in April. Our room was lovely, clean & nicely decorated. The bed & duvet were also really comfortable. We stayed in the room opposite the lounge so it was easy to pop to use the free laptop to check out where to eat locally. Also loved the breakfast and coffee. The staff on reception were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend and return

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutmeg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Lovely little guesthouse about 5mins walk from the main city centre. I shared with a friend in room 6 - twin beds...comfortable sleep - no complaints. There's a living room - which was lovely to come back to with an honesty bar downstairs (great idea). Can't fault the living quarters. The breakfast room was light and airy - but I have to say NOT the best breakfast I've had. I ordered bacon, sausages and poached eggs...the bacon look like the plastic joke ones...and didn't taste much better. The sausages was adequate - thank god for the poached eggs!! Could do with improvement.

All in all a nice comfortable stay....lots of bedrooms to pick from...so it's not an intimate guest house as I prefer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayglopainting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Upon recommendation, myself and a friend have just spent 2 days at Brooks Guesthouse. Sian and Ben were very welcoming. Sian was great on advising on places to visit, recommended places to eat and how best to get around Bath by public transport and walking.

Beds was very comfortable. Breakfast was very lovely and enjoyable and staff very welcoming.

Bath is a beautiful place to visit and having somewhere to stay that was of a high standard, friendly and staff that were accommodating, helpful and friendly, made our visit even more enjoyable. We would definitely recommend this Guest house to friends and family

Pauline and Bili

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineSurrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The room was big enough for two and the bathroom was clean. There were some stains on the carpet, but nothing too bad...

The mattress was VERY soft, but fairly comfortable.

The owner/manager was very helpful and knowledgeable about the surrounding areas in terms of both places of interest and local restaurants.

The breakfast specials were fantastic - Eggs Benedict & French Toast were both superb!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunt83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 km away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#15 of 157 in Bath
382 reviews
0.1 km away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#48 of 157 in Bath
237 reviews
1.0 km away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 157 in Bath
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#39 of 157 in Bath
285 reviews
0.5 km away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#60 of 157 in Bath
294 reviews
1.9 km away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#18 of 157 in Bath
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse

Address: 1 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $139 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique guesthouse in Bath city centre, featuring 22 unique & individually styled en-suite rooms. Situated 2 mins from the Royal Crescent and a flat 7 min walk to town. Serving award winning breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guesthouse Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing