We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel in Bath”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Bath”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My wife and I stayed four days in Bath and were fortunate to come across this 'Coast & Country' hotel. On the outskirts with a bus stop just 50 yards away, with regular services.
Staff very friendly and efficient. Food good. Room clean and well serviced. This is an older hotel but has been renovated to a good standard. You can see a few blemishes here and there but overall we think they deserve an "excellent" rating - and my wife used to be an Executive Housekeeper in an American owned chain.
Would recommend to other visitors to Bath.

Room Tip: A bit of traffic noise at the front but it didn't worry me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear David G
Thanks posting your views online. Yes you are correct there is a good bus service into the city centre from the bus stop just slightly down the road.
I have passed on your great comments to all the staff including our own head housekeeper and room attendants.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    303
    114
    35
    17
See reviews for
83
411
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

What a great value stay, 3rd time in 3 years and very pleased to see many of the same staff, who were welcoming and obliging.
A steep hill takes you to the city centre - walking distance for those who are quite fit, the bus stops outside the door for those who arn't.
Christmas Markets made our weekend very enjoyable, whilst the decor is a little tired, the rooms are clean and comfortable.
Will be back next year

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Joanne C
What a brillant posting ,like yourself Joanne we have many returning guests which makes all the staff and myself feel we are achieving and trying to improve on our standards. We look forward to your fourth visit to the Lansdown .Please make sure you introduce yourself when you arrive.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Recently stayed here for weekend and what a great weekend, Lovely Views overlooking Bath.
Hotel nicely furnished rooms fine. The food is excellent in this hotel. Also excellent for getting into town cwntre as bus stop outside hotel.
Would stay there again.Well done Shearings for good value short break

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frannyb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Frannyb4
Thanks for taking the time to post a fantastic review.Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane Milliken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at this lovely hotel during December. We were extremely pleased that it was within walking distance and on a bus route to Bath CityCentre. The Christmas Markets were stunning and we attended a lovely Carol Service in the Abbey. The only problem encountered was the car parking which was limited at the hotel with road parking with time zones.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lyn0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Lyn0607
Thanks for the lovely comment you have posted.
Next Year's Christmas Market in Bath will be held between Thursday 22nd November 2012 and Sunday 9th December 2012 (to be confirmed).You can pick up some great presents and it gets everyone in a festive mood! As to the car park we can usually fit in all our guests cars,normally a lot of the guests park their car here and dont move it till its time to go home.
Hope to see you back again soon.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We booked last minute direct with the hotel. The room was good value and the staff were excellent. Well woth the nights stay. Decor tired though.

Room Tip: ask for a room with the balcony.Use the stairs if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Nick W
Thanks for your review I am glad you thought your short stay was value for money.
Hope you will come back soon.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I have recently stayed in this pleasant and comfortable hotel .The room was clean, spacious with an ensuite bath and shower where laundry was changed regularly and drinks supplies replenished every day.
The food was of an exceptionally high standard considering I was with a tour company where costs have to be as low as possible.The menu choice was more than adequate.
The staff were pleasant , helpful and went that extra mile.
The hotel is sitated on a steep hill but this is overcome by a regular bus service with bus stops outside and of course you could book a taxi.
One area of concern though.Keep a tally of your bar account yourself.Drinks were charged to accounts incorrectly or overcharged as became evident on the day of departure.These mistakes were rectified however by mutual agreement.
I would stay at this hotel and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Christine W
Thank you for a great review, its brillant when we receive such positive comments which give all our staff including myself a pat on the back.I have taken steps to ensure all bar accounts are correct.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the Lansdown in the not too distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Just returned from a 4 day self-drive to this Shearings Coast & Country Hotel. We did have one issue in the room but this was attended to very swiftly and efficiently. As with lots of Shearings hotels this one is the subject of refurbishment so I'm sure rooms will be much smarter in the near future. That said, the staff couldn't have been more friendly, efficient and courteous. Everyhere looked cosy and Christmassy, the food was lovely and the hotel is in a perfect location for exploring the beautiful city of Bath. Thanks to all for a lovely break :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMBath, General Manager at The Lansdown Grove Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Deriel
Thanks for a great review I am really glad you enjoyed your break with us. We have great staff here at the Lansdown who are more than happy to help all our guests have an enjoyable stay.As you said the company is investing in our hotels.
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
1.0 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
2.2 km away
Apsley House Hotel
2.4 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdown Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Property: The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Address: Lansdown Road, Bath BA1 5EH, England (Formerly Coast & Country Lansdown Grove Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdown Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdown Grove Hotel, Bath is part of the architectural history of Bath and one of the oldest hotels in the city, dating back as far as 1770. Bath itself has been designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, and contains some of the finest architectural sites in Europe, most within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is a stone built, grade 2 listed mansion, typical of the period, described in The Times of Friday 13th July 1860 as "one of the most delightful houses in Bath." The Hotel is in a magnificent location, just 15 minutes walk from the historic town centre. The hotel enjoys delightful views over the Georgian part of Bath and wooded hills beyond. The interior boasts high ceilings and elegant plaster work, with 56 bedrooms over 3 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Lansdown Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdown Grove Hotel Bath
Lansdown Grove Bath
Lansdowne Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing