We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“World class”
Review of The Bath Priory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bath Priory
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“World class”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The property is spectacular with gardens, works of art and furnishings that make this hotel something very special. The attention to detail is evident and the staff makes you feel very welcome. We chose to dine at the hotel two consecutive nights because we could not bear the thought of leaving the gorgeous surroundings. The newly built spa is first rate but still taking baby steps.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 534Ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suewilliams, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for your review.
We are a privatley owned hotel and the family really do love styling the house
and enhancing it year on year. It is one of the things I believe that sets us appart.
We are delighted that you enjoyed Sam Moody's food and that the team
made you feel welcome.
We do hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Sue Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    909
    216
    91
    27
    14
See reviews for
229
791
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My wife and I stayed in this lovely hotel a week ago and I should admit the staff know all about hospitality and how to make their guest feel so special.
The accomodation is fantastic, and makes an impression how clean and looked after everithing is. The room we stayed (Apple Blossom) was beautiful with all the little extras to make my wife happy:))) (Latest magazines, fruit platter, lovely cosmetics)...and of course the GARDEN VIEW! They were all so nice to organize a tickets for bus tour, and were really flexible with our enquieries. Best treatment, best staff! Thank you all for making our stay so memorable! Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suewilliams, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Lovely to know you will be back, and thank you for your review.
As the manager of the hotel it is great for me to see the team getting
so many mentions for doing a good job. They are a great bunch and I am
a lucky manager.
Best wishes
Sue Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Had the best two days in bath and the hotel made it perfect. Staff were awesome, room was lovely and the food was amazing.
Got engaged in the hotel and the staff made it very special for my girlfriend and really went out of their way with little extras.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willsw82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suewilliams, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Many congratulations on your recent engagement from all of us
at The Bath Priory. Thank you for choosing us for what is a very special
moment in your life. The Staff love making all the little extras happen
when there is romance in the air.
We hope to see you for a wedding anniversary celebration in the future.
Best wishes
Sue Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We came to Bath Priory to celebrate my mother's 80th birthday. The hotel was as welcoming and comfortable as we remembered from our visit 2 years ago. The rooms were spacious and well equipped. Home made biscuits and soft drinks were provided in the rooms, The grounds were beautiful and the weather was so lovely that we were able to eat lunch outside on the terrace while enjoying the garden.
The food was delicious (and we managed to sample most of it, from breakfast to light lunches and afternoon teas to the a la carte menu in the dining room. !)
We also enjoyed our treatments in the spa.
One slight disappointment on the first night was that our 10 year old niece and nephew were not allowed to eat with us in the dining room (because they wanted to eat from the room service menu rather than the a la carte). However when we discussed this with the hotel management the next day they went out of their way to provide us with a fantastic family dining experience that evening which we thoroughly appreciated and enjoyed.
In short - Bath Priory offers blissful comfort with fine dining and a wonderful welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordJulieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suewilliams, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for your review after your recent visit.
I am delighted the weather meant you could make the most of the garden.
Our Gardener Jane Moore joins me in thanking you for the lovely comments about the garden.
Jane has worked with us for 10 years now and we are now seeing the frutis of all her labours.
I sounds as though you were able to make the most of all areas of the hotel which is good to know.
Best wishes from all at The Bath Priory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden, Kent
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This hotel was everything we could have wished for and more.Made to feel welcome as soon as we made the booking. Free upgrade to an amazing room with rose petals around the bath, soft lighting and a happy anniversary card that made us feel immediately at home. Quality toiletries & towels and so many other nice touches too.Beautiful terrace with plenty of staff to keep an eye on your every want and need. The best sandwiches we have ever had with melt in your mouth bread. Restaurant staff friendly and helpful.We booked an extra night as it was so wonderful and can't wait to go back.Yes it isn't cheap but so many places charge high prices then don't deliver. This hotel delivers on every level and more. Well done to everyone concerned.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mylazysunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suewilliams, General Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
My goodness, thank you for your kind words.
We do aim high at The Bath Priory, and I am delighted that
we got it right for you during your recent stay.
We have a top team of staff who really do care & I hope that comes accross.
See you soon we hope.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This is a very well appointed and well run establishment. Warm welcome and beautiful bright room. Everything was spotless. Breakfast was first class and service was unbeatable. A great choice if visiting the lovely city of Bath.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OG00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

i really loved bath and this hotel made be feel both at ease, relaxed and comfortable in the historic city.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline B, Manager at The Bath Priory, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear Bobby R
Thank you for posting your kind comments, I am delighted you enjoyed your trip to Bath and found the Bath Priory relaxing and comfortable. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back when you are next visiting the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.0 km away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.0 km away
Apsley House Hotel
2.7 km away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
3.5 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath Priory

Property: The Bath Priory
Address: Weston Road, Bath BA1 2XT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bath Priory 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within four acres of mature award-winning gardens and spacious terraces, The Bath Priory sets itself apart as a peaceful haven in a bustling city. The Georgian house of honey-coloured Bath stone enjoys a tranquil location just a short walk through Royal Victoria Park to Bath’s city centre and is proud to hold the city’s only Michelin Star for its exceptional cuisine. The award-winning spa has a selection of luxurious treatments, an indoor pool, pool-side sauna, elliptical steam pod and shower. From the moment you enter The Garden Spa by L’OCCITANE, fragrances transport you to Provence; the escape begins with scent. Every gesture, every ingredient, every ritual is drawn from a page of the L’OCCITANE grand herbarium, a resource of hundreds of essential oils and natural ingredients. Steeped in Roman history, the city of Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Theatre Royal are noteworthy highlights alongside the city’s architectural merits including the Royal Crescent and The Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bath Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing