We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,462)
Filter reviews
1,462 results
Traveller rating
720
479
171
51
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
720
479
171
51
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station cream tea wowcher deal travelling by train bath spa railway station ground coffee breakfast and dinner manvers street superior room spa break roman baths biscuits restaurant staff excellent location lovely hotel eggs benedict enjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,462 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We re-visited the Royal Hotel last week, and brought a group of 16 friends with us for a 5 night City break coupled with Bridge sessions each evening. As usual, the Hotel staff looked after us superbly and we even had exclusive use of the Isambard lounge for our Bridge tournaments. Starting with the cream tea on Sunday afternoon the restaurant provided some excellent food and wine throughout with a really superb gala dinner, which we had pre-arranged, towards the end of our visit. The bedrooms are all different in size but everyone seemed very happy with the quality of the furnishings and the overall cleanliness. However, it was the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff which really made our holiday go with a swing and Mike the manager was a legend!

With its extremely convenient situation opposite the main Railway station and Hop on / Hop off bus stops more or less outside the door we thoroughly enjoyed all of the tours, as well as the river and canal side walking and sightseeing that his beautiful city has to offer. We can thoroughly recommend this lovely Hotel and hope very much to return in the future.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter, but the Front rooms have better views of the bustling city.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BigTonyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018

We booked a 2 night package at The Royal which included breakfast, 2 hours at The Thermae Spa and an afternoon champagne cream tea. We also booked an evening meal in advance taking advantage of the reduced rate if we did. All the food was excellent quality. All the staff were welcoming and friendly and helped with any questions we had. The room was comfortable. All the city centre attractions were within walking distance. It was a bonus being able to book a designated parking space which you had to pay for. The cost of the package was excellent value I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marcia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

My Dad had bought us a night here as a birthday present and whilst it wouldn't have been one I would have booked myself, we were pleasantly surprised. When we arrived I was sceptical about being so close to the train station from a noise pov but we were happy with how quiet our Sat night stay was with no disturbances through the night. The room was a small double and that it was but it was clean and had a good shower. Enjoyed the cafetiere coffee in the room. Breakfast was really lovely, both had vegetarians and was great to see another alternative other than just veggie sausages..the haloumi with spinach was good. The oj fresh and again the tea and coffee nice.

Just felt that for the size of room and quality of amenities the tariff was a little steep which would see me searching for an alternative another time.

But maybe that is the price for Bath!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review following your recent stay with us.

It was good of you to highlight some of the attractions of staying at The Royal and I was pleased to note that you appreciated the ground cafetiere coffee in your room and our vegetarian dishes at breakfast.

With regards to our tariff, it is a fact that hotel bedroom rates at the weekend in Bath are higher than some other cities because of the beauty and popularity of Bath but I can assure you that our rates at The Royal compare very favourably with our competition. If I might suggest, please consider visiting us midweek as the prices are considerably lower on these days and also please look out for our attractive offers which are invariably always available midweek and you would find the city less busy.

We do hope that we can look forward to seeing you again soon.


Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2018

Our favourite hotel whilst in Bath. Welcoming and convenient as just opposite the station. Has luggage store. Lovely breakfast especially the ginger-flavoured fruit. Tea with real tea-leaves. Later, after checking out,had a quick pot of tea in the cosy lounge whilst waiting for our train.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank DorsetIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location. The breakfast was lovely as were the staff. Tim and Millie were really helpful they gave us great recommendations on where to eat. We highly recommended a trip to Bath. A beautiful city.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rub77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews