We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Membland Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Membland Guest House
Ranked #59 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

great location, 5 min walk to city centre, a warm welcome and great hospitality, noeline was wonderful and very helpful, breakfast was plentiful, would recommend this guesthouse if you would like a weekend in Bath.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank paula m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
71
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

What a great place and Lin was fantastic she made you feel very welcome as soon as we got there and was very helpful in giving suggestions for things to do. The room was lovely and comfortable. The whole place is decorated to a very high standard. Breakfast in the morning was great and you could eat as much or as little as you want to set you up for the day. We spent our first wedding anniversary here and it was the best weekend ever. We shall be back to stay with Lin as soon as we can. Bath is our must do break throughout the year and Membland is now our must stay in Bath throughout the year, just hope we can get in!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank clarec848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
444 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

A warm welcome, clean spacious room and nice breakfast. This is a reasonably priced and well located guest house in Bath. Not easy to find both of these elements normally. The room was large and very clean and Lin very friendly. Would definitely recommend for a short break. My only negative was the mattress was very soft, but there are a lot worse things elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FionaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in a room at the back of the guest house so no traffic noise. Room quite small but perfectly adequate for a short stay. Parking our medium car was a bit of a tight squeeze but we didn't need to move it in and out during our stay so no real problem. Breakfast nicely cooked and friendly hosts. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sec1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed for two nights and found the location to be very convenient, but the worst thing was the street noise from the front room. Also a big WARNING--on the morning we were to leave, we had just started our breakfast, when the cook told us we better go move our car quickly, because she forgot to tell us that the police come around very early to check, and our permit expires the morning that we check out! We were lucky to get a space across the street, but the other couple there couldn't find a spot and had to drive over to a lot several blocks away. Very inconsiderate!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

Parking was available and we were given a key for the front door and our room, so could come and go as we wanted. It's just a five minute stroll to the Abbey. The large bedroom was clean and well decorated with an ensuite shower room and the bed very comfy. We were at the front of the house and traffic noise was an issue, but there are two rooms at the back so you could ask for one of these if you are not used to traffic. Breakfast was very good, with fruit juice, toast, choice of cereals and full English available. We had a friendly welcome and felt it was a relaxing place to stay, and value for money.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back if traffic noise will disturb you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PembsMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

We found our stay in Bath utterly charming which reflected the feel of our stay at membland B&B. With a friendly welcome, spotlessly clean room and a very smart en-suite we felt very at home. Breakfast was served in smallish but very cosy dining room. We had the cooked breakfast, which was perfect ( i particularly enjoyed my bacon ) and was eaten in a relaxed atmosphere.
The ladies who we met were helpful, and when we asked for any recommendations they were more than happy to suggest some great things for us to see.
All in all we enjoyed our stay at membland, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigapple015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 km away
Avon Guest House
Avon Guest House
#61 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.5 km away
The Henry Guest House
The Henry Guest House
#28 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.1 km away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Lynwood House
Lynwood House
#74 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.5 km away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#46 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.7 km away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Membland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Membland Guest House

Property: Membland Guest House
Address: 7 Pulteney Terrace | Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Membland Guest House is a small, friendly guesthouse perfectly situated between the River Avon and the beautiful Kenneth and Avon canal in this wonderful cosmopolitan City of Bath. We are a 5 minute level walk to the many historic and modern attractions, such as the Roman Baths, Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge and the wonderful Thermae Spa where you can enjoy the fabulous open-air rooftop pool overlooking the panoramic views of Bath. A warm welcome awaits you at Membland Guest House where we pride ourselves on a high standard of housekeeping. Our delicious home cooked breakfasts are freshly prepared using high quality meat from our local butcher. We are also more than happy to cater for vegetarians. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Membland Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing