We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harington's City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed in Harington's a number of nights over a few weeks and got to stay in several of thier rooms. Without exception the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable, each individually decorated with their own character, devoid of the clinical feel of so many hotels, yet with the facilities required including comfortable bed, Wi-Fi and a proper radio beside the bed.

I never looked at the breakfast menu, I just asked for what I wanted and they cooked it for me. Just what I wanted. I did not try eating at other times because Bath is so packed with great places to eat and drink. There is however a small and comfortable bar to meet up before going out or just to sit and read the paper.

Harington's really is in the centre of the City. Two of Bath's real ale pubs in the same street, places to eat, the theatre, the shops, the famous Baths and Abbey all within three minutes casual walk from the hotel.

Being in the centre of Bath, the building is old. The rooms are not over large, the bathrooms are strange shapes and the stairs are not that wide. That is part of its beauty. Everything is smart and in good condition and they will help you with anything that is needed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    325
    49
    10
    8
See reviews for
173
608
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

This hotel is a little gem in the very centre of Bath. It is a great location, with ready access to shops, restaurants, pubs and all the delights of Bath. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are small but individually decorated with a bit of style. We had a great couple of days in Bath with the hotel a great place to explore from. We will certainly be back to stay again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

The hotel is nestled in the heart of Bath CBD and is within easy access to everything. Rooms comfy and staff very helpful. The only minor complaint is no on site parking but this is fixed by overnight parking at local Council Car Park. Pre book this to ensure parking.
For those who want a great night out and non stopping laughing, book "Bizarre Bath". A walking (easy) tour of Bath like no other. The host is very funny and its well worth the nominal cost. Take an open top red bus trip also, which is good value and a great way to see Bath.
The Roman Baths were awesome. A 2-3 day visit required to see everything.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

This hotel is in a quaint old building really much in the centre of Bath it is an easy walk to any of the shops or things to see. The rooms were nice if an interesting shape, lovely bed, bedding and bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and just everything was on the menu. The staff were helpful and friendly. There is no lift so if stairs are a problem choose a room accordingly.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb several flights of stairs ask for a room lower down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed at harringtons a couple of weeks ago, in their apartment. It was a delight, very spacious and comfortable, well decorated, there was the odd knick here and there but nothing to cause concern. The apartment was also very clean, was situated in a quaint little street, very quiet in the evening. In the perfect location, everything was a stones throw away.
The staff were pleasant and very helpful, the hotel has a nice relaxed atmosphere yet still professional. I can't imagine why anyone would want to rate this hotel any less than good.

Room Tip: Book the city apartment if you are a couple wanting a romantic getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Harington for a two night break during half term and we had a really pleasant visit. The room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The staff were helpful and attentive. Breakfast was a good mix of continental and cooked with all tastes catered for. Location was brilliant as it is situated within walking distance of shops, pubs, restaurants etc... We would definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simmo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

What a terrific find! We stayed in this delightful little hotel for 2 nights and could have stayed quite happily for many more. The staff were friendly and helpful and made every guest feel special. The girls who were 'doing the breakfasts' were particularly lovely. The room was quiet, clean and well-equiped with a lovely lovely shower! Although right in the city centre, once tucked up inside, you could have been anywhere in the world. Breakfast was delicious and the breakfast rooms were bright, cheerful and welcoming. A great choice was on offer and, again, every whim was catered for. Bath itself is a beautiful city, full of charm, amazing architecture and, of course, history. Harington's was the perfect base to explore the city and it's delights.

They say it is a 3* hotel, but it was miles ahead of the 5* Westbury we stayed in in London earlier this year. We will definitely be visiting and staying in Harington's again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review of your stay with us. I am thrilled that you found the hotel to be bright and that your every need was catered for.

Myself and all the staff at the hotel try our upmost to ensure that your stay with us is a pleasurable one, and I am glad that you found this to be the case.

We are lucky with our location be tucked away in a small side street, but still right in the centre of Bath.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.1 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.4 km away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.7 km away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.4 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Property: Harington's City Hotel
Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing