We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Boutique Hotel in Centre of Bath” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harington's City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Boutique Hotel in Centre of Bath”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Great little boutique hotel in the centre of Bath. The staff were very friendly, efficient and accommodating. The rooms were clean, well supplied with really nice decor and good heating.

If we come back to Bath we'd definitley stay with them again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your positive and kind words. We are always working hard to improve the quality of our product. I hope we can welcome you back to Harington's very soon. Thanks Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    314
    46
    10
    8
See reviews for
166
576
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I booked the Premier Apartment for a girls' weekend and all 8 of us absolutely loved this apartment. It's ideally located less than 5 mins walk from town, but tucked away in a really quiet street. All the rooms were decorated to a really high standard with some quirky features. Beds were super comfortable, everything was spotlessly clean and the owners seem to have thought of every facility. Cleaner came in daily to collect towels etc (we sent her away and reused ours but it was nice to be offered!). The outdoor seating area was great and when it got too cold we came inside and played board games (all provided). It wasn't cheap but it was worth it for such a fab location and a brilliant weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2015
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your stay with us. You will be glad to hear we have made a number of improvements to the townhouse since you last stayed. We have just put in a spanking new kitchen with all the latest mod cons such as a wine fridge, something really important for a girls weekend away! I hope you consider coming back to Harington's apartments in the very near future. See you Soon, Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Great location with arranged parking a few minutes walk away. All of the staff we spoke with were very friendly, helpful and keen to assist. The bedroom was clean, comfortable and quiet for a city centre location. The breakfast was very good, again served with conversation which makes a pleasant change compared to many 'chain' hotels. Would recommend to anyone looking for a break in Bath

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel not overlooking Queen Street so quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2015
Dear Guest, many thanks for your glowing words. We really pride ourselves here at Harington's in having super clean rooms and public areas. We try to make the hotel a great working environment, so when our staff are happy our guests are even happier!! Hope to see you soon again. Thanks Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Super location. Breakfast was good, freshly cooked eggs were very good. Listed building so no lift and rickety stairs. I was in Room 2 and there was no air conditioning and the street was a little noisy. However there was a little fan/heater in the wardrobe to I was able to use this and open the bathroom window instead for fresh air.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belfastchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

Great location - made easier by the use of Sat Nav to navigate around Bath's one-way system. Very obliging staff, good standard of continental breakfast, essential car parking arranged and 3min walk away. All amenities and shopping literally 2min away.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 6amigos_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed at the Premier Apartment which is actually about 50metres from the hotel itself. There were three of us but the family rooms in the hotel were full so we were offered the apartment. It is a very nice property with well furnised rooms that can accomodate up to 8-9 people. We only used two bedrooms, they were nicely decorated and very comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped and more than suitable for self catering, though there is the option to use the hotel if you wish (we didn't so I can't comment on the hotel itself). The apartment is situated in the heart of Bath (within 50-100M of the main shops and 300-400M of the Abbey / Baths etc.). The location is a good thing but is also responsible for the only bad point....it is quite noisy at night (not the apartment but the surrounding streets and the seagulls!) this was a bit of a pain but cannot really be resolved by the hotel proprieters. If you're a heavy sleeper then this is a small issue, if you're not (like us) then it's not great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanPCorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Pricey, but the hotel is very centrally located to the shops, restaurants, Roman Baths, Bath Abbey, Botanical Gardens, train station, and tour bus stops, so well worth it if you want to be in the middle of everything Bath has to offer. Room was very clean and cozy, breakfasts were well-prepared, and the staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating. Sadly, the hotel is opposite a multi-storied pub, which was terribly noisy until very late at night. Also, the hotel was having Internet problems, which was somewhat frustrating.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Harington's. We have a great location, as we are right in the centre of Bath just off the main high street. Sometimes being in a city centre you do hear noise with people out on the street. We are lucky as we are on a generally quite cobbled street which does not have a through road, just local circulating traffic. The pub across the road from the hotel is a traditional real ale pub in a old Georgian Town house. It does stop serving alcohol at 11pm, so any late night noise you may have hear would be from the general public and not from the pub. I hope that this problem did not detract too much from your stay with us. I hope you will consider us if you return to Bath, we also have rooms at the back of the hotel if you are light sleeper these can be requested at the time of booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.7 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#3 of 33 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.4 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#8 of 33 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#7 of 33 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
2.4 km away
Apsley House Hotel
0.4 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 33 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Property: Harington's City Hotel
Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing