We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Combe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Combe House
Ranked #128 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our recent stay at Combe House. Our family room had great views of the surrounding countryside. Margaret, the owner, was kind and welcoming, and provided nutritious and tasty breakfasts. We were very appreciative of the wifi service included because our sons like to stay connected. Not every hotel or B&B offers this, so Margaret should capitalize on this feature. Her lovely home is a good 30 minute walk from city centre but taxi ride is reasonably priced.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

This bed and breakfast was fantastic, Margaret was an excellent host who was both very welcoming and also unobtrusive. Excellent breakfast! Me and 3 girlfirends stayed here just for a quiet weekend reunion, we all shared the attic room which was roomy, comfortable and cosy. There was a lovely selection of tea and even fresh coffee. Maragret also gave us fresh milk in a thermos! The room was immaculate and clean. Two of us are fairly tall and as it was an attic it had sloping ceilings, lots of minor head bumping in the shower room, which gave us a giggle but no problem at all - this is advised on the website as a sloping roof.

Beautiful views from the back of the house, with a lovely garden and free roaming chickens.

The walk into town took about 25 mins - down a very steep hill (beautiful view though) we did climb back up from town once which took about an hour, but hey it worked off the beautiful breakfast!

You can buy a bus pass like a day ticket which is £4 ish (cant quite remember) which is a frequent and effcient service.

Great pub just at the top of the road and 100 yds to the right. Forrester and flower ....I think. The service was slow, but the food was fabulous, and a great atmosphere cosy and warm.

Highly recommend combe house, if I ever go back to bath, i will definately be looking to stay here!!

Will add photos at a later date!
Thank you Margaret.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gillybum22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Myself and my boyfriend just returned from a wonderful weekend at Combe House, Bath. Margaret, the lady running the B&B from her family home, was everything you'd hope for in a hostess. We were kindly picked up from the station, given lots of tips on restaurants, pubs and walking routes around the city and the home cooked breakfasts were absolutely delicious. We stayed in the attic room, which is spacious, airy and clean with a very comfortable bed and sparkling en suite bathroom. The views from the attic windows are beautiful, as are the views from the conservatory where breakfast is served, and the tea selection in the room (a tea and water tray is provided) is a lovely touch.

I'd recommend this B&B to any other couples, young or old, friends, families and anyone looking to stay a little way out of the centre of Bath with access to beautiful country walks and breathtaking views. Margaret is a wonderful hostess and I'd be happy to return next time I'm in Bath!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j_pattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We used both the double room and a twin room on the first floor and shared a bathroom. All was well appointed with pretty bedlinen, a good shower and a choice of teas and coffees. Margaret gave us lifts from the station and gave us an excellent breakfast including eggs from the free range chickens.
Slightly outside Bath but a pleasant walk after the cooked breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Me & my partner have just come back from a 1 night stay at the delightful Combe House, it was a last min. booking as we wanted to go to the Bath christmas market (which was equally amazing!)
Very easy to find just on the outskirts of Bath, down a quiet road. Margaret the owner is very helpful and welcoming, we stayed in the attic room which has an en suite, the only negative about the en suite would have to be because it is situated within the eaves the shower has a slope, altho this wasn't a problem for us at all (both of us being under 5'7!) if you are on the taller side it may be slightly 'too cozy' but other than that no negatives what so ever, the TV had freeview, beautiful views, plenty of room for a family, the bed has a memory foam mattress!
for our evening meal we went about a 5min walk up to the top of the road and to the right to a lovely pub, called forest & flowers food & atmosphere was lovely but very slow on service (but very unstaffed) breakfast in the morning was a full english!! but fresh fruit & cereal are all an option if people would prefer

Best - lovely welcoming host, beautiful location, very homely
negative - poss. just that little far out for you to walk to from the centre, altho you could have a lovely walk in! (basically there is a rather steep hill going into town, so if you were going to walk in i would advise a taxi back)

Room Tip: The attic room is lovely an cozy, with beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
4.0 km away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
2.0 km away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#21 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
3.1 km away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
3.3 km away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
2.5 km away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe House

Property: Combe House
Address: Combe House Cleevedale Road, Bath BA2 5QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing