We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location and beautiful house - Perfect...”
other travellers have booked this property
Mignon House (centre) in the peaceful and very central Abbey Green
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mignon House (centre) in the peaceful and very central Abbey Green
Living Room - 40' Sony TV, Ipod Dock and Hi-Fi, DVD collection, board games, library Comfortable Living Room with corner sofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
172 reviews
Mignon House (centre) in the peaceful and very central Abbey Green
Living Room - 40' Sony TV, Ipod Dock and Hi-Fi, DVD collection, board games, library
Comfortable Living Room with corner sofa
Light Living Room - looking over Abbey Green
Library of fascinating books
View of Abbey Green from the living room
Recently installed kitchen with dishwasher
Ideal for friends and family. Everything  provided to make a scrumptious meal
Kitchen next to to Living room
Light kitchen with seating for 12
Kitchen Dining: Royal Worcester dinner service. Seating for 12
Bedroom 1: Master bedroom with super king bed or can be split to sleep up to 4 guests
Bedroom 1: Master bedroom overlooking Abbey Green with ensuite bathroom
Bedroom 1: Master Bedroom - super king or twin beds plus comfortable futons. Sleeps up top 4
Bedroom 1: Master Bedroom - super king or twin beds . Sleeps up to 4. Ensuite Bathroom
Bedroom 2: Golden bedroom with king size bed or 2 can form 2 singles
Bedroom 2: Golden Bedroom with ensuite bathroom and built in wardrobe
Bedroom 2: Golden Bedroom with ensuite bathroom and built in wardrobe
Bedroom 2:The Golden bedroom - Super King Beds split to form Twins
3rd Bedroom - Pocket Sprung King-sized bed & futon. Sleeps 3.
3rd Bedroom - Pocket Sprung King-sized bed & futon. Sleeps 3.
Bedroom 3:   overlooking Abbey Green with a king-sized bed
4th Bedroom: Cosy bedroom with a day bed overlooking Abbey Green
4th Bedroom: Cosy bedroom with a day bed overlooking Abbey Green
Golden Bedroom's En-suite Shower Room
View over Abbey from the side window
Situated in the picturesque Abbey Green, mainly residential
Situated in the heart of Bath among the shops, sights, bars and restaurants
3 Minutes Walk to Thermae Spa
Mignon House at Centre of Christmas Market in Abbey Green - yum Mulled Wine!
Bath Abbey, the Roman Baths and Pump Room - 2 minute walk
M&S Food Hall and Main Shopping Street- 2 Minutes Walk
Egyptian Cotton Bedding and Pocket Sprung Matresses
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 172 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
123Lovetr...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent location and beautiful house - Perfect for our girls weekend away!”
Reviewed March 17, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Highly Recommended! We were a group of 9 ladies staying at Mignon House. The location could not be better, you are already in the centre of bath giving you easy access to all its attractions. The house itself is beautiful and has maintained some of its period charm, especially the living room. All the rooms are a great size, making it perfect for a group weekend getaway. The house was also very clean and any of our questions were answered quickly by Paul in the lead up to our stay. Thanks again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peanut31
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Almost perfect except for.......”
Reviewed March 3, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first visit to Bath, and we booked this property based on positive TA reviews, the central location and the added bonus of the parking permit. We stayed during the February half term, Saturday - Wednesday with six people being in our party.

Communication with the owner via Trip advisor was prompt. In our information pack they had also included parking information with regards the permit. Please note a £20 refundable deposit is required for the permit payable direct to the owner on arrival.

We were unable to get parked in the suggested area so after riding around various park and display car parks we ended up parking at Southgate car park until we got the permit and settled in.

Collection of the keys was from the shop below the property (this also belongs to them). Initially we were to meet with the owner, but, we collected the keys from a member of staff from the shop and shown around the property.

We found the location of the property to be excellent and ideal for visiting all the attractions, the owner had left us a some milk in order to make a drink on arrival, but, just a few minutes walk if that is Marks and Spencer Food Hall, so no need to bring any groceries.

We had views of the Abbey and Roman Baths from the landing window, and despite it being next to a pub, The Crystal Palace Pub (which we can highly recommend for a meal) we heard no noise at all. The house was constantly warm and we always had plenty of hot water.

The bedrooms were set up as per our request and the property was presented in a clean manner. We can't fault the factilities offered, the wifi was adequate for what we needed although somewhat patchy at times. We especially liked the library in the lounge with a range of books covering all subjects for the avid reader as well as a selection of board games.

Now for the issues, and whilst I don't want to sound pedantic the issues in my opnion could of been avoided. I might also add that the owner was made aware of the issues during our stay.

The day before we were due to arrive I received an email directly from the owner to say that the central parking permit that came with the rental would expire on Monday, and although they had applied for a replacement this may not arrive until Tuesday. In this email they had included a list of car parking including free spaces? and also pay and displays.

I telephoned the owner to discuss this futher and to be fair an apology was given and on arrival a bottle of wine for the inconvenience. From my understanding they had applied for another yearly permit but, the council had not processed the payment hence the delay. I was informed that hopefully it would arrive by Monday (problem solved) or Tuesday at the latest. It was agreed that if the new permit did arrive on Monday and the envelope was clearly marked Bath Council I was authorised to open the letter OR someone from the shop would pop it in the property for us.

With this in mind and just in case the new permit did not arrive by Monday (old one expired Monday at midnight) we started to look at Long stay pay and display car parks. Now, before we visited Bath we looked on the TA Bath forum and it seemed that the Hot topic was parking in Bath and charges and the lack of parking spots. To be honest we thought it can't be as bad as people are saying, we were wrong to think that!!!!!!.

When we arrived in Bath before checking in we tried to find a parking space near to the property so we could just collect the keys and drop our luggage off.

Most of Bath parking is by way of parking permits, different permits cover different locations. Although there are businesses in the centre of Bath that need parking there are rows of residential properties that need on street parking as well. So if you find a spot stay in it!!!! We thought York and Edinburgh were bad.

We ended up driving around four different car parks and it was one car out, one car in situation. It didn't help that it was the half term and a Saturday.

Anyway, Monday arrived and as we had been out early in the morning and back late afternoon we were unsure if the replacement permit had arrived. It was by sheer luck that when we come back we bumped into a member of staff locking up the shop and asked if by any chance the permit had arrived. She said that it had and that she would go and get it for us, only for the letter to be left, but, the permit had been taken. She suggested I pop and see if it had been left for us on a table as arrange and nothing. She telephoned the owner and no answer, I also tried with no sucess, I also text later that evening to say I understood the permit had arrived and could we possibly have it. I received a text back to say it would be dropped off later with no explanation of what seemed to of happened.

Now, what we found strange was that if we had not of bumped into the staff member locking up the shop and enquired about the replacement permit when were we going to get it? or, would we of received it at for the remainder of our stay. The permit does not state the address of the property either so anyone could use it.

A situation that we thought could of been avoided rather than us chasing around for the missing permit, which was included and advertised in the price of the accommodation, what seemed to be a geniune mistake at first, didn't quite make sense towards the end.

We had an issue with the cleanliness of the kitchen, we only cooked in the property in the morning and one evening. However, all the drawers were dirty inside, with one having loose sequins and screws. The oven was in need of a professional clean as when we cooked breakfast and opened the cooker door the smoke from the oven was unbearable despite the extractor fan being switched on, underneath the cupboards and strip light was covered in grease.

Some of the pots used for the cooking quite frankly needing throwing away and on arrival one of the recycle bins in the kitchen was full of empty wine bottles and the freezer had an opened packet of cauliflower and broccoli, which we presumed was from the previous guests.

Needless to say all our party agreed that it should of not been left in that manner. I did inform the owner as we didn't want him to think we had left the kitchen in this way, and I received a text back to say:

"I'm sorry you did not find the cleaniness of the kitchen satisfactory we will be more meticilous in the future. I hope you enjoy the rest of your stay"

We all felt the kitchen could of done with a deep clean rather than a quick wipe between gues,t and it did not reflect the standard of the rest of the property.

This did not spoil our visit to Bath and we had a wonderful time and would certainly visit again, but, the situation with the parking permit seemed a little off hand to us.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrainel...
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing location in Bath”
Reviewed February 4, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The house is central to everything Bath has to offer and minutes walk from the Thermal Spa. The house was clean and tidy and had everything we needed to make our stay effortless and enjoyable. We did have trouble finding it due to all the one way systems and new bollards that have been put up so make doubly sure you know where you are going as postcodes on Sat nav wasn't much help. Head for York Street! I believe Paul is going to redo the directions to make it easier to find. Don't let that put you off, great location once you are there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: directions
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimgthorn...
Edingley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful birthday get together in central Bath”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The most central location in Bath. Paul was the perfect host and facilities were all clean tidy and in working order. We had a birthday breakfast, walked all round town, and along the river, drank Bath gin cocktails and dined out near the Pump Rooms. And the baby was perfectly behaved! What more could we want?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy B
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“We're be back”
Reviewed December 15, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Fourth visit need I say more, oh apparently I need to, 200 charecters or more....great location, lovely rooms, huge social lounge.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen L
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed December 15, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Another great stay in Bath. You really cannot beat this house - perfect location and just fantastic for groups . Paul , the host is always so helpful. All in all it makes for a very relaxing stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMH100
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing location”
Reviewed December 14, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We had a very comfortable stay in Mignon house. It has a lovely large living room which was great for relaxing after a day of Christmas shopping and museums. The Christmas tree was a nice touch! The main rooms looked over the Christmas market and the magnificent plane tree in the middle of the small square. We were serenaded by the festive street music but the double glazed windows meant the outside world rarely intruded.
Would certainly come again and recommend it to others.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing