We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Experience”
Review of The Kilted Chef - CLOSED

The Kilted Chef
Price range: US$19 - US$63
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Kilted Chef is an independent restaurant in the centre of Bath, serving contemporary British food with a Scottish twist. Our warm and ambient dining facilities provide the perfect venue for a relaxed lunch or memorable dinner in the heart of Bath. All our dishes use only the finest ingredients whilst reflecting the varying seasons. Our set lunches and pre-theatre dishes offer particularly good value for money and we have received many favourable reviews of our A La Carte and bespoke taster menus which can be prepared on request.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I dined here recently on recommendation for a business lunch. I couldn't have been more impressed, more importantly neither could my associate. We were well looked after by a young but professional waiter, with nothing being too much trouble. Presented with perfection and a exemplary combination of seasonal flavours, our lunch was thoroughly enjoyed. (I had the Spiedini of Tiger Prawns). I will be returning with a party of friends soon and very much looking forward to it. With thanks to Kilted Chef Team!

Date of visit: June 2014
Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 219 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

A group of us dined here a while ago and had high expectations after reading the menu. Although it wasn't terrible it did lack in certain areas. The service was hit and miss, with the odd things like not being able to have coffee at the end and the toilets being a bit of a mess adding to the disappointment. Various dishes were delicious where as others missed the mark. I would say overall the portion size was a bit on the small side regardless of it being more of a fine dining establishment. Perhaps at the moment the restaurant is just a bit to overpriced for what it is delivering.

Date of visit: April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Reviewer660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Took some friends out for special meal, booked for a la carte menu
Wrong menus initially
No butter with bread,
Wrong dish served
Later no biscuits with cheese,
Credit card processor not working
Bit like Fawlty Towers.
However presentation excellent but food lacked that extra pizazz
Entrees great, mains good, deserts ok
Won't hurry to return
Disappointed as expected better

Date of visit: June 2014
3  Thank OnslowBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I found the Kilted Chef by chance on the internet and boy were we glad we did. The service and food was amazing. The staff were among the most attentive we have ever had, in particular the maître d' who went out of his way to ensure that my wife and I had a very special anniversary night. We couldn't fault the food from the canopes, the starters (especially the lobster risotto) and the mains (lamb and steak) which were presented like fine art! To top it off we were presented with a special anniversary dessert and got to meet the kilted chef himself. A wonderful night. We would thoroughly recommend this restaurant and look forward to going back. Simon and Ruth

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Had a fantastic evening at The Kilted Chef last night for our anniversary. Dougie, the kilted chef himself, made us a special array of desserts as a surprise. They were stunning.

I started with Lemongrass and tarragon fish cakes and my husband had the Stir fry of Somerset pork marinated in hoisin, ginger and chilli. Both starters were excellent. The flavour sensations were fantastic.

We both had Pan fried new season Somerset lamb, which melted in the mouth, and the accompaniments were delicious.

We ordered desserts and that is when we were presented with the array of desserts to celebrate our anniversary.

It was a lovely touch and made our evening.

We rounded off with delicious coffee and beautiful handmade chocolates, which are made on the premises.

The lunch/pre theatre menu is excellent value for the quality of the food, and looks stunning on the plate.

If they are made aware that it is a special occasion they certainly go the extra mile to make it memorable.

Dougie and his staff work extremely hard to give good service and stunning food and you don,t feel as if you have been short changed in any way.

If you want an excellent dining experience that does not mean you have to take out a second mortgage, this is the place for you.

It was also lovely to speak to the Kilted Chef, Dougie, himself. He has a real passion for creating stunning food and his business. Long may he continue to create beautiful, stunning and mouth watering creations. A true genius of his culinary art and well worth a visit when you are in Bath.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eandd_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKiltedChef, Public Relations Manager at The Kilted Chef, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

It was lovely accommodating you for your anniversary meal. We are delighted that you had such a fantastic time and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kilted Chef also viewed

Farmborough, Bath
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing