We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything we hoped for and more!!”

Review of Benson Cottage

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Perfect Georgian Cottage for Girls Get Togethers and Family Celebrations in Bath. Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Living Room
Perfect Georgian Cottage for Girls Get Togethers and Family Celebrations in Bath.
Living Room
Sitting room looking through to the kitchen
Living Room
The kitchen dining room towards the sitting room - a wonderful room for celebrations meals
Living Room
The kitchen dining room stairs up to bedrooms two and three and ensuite shower room
Dining Room
Living Room
Dining Room
Living Room
Stairs down to bedroom one and family bathroom
Dining Room
Living Room
bedroom one downstairs  - a calm luxurious sanctuary
Dining Room
Living Room
bedroom one downstairs  a forth fold up bed can be added for an extra guest
Dining Room
downstairs family bathroom
Dining Room
downstairs family bathroom
Dining Room
bedroom two looking through to bedroom three two exciting loft rooms  separated by folding doors
Dining Room
bedroom three upstairs - with ensuite shower room
Dining Room
bedroom three through to bedroom two - the space is flooded with light from the roof lantern
Dining Room
ensuite shower room
Dining Room
ensuite shower room
Dining Room
The Bedroom Two
Floor plans
The Bedroom Two
Stairs
The Bedroom Two
Benson Cottage - Charming Georgian Gem in a quiet pedestrain street near town centre
The Bedroom Two
The Bedroom One
The Bedroom Two
Hay Hill Bath  a quiet pedestrian street yet only 3 minutes walk from Milsom Street
The Bedroom Two
The Bedroom One
The Bedroom Two
The Bedroom One
The Bedroom Two
The Bedroom One
The Bedroom Two
The Bedroom One
The Bedroom Two
The Bedroom Two
The Bedroom One
The Bedroom Two
The Bedroom One
Stairs
Street
Street
The Bedroom One
Street
Bedroom One Bathroom
Street
The Bedroom One
Street
Bedroom One Bathroom
Street
The Bedroom One
Street
Bedroom One Bathroom
The Bedroom One
The Bedroom Two
Bedroom One Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Stairs
Entrance
Entrance
Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathryn E
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything we hoped for and more!!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We recently stayed at Benson Cottage for my best friends Hen party. Having arranged the weekend in secret, the hen was blown away by the perfection of Benson Cottage! The beautiful decoration, style, cleanliness and amenities offered were beyond what we all were expecting! The small touches Sam has made to Benson Cottage really do make all the difference!

Sam was at Benson Cottage when I arrived, and helped me carry my luggage in before giving me a quick tour of the cottage and explaining where all the places we were going to over the weekend were.

It couldn't of been in a better location, a few streets away from the bars, restaurants and shops we wanted to visit, yet tucked away on a quiet street. A few minutes away was Waitrose which was perfect for us to pick up what we needed for the weekend. It is also a pleasant 10minute walk through the city centre to Bath spa, and also a short walk for the girls who came via train (or approx £6 for a taxi). The parking is 10-15 mins away from Benson Cottage but for us this wasn't an issue: It is easy to just pull over on the main street and run your luggage into the cottage before parking. Knowing how expensive parking in Bath can be, it was a great advantage for us that Sam could offer parking permits!

We definitly made the right choice staying at Benson Cottage, I honestly couldn't recommend it enough! We would definitly love to stay again!!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLE26
1 review
“Brilliant quirky cottage for a city break”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We spent a few nights in benson cottage for a hen party and it was brilliant and the owners/manager were very helpful. The cottage is located within 5-10 minutes walk from everywhere including the spa, shops and clubs. Would definitely recommend for a holiday cottage for a hen party or a family break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelakit...
London
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful central girly crash pad”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Stayed at the cottage for 2 nights in January for a hen so in a group of 8 girls.

I arrived first and retrieved the key from the key safe outside the front and managed to get inside with not too much issue.

The cottage is set across 3 floors, main bathroom and bedroom is basement, kitchen and lounge on /round fl, and 2 adjoining bedrooms with en-suite shower room upstairs.

The owner popped round after a while with some handy info.

The house is decorated in an mixed lovely style- modern bathroom, country style kitchen, eclectic bright lounge. Very well finished and had everything we needed and more. There was even a welcome food gift including wines, bread, jam, etc upon arrival and slippers. Wi-fi included also.

The house is located well for centre of Bath, near bars, restaurants, shops, etc. Its up a hill in Bath and some cars and people struggled a little with steepness but wasn't too bad. Parking was a main issue as nearest place was quite far and meant lots of lugging bags in pouring rain and moving cars based on time of day.

Very comfortable stay by all and great for reunions or classy hen-do's. There's no double beds but singles may be able to push some together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: decor
Liked least: parking
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyP186...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place is amazing!!! The location is very central so you are close to everything that Bath has to offer!
The decor is beautiful! From the cushions, to the light fittings..its very quirky and colourful!!
The beds are so comfortable!!!!! I slept so well!! Its nice as all the beds are single so perfect for a hen do.
The kitchen has every utensil you could want so very well equipped.
The bathroom upstairs is small but has a good shower and the one downstairs is larger and has a bath!
If you are planning a hen weekend BOOK IT! You will not be disappointed!!!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GraceyL0u
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect stay for a hen-do weekend!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

I recently stayed at Benson Cottage for a friends hen-do and it was absolutely perfect, the location is amazing, close enough to the centre to walk everywhere but down a quiet and peaceful lane. The kitchen and living room areas are really relaxing and great for groups, the beds are really comfy. All of the little touches... bread and wine waiting for us, complimentary slippers and toiletries, and the well stocked kitchen, made it feel really homely and welcoming. Thank you very much!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F00dIsMyF...
Leigh on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant Benson!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed at Benson Cottage for my hen weekend and it was just perfect! Sam was very welcoming and there were welcome gifts all around (wine/bread/milk). The house is very well equiped, even shower gel was provided. The cottage is very homely (there are slippers for everyone too), if I needed a place to stay in Bath I would definitely stay here again. Thanks Sam :-)

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljrjaa
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, lovely house”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Rented for a hen do and everyone loved the property, its a beautiful house and perfect for large groups. Also the location is brilliant, very central but quiet, we walked everywhere and it saved a lot of organisation not having to get taxis all the time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the wallpaper
Liked least: the parking being so far
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$558
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing