We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect - room, owners, breakfast, location”
Review of Bay Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Tree House
Ranked #47 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My girlfriend and I were given a two night stay at the Bay Tree House B&B for a Christmas Present so we cannot comment on value for money.

On arrival, we were greeted by the extremely efficient and friendly Colin, who was the perfect guy who you would want to check you in and tell you a little bit about the area as it was our first time in Bath. The map he gave us was priceless!

The room - generously sized with a lush bed with clean sheets (my girlfriend is particularly fussy about this!). Also plenty of drawer space and a wardrobe, with a TV and iPod docking station. The showeroom was good too with an extremely powerful and absolutely massive shower cubicle. Couldn't have asked for anymore with the room, all the little things like a box of tissues and coffee and tea facilities really topped it off. Only slight negative is the view of a car park but no noise issues at all and the black out blinds allowed for a great night sleep. Plus, we wern't in the room enough to really care!

The breakfast - on each morning we had a different cook! This showed that the breakfast was cooked in the personal style of each member of staff. We felt Colin cooked the better breakfast; he asked us how we would like our eggs and gave us a hash brown each; bonus! All the extras were just as expected, fresh tea and coffee, good selection of cereals, fresh fruit, juices and marmite/peanut butter/ketchup, etc.

Nothing we could really fault! The owners even let us leave our bags on the morning of check out else we would have had to carry them round all day (our train was at 4pm) which really helped.

I really recommend this B&B, only a 10 minute walk to the city centre, and no need for taxis.

The best points; room and breakfast.

If we could afford Bath prices, we would definately go back!!

Room Tip: I think the en-suite room is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swhitehead92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

The well-equipped family room has a clean and well-renovated toilet. We were amazed that there are two basins in the toilet. Lotions, cotton wools and cotton buds are so thoughtfully placed in the toilet. It is located near the No.1 attraction- Royal Crescent and also near Victoria park. Our morning started off with the delicious morning breakfast perpared by Chef Colin, who also gives good advice on the best attractions in Bath. He is indeed another great attraction of Bath. Furthermore he has great fashion sense.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank toatao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We went to bath for a 3day stay for our honeymoon. I chose the bay tree b and b from the Internet, and upon arrival defiantly felt we had hit the jackpot.
The rooms are well decorate and spotless. The shower is amazing I had 2 a day! Breakfast has lots of choice was well cooked and very tasty, the fresh sliced fruit was a added bonus. Louise was on holiday for our stay but the locum host was fantastic. Very welcoming and chatty and offered us tips on how to see bath the best .
We had a takeaway in our room one night and the b and b has cutlery and plates out of you to use which I think is a nice touch.
I would highly recommend

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyloo1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights over the Half Marathon weekend. Colin was looking after the B&B in the owner's absence and he couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. I know Bath very well and Bay Tree House is well located near the city centre- perfect for a weekend. The room we stayed in was lovely and bright, clean and well decorated.

Breakfast was also delicious! Thanks very much Colin for making it such an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_to_the_max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I stayed 2 nights with my wife and son for the Bath Half Marathon weekend. We stayed in room 3 which is the family room, and it has a double bed and a single bed. A cot was additionally provided for our use since our son is too young for the single bed yet. The room is nicely equipped with a TV, clock radio and tea/coffee facilities. The bathroom has a large shower and 2 sinks. A minor point, since it is a family room, is the tea/coffee and kettle were on a low table, so we had to guard that while the kettle was boiling and then put that up on a shelf out of the way. I mentioned this so hopefully they will take my advice and put the TV on the wall so the tea/coffee can go on top of that unit instead. Another minor point was the bin wasn't emptied when the room was cleaned and since it had nappies in it that wasn't the best to have around for another night. On the whole though the room was perfectly decent with enough space for the 3 of us.

The breakfast is lovely, nice full english and a good choice of cereals and fruit etc. Cooked fresh when you come down and he went the extra mile to check if we wanted something special before the run. He even made sure there were bananas and chocolate bars in the morning! A high seat was also provided for us, great not to have to carry all those things around.

They like cash on check in which is clearly mentioned when you book, so that is fine, just something to note.

Overall very decent and I would always rather stay here than a dull Travelodge. I will be staying next year for the Bath Half again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDoogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We booked Bay Tree based on other peoples reviews and we were not disappointed. Colin made us very welcome and only too willing to help us in what ever way he could. We really enjoyed our stay at Bay Tree House and would recommend it to anyone wanting a B&B in Bath. The breakfasts were superb. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you Colin and Louise.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkfish33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Lovely bed and breakfast in super location for central Bath. Clean and contemporary facilities. Great breakfast. Hospitable hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 km away
Crescent Guest House
Crescent Guest House
#96 of 159 in Bath
221 reviews
0.9 km away
Glenade
Glenade
#56 of 159 in Bath
84 reviews
1.9 km away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 159 in Bath
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#20 of 159 in Bath
810 reviews
0.1 km away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#33 of 159 in Bath
1,078 reviews
0.9 km away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#19 of 159 in Bath
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Tree House

Address: 12 Crescent Gardens | Upper Bristol Road, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $134 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Tree House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Bay Tree House we aim to provide our guests with a comfortable and relaxing stay. Being on the doorstep of this beautiful City we are just 5 minutes walk from the Thermae Bath Spa, The Roman Baths, The Royal Crescent and The Circus, as well as the vast selection of shops! With an excellent choice of restaurants nearby, we are happy to help with recommendations and reservations. The train and bus stations are within 15 minutes walk or a short taxi ride. If you are arriving by car, we have two private parking spaces at the rear of the house, and can also offer free on-street parking for the duration of your stay. Our rooms are stylish and homely along with a friendly and professional service, with all the personal touches of a small family run business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Tree House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing