We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chestnuts House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnuts House
Ranked #4 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“superb place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

A lovely place, so close to the centre of town, and the breakfasts are the best in the Kingdom!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    49
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
125
572
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

My partner and I have just had a lovely weekend in the beautiful city of Bath, staying at Chestnuts House. This really is a lovely comfortable guest house. The room we stayed in was on the ground floor and was tastefully decorated and had everything that we needed. It was a really comfortable room and although we were situated adjacent to the dining room and reception, it was really quiet and we weren't disturbed at all. There's parking provided at the front of the house and once you'reparked you really don't need the car as everything is a walk away. The breakfast was lovely and between us we tried the full english, salmon and scrambled eggs and the omlette with asparagus. It's really nice to have the choice as although the full english was fab, it's nice to have a change when you stay a few days. So we would recommend Chestnuts House and we would definately stay again when we return to bath. Oh and don't worry about the building work that's going on nearby at the moment, we didn't even notice it. Tim and Christopher Freeman-Dean

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Came for our second visit at this excellent guesthouse. Great location for walking into city centre. Facilities excellent, everything you could want/need. Toni gives maps and recommendations for places to visit/eat. Exceptional breakfasts. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidjo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

The house it's self I'd warm and cosy and homely. There is a lounge with sky sports! The landlord was so helpful providing maps and info on where to visit. Our room was clean and tidy and a very comfy bed with lovely bathroom. The breakfast was award winning and service fantastic! Will def stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amidotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed last October for 3 nights and I cannot fault the place. Beautiful modern decor, kept spotlessly clean. Brilliant choice of breakfast items all freshly prepared and nicely presented. Lovely friendly staff available to help with any info/advice on local attractions. The location was perfect for us as everything was within walking distance (we often walked via the park which is just down the road). We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

We thoroughly recommend a trip to the Thermae Spa and our best meal out was enjoyed at Yum Yum Thai.

Many thanks to Toni for being a fabulous host!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunglassesAtTheReady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Chestnuts house is a lovely bed and breakfast, room very modern and comfortable. breakfast good choice and superbly cooked. Very near centre of Bath but nice and quiet. Will stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

My wife and I have just stayed two nights at Chestnuts. Difficult to find anything to add to much of the many positive reviews already posted.
The Guest House is ideally situated for exploring Bath without the need of a car. Toni is a charming and informative host, our room was lovely and the breakfast first class.

We would definately stay again at Chestnuts on any future trip to Bath

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.6 km away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Bath House
The Bath House
#7 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
0.9 km away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
1.6 km away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts House

Property: Chestnuts House
Address: 16 Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chestnuts House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnuts House is a fine detached Edwardian house with an enclosed garden and private off street parking. It is ideally situated off the main roads and adjacent to Henrietta park, within a few minutes level walk of the city centre. The House is built of natural stone and has five excellent air conditioned guest rooms. warm and attractive decorations have provided well appointed, spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms. All are equipped with colour televisions, dvd players, radio/alarm clocks, free wireless internet connection and refreshments trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chestnuts House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing