We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable and very convenient, helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SACO Bath - St James Parade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SACO Bath - St James Parade
Ranked #5 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“comfortable and very convenient, helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

we stayed in a one bedroom apartment the weekend before christmas and had a great time. the other reviews had made me a bit concerned about possible noise from the street as my husband is a light sleeper so i phoned to ask about this and to check whether to book a studio or one bed. a very helpful manager asked exactly what i wanted and talked it through before settling on a particular apartment. 2 weeks before we arrived i received an email to say that apartment was closed for maintenance and that he had chosen a different one for me. the apartment was excellent - very quiet, very warm (convector heaters warm the space very quickly) and very well equipped. bedroom was at the back and living room at the front and we had no problem with noise. we chose to eat out but could easily have cooked for ourselves. they provide milk and some cereal to get you started. bed was a good size and very comfortable. we parked round the corner in the underground carpark for southgate shopping centre which was very convenient, cost us £22.70 from friday evening till sunday afternoon. i definitely hope we get to go there again.

Room Tip: phone and tell them your requirements as they are very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frances b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    99
    28
    7
    7
See reviews for
77
200
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

A spacious apartment very centrally located. Clean, comfortable and well equipped. The bathroom could be improved by additional shelving and by having a light over the basin. The sitting room was a bit austere and could be improved by an additional armchair or 2 and a larger table. Adequate for 2 people but insufficient seating if one wished to entertain friends or relatives although there were plates, glasses, cutlery etc. for 4. Overall an excellent place to stay for a weekend or longer.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed here as family for christmas market. Were greeted on arrival, offered any assistance we might need. We asked if we could leave cases as we were early and allowed in to apartment early as it was ready. Staff all very friendly with good local knowledge. Apartment had every thing we needed, very clean, comfortable with additional touches such as fresh milk in fridge. We were given additional pillows for elderly mother. Access to apartment via lift. I could access using crutches and keep chair for trips out (very central location, close to abbey and station). Plenty of space inside well lit, individual controlled heating in rooms. Good sized kitchen with freezer, fridge, dishwasher and washing machine/tumble (as we were only for short stay did not need to use but would have been great for longer stay). Excellent apartment for family stay, much better than hotel. A nice touch was the assistant manager phoning us when we had time to settle in to check that everything was ok and ask if we needed anything else.

Room Tip: We were on top floor so no problems with noise good views from bedrooms. Asked for easy access apar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment (rm 105) it was very clean and warm, well equiped and a great base for exploring Bath. Would have prefered a bath but shower was alright.
Staff at reception not very smiley but ok.
Mcdonalds 2 mins walk from the apartment and M and S very close too. Our apartment faced onto the street (1st floor) a little noise from traffic but not a problem.
Will definately stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markS196333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Great location for a few days holiday in bath and I really liked having kitchen facilities do we could have breakfast etc when we wanted. The staff were friendly and helpful, happy to store our case when we arrived in the morning leaving us free to have a wander around without being laden with our case. Overall, I'd recommend but if constructive criticism is welcome then I'll add that the drop down bed in our studio apartment wasn't comfortable and the pillows were flimsy. Fine for a couple of nights but it's a shame the beds let the place down a bit.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karensheppard, Manager at SACO Bath - St James Parade, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Dear Andricia,
Thank you for your comments, I am glad to hear you enjoyed our great location and the fully equipped kitchen in your apartment. As you know the apartment you stayed in featured a 'wall-bed' (one of two at SACO Bath) to offer guests a variety of budget options and usable living space and we feel this apartment type is great value at £78 per night. Each wall-bed includes a frame base with a seperate mattress. I am sorry to hear that this was uncomfortable for you. We routinely check each apartment including the beds and I can assure you that all our 43 apartments include quality mattresses, pillows, duvets and linen at present.
I understand this may be due to personal preference but please do not let it put you off visiting SACO again, please contact me personally if there is anything else I can help you with.

Kind regards
Karen Sheppard
Apartment Manager
Saco Bath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Great location.Parking in nearby shopping centre.Near railway and bus station too...oh, and park n ride!
SACO concept great for 1 night.Short stay for us.More space than a hotel, similar price.OK you make your own breakfast.Full kitchen and more importantly fridge and freezer. Dishwasher and Washing machine too.
Location being central can be noisy - although we were there over the Halloween weekend ;)
Front facing with window open, you will hear some of the traffic and the up to 2am customers 'talking' as they leave nearby bars.
Pump house morning or afternoon great for breakfast or afternon tea.Pianist entertains you....quietly in the background.
Thermae Spa we felt good value.
Free walking tours too.

Room Tip: Try to avoid front facing ,although we didnt look at the non front facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanandFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

This apartment was pretty average. The location was great- easy walk to everything we wanted to see in Bath. We had a little trouble finding it as it is not well signposted.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment that was quite spacious for our family of 5. There was one full bath and one extra WC downstairs. The kitchen was modern and well equipped. It was clean, although there was a terrible musty smell in the fridge. The lounge room was a good size. Overall, though, the apartment was a little shabby. Walls badly scuffed, everything quite plain, carpets and furniture a bit worn, beds and pillows a bit uncomfortable. So while the apartment was adequate, it lacked any style or charm. For those reasons, I would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowBrickRoad2Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karensheppard, Manager at SACO Bath - St James Parade, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Hello there,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback. I am sorry you felt the apartment was not of a high standard. We have an ongoing refurbishment programme to keep all the apartments in optimum condition, as well as frequent checks for quality and maintenance issues.

In light of your comments we will review this particular apartment immediately and ensure we put right anything not up to our normal high standards. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the size of the apartment as well as the great location and found the apartment suitable for families.

With regards to the signage outside the apartments, there is a sign next to the entrance and an ‘A’ board outside the building nevertheless, SACO completely agrees with your comment but is restricted from further signs from the local authority.

Once again I am truly sorry SACO Bath did not meet your expectations on this occasion, should you ever have a requirement for serviced apartment accommodation anywhere else in the UK or the world please do contact me personally so you can experience what else we can offer which I hope will restore your faith in SACO.

Kind regards
Karen Sheppard
Apartment Manager
SACO Bath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#15 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.8 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.9 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SACO Bath - St James Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SACO Bath - St James Parade

Property: SACO Bath - St James Parade
Address: 37 St. James's Parade, Bath BA1 1UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SACO Bath - St James Parade 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These beautiful new apartments are perfectly located in the heart of historic Bath close to the Theatre Royal. An entire Georgian terrace has been restored to create a selection of individually designed studios and one and two bedroom apartments. These stylish apartments are furnished with contemporary Italian designer furniture, fully equipped kitchens, spacious living/dining area and bedrooms with king size beds and bathrooms with bath and power shower. Two bedroom apartments have an additional en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your SACO Bath - St James Parade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saco Bath Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing