We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house”
Review of Leighton Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leighton Townhouse
Ranked #9 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Bath is a beautiful city, especially when the Christmas market is on !!!

The hotel is just 10 minutes walk including a little hill, not a problem for us !

The house is very cozy and pretty !

I’m sorry to say this but... the staff need some basic training..... upon check out we were just told .....’Byeee’ far from what you expect from a 5* property :)

If I ever return to Bath... I might go back ! :)

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank _Andy_RH_140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my mum as we visited the bath Christmas market. This is a beautiful place to stay and can't fault anything. Room was spotless and shower powerful. Only a short walk from the town centre. Defiantly recommend staying here

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

An exceptional bed and breakfast, beautiful room 10, lots of choice for breakfast in a very pleasant breakfast room. We came back from the Christmas market to warm up and ate mince pies and had some lovely mulled wine in the lounge with our daughter and her boyfriend. Parking off road is a bonus and it was only a very short walk into Bath itself, we will definitely return.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

We had a lovely two-night stay here to visit Bath for some Christmas shopping. The decor is beautiful and the rooms were spotless. Free parking is a definite bonus for us as we know how difficult it is to park in the city centre. One highlight of our stay was the delicious breakfast - more than enough to fuel a day of walking around Bath! We had the best couple of nights here and can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank T1m3Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

I booked this mini break in Bath online . We enjoyed our stay at Leighton town house , very comfortable and clean , the breakfast was delicious with lots of choice and the service was efficient and friendly . We also loved the walk to the city despite the hill and just used Uber in the evenings . Really enjoyed Bath !

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynnepearce53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

We stayed for two nights to visit our daughter at the university. Leighton Townhouse is stylish, clean, the staff welcoming and very helpful, the bed not too hard, bedding of good quality and breakfast spot on.
So I feel sorry to have to be honest and say that a few things detracted from that. Sleep was difficult as we had to keep the windows closed because of the noise from traffic from the very busy road in front which meant the room was rather stuffy and, as our ground floor room was next to the breakfast room, we could hear the team setting up the breakfast things from about 7.30 on Sunday morning when we might have hoped to sleep half an hour longer.
The other 'but' is about parking. When we returned both late Saturday afternoon and then again from dinner at about 10.30 on Saturday evening there wasn't a space left for us. At the earlier time we were able to park on a nearby street perhaps 400 yards away, but the pouring rain meant we were rather damp by the time we reached the door, and in the evening we could not find any on street parking at all and had to double park, which meant we were slightly nervous of someone wishing to leave before we were dressed on Sunday morning. If slots might be marked with room numbers this issue might be alleviated?

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the busy road at the front and the breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHabergham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael J, Manager at Leighton Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

We thank you for your kind comments and regret that you feel that your stay was not as good as it should have been. We are very sorry that you felt the need to leave a review with a score of 3/5, which suggests you had a poor stay at Leighton Townhouse.

With regards to your room being 'stuffy', we wonder why you did not just switch on the air-conditioning that all our rooms have, as this would surely have solved the problem?

With regards to parking, we have 10 rooms and 10 spaces in our complimentary on-site car park and it is very rare that all 10 sets of guests arrive by car, meaning the car park is seldom full. We do occasionally have the challenge of some guests leaving their cars with us after check out and other guests arriving very early to check in, meaning an occasional lack of space in the middle of the day but it is very rare for the car park to be full in the evening or overnight. If there is a problem with lack of space, we can generally resolve it quickly but as you did not make us aware of an issue, we could not help you on this occasion.

We sincerely hope that overall you enjoyed your time in our beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

The beautiful rooms, decor and attention to detail makes this an absolutely lovely place to stay and we will definitely stay again on our next visit to Bath. The bed and pillows were super comfortable and together with all the little extras gives it a luxurious feel that makes it that bit extra special. Next time we will stay longer!

Room Tip: We were in the super deluxe room on the bottom floor. There was no noise from the road and had a pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 591jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.4 km away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.1 km away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#11 of 157 in Bath
1,022 reviews
1.4 km away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Paradise House B&B
Paradise House B&B
#4 of 157 in Bath
1,914 reviews
0.9 km away
The Bath House
The Bath House
#7 of 157 in Bath
1,870 reviews
2.8 km away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#3 of 157 in Bath
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leighton Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leighton Townhouse

Address: 139 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $151 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Leighton Townhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourselves at Leighton Townhouse. We are just a 10 minute walk from the city centre, in a peaceful 140-year old Victorian villa, set in lovely gardens, with great views away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre and offering complimentary on-site car parking. Formerly known as One Three Nine, we have recently refurbished and refreshed all our bedrooms and guest areas to provide 10 individually designed and beautifully decorated guest rooms, all of which have air conditioning, as well as beautiful bathrooms with underfloor heating, power showers and many with spa baths. Leighton Townhouse has been fully restyled to reflect the age and character of the property. Using a harmonious palate of soft neutrals and flashes of brighter accent colours, our Townhouse has a warm, relaxing ambiance with each room completely unique in character. By blending our signature style of classical French chic with contemporary modern elements, we are able to offer our guests an extremely comfortable stay and a truly bespoke experience' Take in the sights of our remarkable city, have a lingering lunch, soak in the bubbling hot waters at the Thermae Bath Spa, book an evening show at the beautiful Bath Theatre Royal. Dine out, hit the shops or just lounge like a local - our townhouse has everything you will need for a perfect stay. The views are amazing and the possibilities are endless. Leighton Townhouse offers all the 'mod cons' you would expect from a luxury B&B Townhouse as well as beautiful, comfortable décor. Our guiding principle is to offer exceptional personal service and accommodation to make our guests feel they are 'home from home' but with a bit of 'wow' factor to make their stay in Bath one to remember. We believe that there are a few prerequisites that a luxury B&B townhouse must have - relaxing décor, very comfortable beds, immaculate bathrooms, fresh, crisp, quality linens, fluffy towels, robes & slippers, welcoming and comfortable guest areas, fresh flowers, good lighting as well as a hearty breakfast with plenty of choice and Bucks Fizz to kick start your day. Whether you just want a few romantic days away 'a deux', a break on the way to the South West, or a 'girlie' get away, Leighton Townhouse will tick all the right boxes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Leighton Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
139 Bath
One Three Nine Bath Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing