We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Owl Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Meander59...
1 review
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The location of the cottage is stunning - fabulous views from all windows. Cottage warm and a perfect get away for two.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julie L
1 review
“Beautiful place and location”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I was extremely impressed with the cottage , it was so lovely and welcoming. I would definitely recommend a friend
Fabulous

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littledoo...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing location, lovely little cottage!”
Reviewed December 23, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 days and could not fault it!
The location was beautiful with stunning views and the cottage itself was gorgeous.
It is situated only 10 minutes drive from bath city centre and roughly 20 to bristol.
The owner George was very friendly and welcoming - thank you for the hospitality!
We both very much enjoyed the jacuzzi bath as well!
We hope to stay again!
Merry Christmas!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsw0
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage, lovely location, we hope to stay again.”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I have just returned from a week staying in Owl Cottage. We had a really enjoyable time and the cottage was very comfortable and well-equiped. The wine, milk and biscuits were appreciated. The cottage is the perfect location for exploring Bath, Bristol and the surrounding area. We did a couple of walks out from the cottage and enjoyed sitting on the patio watching the hot air balloons on Sunday afternoon. We hope to stay again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannahhhh...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in great location!”
Reviewed March 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a 3 nights for my birthday and the cottage made my short break very enjoyable. The cottage was lovely and the little touches such as the bottle of wine, biscuits, the bottle of milk in the fridge and the great bath made our stay that bit more fantastic! Beautiful views from the cottage and an ideal location for exploring Bristol/Bath! At such a great price too. I would highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage for a get away to bath”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Where to start, the cottage itself is lovely, very well maintained and very very clean on arrival. The simple touches of a few cake biscuits, a bottle of wine, 1 pint of milk a few teabags were certainly not expected but made the welcome to the cottage that bit extra nice.

George the owner was helpful, both in email communication before our arrival and then whilst we were there.

The cottage is everything you would expect, bedroom, bathroom (with whirlpool bath), kitchen but what makes it special is the gas burner fire (in addition to central heating) and the "real" feel the cottage has with its partial stone walls and wood beams again gives this property something else to make it feel welcoming.

The location is great, up a country lane with great views looking out across the hillside and only 4 miles to bath make it perfect for a weekend exploring the local area. A very nice looking pub at the bottom of the lane (about half a mile) which we sadly didn't have time to visit but again the nice touch of a torch on charge in the cottage should you want to wonder down of an evening.

As you may tell, we really enjoyed our stay and I am very happy to write the first review on here. There is a visitor book in the cottage so below are a few comments from others (I know it's a little cheeky and I hope George doesn't mind) but I like you came here to find reviews and think its a criminal shame none were on Tripadvisor.

"Very happy times, will certainly recommend"
"Will be back to this lovely cottage, had a wonderful time"
"Another lovely stay"
"Lovely comfortbale cottage"

The list could go on, in short, amazing property for people looking for something off the beaten track to relax and explore Bath

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing