We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

The Circus Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 618 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$33
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Small, busy, much admired, family-run restaurant; serving seasonal, locally sourced, freshly cooked food; charming and welcoming staff; sensible and honest prices. Set in a fine Georgian house in Bath's most beautiful position - between The Circus and The Royal Crescent. Voted number 4 in the United Kingdom by The Times "Twenty secret restaurants that foodies love". Bookings advised.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A real gem of a place. The owner has clearly worked hard on maintaining a consistent standard (rarely achieved in the restaurant trade). I loved the crispy lamb starter and the fillet steak was delicious. Our waitress was knowledgeable about the food and wine, and also fun - again a rarity. I'd have preferred the chips to have been homemade but a minor detail. Nothing not to like in this place and long live the independent restauranteur! I will go back the next time I'm in Bath.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank accipitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much indeed for your positive feedback. We're really glad you enjoyed it and will return. On the chip front, we used to make our own but, as we make everything else from scratch everyday (apart from the Bertinet bread) it was becoming too time consuming to be ready for midday service and therefore we had to outsource this. However we think they are pretty good despite this! Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 2,013 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A real independent gem. Lovely setting, excellent service and very good food. Had the ceviche and veal chop and were both very good and would recommend them and partner had the crab and rabbit and again very good. Only slight criticism would be deserts as had the brûlée with passion fruit and not sure it went but can forgive them for all the other pluses. Would definitely come back when am in the area again.

Thank lukewg1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your mainly positive review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A great meal in a relaxing environment. The decor was fitting for Bath, just around the corner from the Royal Crescent.
A well structured menu with a good choice for all tastes. Good value and inexpensive.

Thank you!

Thank GeoHar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind and positive feedback. We're really glad you enjoyed your meal with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived before our booked time as we were so cold and wet and just wanted to get inside but we were made to feel so welcome from the moment we arrived by every member of staff. The food was exquisite and our waitress was really lovely and attentive. Could not fault our visit at all. Great food and prices very reasonable. Would love to visit again if in Bath.

Thank klm1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The setting was perfect, the staff brilliant and the food outstanding, thank you Team Circus, we have booked to return with four friends in a couple of weeks time, can't wait!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eatyourgreens, Owner at The Circus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so glad you had a happy birthday time with us and look forward to your next visit. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Circus Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Circus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing