We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A pleasant retreat just a stones throw from...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Byre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Byre
Sitting Room The Byre
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
The Byre
Sitting Room
The Byre
Kitchen
The Byre
Dining Area
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Local Produce!
Hall
Bathroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cheddar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant retreat just a stones throw from Cheddar ”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely lovely week at The Byre - comfy bed and good bathroom, coupled with open plan kitchen and living area, looking out on to beautifully maintained gardens. The welcome pack and home baked cake were delightful to arrive to after a long journey and Nigels help with advice on walks in the area was really useful - well worth it and good value for money!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathrynan...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Week in January”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My partner and I wanted to get away for the week in January and we were looking at where to go when we stumbled upon The Byre, and that was it. The pictures do not do it justice at all, it's the perfect space for two people either for a short break or for something longer. It's modern with some really homely touches, such as the wood burner which we really enjoyed using. The kitchen is a large space with all the mod cons, and even things you wouldn't think about. A lovely bedroom with everything you could need and a very comfortable bed. The views were absolutely gorgeous, looking out across the owner's garden and into the valleys. We couldn't have wanted for anything else, it was the perfect home away from home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzannega...
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great cottage, great views, great hosts!”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

First impression on arrival at the front door was a delightful view from the front door, which was surpassed by the views from the lounge over the garden to the landscape beyond.

What a welcome too, from Nigel the host, then courtesy of Charlotte's baking, a homemade cake with an array of different flavour teas. The Byre itself was faultless, immaculate, beautifully laid out, everything guests could need - a beautifully presented, welcoming and comfortable holiday rental - a real home from home.

If we needed anything or wanted advice on walks,. shopping or general area our hosts supplied a super brochure plus friendly info on the local countryside and the garden!

All round great place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reed6460
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Hidden gem.”
Reviewed 19 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Amazing break in this stunning property. All of these reviews cannot be wrong. We will definitely be back !! Many Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiggz92
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect home from home!”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend break and what a treat it was! The cottage is finished to an exceptionally high standard with everything you could possibly need! Fantastic hosts that provided a great welcome basket. Being February, the weather was a bit chilly, but we had wonderful evenings spent relaxing and warming up in front of the log fire! It really was the most peaceful, idyllic retreat! We would reccommend it to everyone and we will most definitely be booking again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany M
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in February 2016

From the moment we arrived we was made to feel welcome. Great location and stunning view from the garden. Very clean and lovely hosts. We will definitely book again!

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Very high standard, every thing you needed and fab location.”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a great week the weather was perfect for the time of year. The cottage was lovely, very clean and comfortable and to a high standard. There were lots of nice places to visit , for us to see the European Cranes on the levels was extra special. Charlotte and Nigel were great and we loved the goodies basket.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing