We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant accommodation and surroundings for...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallet Farm

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Twin bedroom
Single Room
Our very own zipwire - just one of the activities we can arrange for you if you dare!
Mendips are fantastic for biking..
As well as accomodation, we can offer and arrange all sorts of outdoor pursuits.
Dinning Room
Kitchen
Kitchen Table
Front of Kitchen
Lounge with open fire!!!
Lounge
Bedroom 8
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Cheddar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julia B
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Brilliant accommodation and surroundings for large numbers”
Reviewed June 6, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

My family of 13 together with another family of 13 had a weekend reunion - ages ranging from 2 years to 75 years. We had a magical time at Swallet Farm - the very clean accommodation worked well with plenty of outside tables and chairs for eating al fresco BBQ's - It is situated in a peaceful setting surrounded by fields. The kitchen facilities were good with plenty of fridge/freezer space. There was a huge open fire in the lounge for chilly evenings with plenty of seating - we could not fault our stay and i am sure we will come again!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A Special Gathering of Old Friends”
Reviewed June 3, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
2
people found this review helpful

26 people including children stayed for two nights. Two families who became friends spent several years holidaying together, camping near Hyeres in the South of France. We planned this trip to coincide with. Special birthday celebration. Our children who have their own families and their partners had never met one another before and nor had we all met their children. However it was great and we all got on wonderfully well.
Swallet Farm is designed for large parties and is also a training centre. The accommodation is adequate and includes a toilet and shower area inside with a long dining room seating 20 people and a large kitchen, a freezer room with dishwasher and a large comfortable lounge.
Outside there is table tennis and tables and chairs for barbecue evenings.
We were lucky with the weather and eat outdoors each day. There is also a small copse with a pond and a zip wire tower.
There is plenty of car parking.
If your group is up for memorable time, this is the place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archie I
1 review
“Stag Party”
Reviewed April 15, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Superb spot for any stag in the beautiful Mendip Hills. Martin was an excellent host and the property has lots of accommodation and a large dining room which was perfect for our group.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise F
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely farmhouse in idyllic location”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I recently stayed at Swallet Farm as part of a Hen Party, and just wanted to say what a fantastic time we had. The farm is conveniently located just outside of Bristol, so is easy to get to with good transport links. It benefits from being in the middle of the gorgeous Somerset countryside with a lovely local pub close by.

The farmhouse has good amenities and was very clean. We enjoyed a few outdoor activities, including on site abseiling, and the hosts were excellent as talking us through these and ensuring we enjoyed them.

Cannot recommend Swallet Farm highly enough for a similar occasion, would definitely come back again. Thanks for a great weekend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Stag Do”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2016

My Best men had booked Swallet Farm for my Stag Do and this property hits the nail on the head for everything you need. Loads of space, facilities were all in good order and the owners were easy to deal with. Would love to come back, just need an excuse!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave B
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!! Great (big) farmhouse in English countryside”
Reviewed March 29, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a wonderful place this is - great communal areas for dining our group of 16 and socialising in the big living room by the fire. Perfect for large groups, and plenty of space to accommodate apparently up to 24 people! We had an amazing time, beautiful house in idyllic countryside, close to cheddar gorge, it was a perfect base for some walking and games by the fire in the evenings. Thank you for such a wonderful experience!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
74Cortina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Team events & Overnight”
Reviewed March 15, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Second time staying at Swallet Farm and it continues to improve.

This time indulging in team building events & archery for my team of 13. (Highly recommend booking events, they were executed to a very high standard)

If you're looking for somewhere to take your team away, bring the family together or have a hen/stag do then I'd highly reccomend it.

There's a couple of reviews that mention the temperature & standards, we found the temperature fine in the bedrooms with the radiators on and the two log burners downstairs do the trick.

Standards wise, everything was clean and tidy with fresh linen and towels upon arrival.

It's all as you'd expect from a building of such character.

Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing