We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Sandford to Winscombe

Walk this route most days with my dog. So lovely and peaceful. A very pretty walk. Stop off on... read more

Reviewed October 25, 2018
j13cak
,
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
via mobile
What a gem

We have cycled this route many times now, although this time we found the Railway Inn, wow, what a... read more

Reviewed September 17, 2018
Langport1
via mobile
Read all 65 reviews
  
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
39
21
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
21
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cycle route railway inn off road strawberry wine mountain bike thatchers cider enjoyable walk home made cakes cheddar reservoir lovely walk sandford yatton cyclists tunnel track wildlife chute
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 65 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2018

Whilst staying in Wells we decided to walk some of the Strawberry Line having read reviews on Tripadvisor. We caught a bus to Winscombe, 'picked up' the Strawberry Line there, walked to Axbridge (diversions are easy to follow), where we stopped for refreshments. We carried on following the cycle route towards Cheddar but crossed the road and walked down to the Reservoir, just look out for the Reservoir sign. At the Reservoir, walk to the right and just over half way round you are able to go through a gate and carry on towards Cheddar back on the Strawberry Line. This really was a lovely walk and we'll be retracing our steps when we return to Wells in September.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2017

I have walked sections of the strawberry line on a number of occasions. My favourite walk is from Yatton to Axbridge. Lovely walk, mostly on the flat. You do have to cross a main road to get to Axbridge, but well worth it, Axbridge has a beautiful square with a tea room and good pubs for eating

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017

Have done this a few times from Axbridge to Yatton and apart from a small section in Sandford it is all off road (plus a road to cross at congresbury - which has traffic lights). Plenty of places to stop along the way and enjoy the views.

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank castironjaffacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2017

I've done this cycle route many times in the past and have always really enjoyed it. However, yesterday I took some friends along having recommended it as a pleasant easy route with no hills.Not at the moment!! The diversion between Axbridge and Winscombe is a) very steep in places b) slippery as it's just muddy track c) poorly signposted (met 2 other groups that got lost) and d) dangerous in places.. One of the groups were Australians touring the UK with loaded panniers etc. They were very unhappy!! OK I know this is only a temporary diversion, but be warned!!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Harry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2017

Not an easy route at the moment due to works diverting the route. But still some very nice views of the countryside & meeting people along the way. Have done bits of it before the current diversions much nicer.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank AxbridgeClaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews