We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful cottage in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Highcroft and its private patio garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Highcroft and its private patio garden
Relax and enjoy your holiday A glass of wine on the balcony as the sun goes down
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Highcroft and its private patio garden
Relax and enjoy your holiday
A glass of wine on the balcony as the sun goes down
Bright, modern sitting room with plenty of seating for 4
Comfortable leather sofa which turns into a bed
It's easy to chat to each other from sitting room to kitchen
Everything at hand in the well-equipped kitchen
Space to eat in as well as out
Snuggle up in the double bedroom
Get a great night's sleep
The pretty single bedroom
Sparkling shower room
View of the fabulous Cheddar Gorge from the balcony
Relax by the pond with a good book or glass of wine!
View over the rooftops of Cheddar
Such a lovely setting
The private patio garden
Highcroft at dusk
Walks onto the top of the Gorge start 5 mins from the door
Stroll all the way around Cheddar reservoir
The wild goats in the Gorge are very friendly!
Dog friendly pub serving food, 2 mins walk away
Dog friendly pub, serving food, 5 mins walk away
Dog friendly pub, serving food, located in the Gorge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cheddar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Loyell
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful cottage in a great location”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a lovely stay in this beautiful cottage. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners with our Border Collie Bess. The cottage is very well furnished and every comfort has been thought of. It is very clean and has lots of hot water and a great shower. There was a basket of provisions which we really appreciated after a long journey.
The grounds are totally secure and Bess was allowed to explore anywhere in the garden and the fish were fascinating to feed and watch.
It is in a great location and it is lovely to sit and look at the view from the balcony of the Gorge.
We would definitely recommend the cottage to anyone wanting to stay in Cheddar.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views, comfort, cleanliness etc...................................
Liked least: Nothing to report
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
We are delighted to hear that you had a good holiday here in Cheddar and it was so lovely to see Bess enjoying her daily exercise! Thank you so much for your kind comments and we do hope that we see you again at some point in the future. Kind regards Andy and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wander495...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage, delightful setting”
Reviewed September 15, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Highcroft Cottage is simply perfect, it has everything you need for a short break or holiday. It's very cosy, has amazing views of Cheddar Gorge from the veranda, beautiful gardens and one of the best showers I've ever had in a rental property!! The owners are very friendly and provided a welcome pack which was unexpected but very thoughtful. I couldn't recommend this property enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful views, lovely accommodation
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
What lovely comments - we are so pleased that you had a nice holiday and do hope that you will visit us again at some point in the future. Kind regards Andy and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna P
1 review
“Wow!! Amazing little cottage.”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

What an amazing cottage. We were greeted by the owners themselves who made us feel very welcome. The cottage, felt like home. There was everything you needed and more. On arrival, there was a welcome pack, with more than the average essentials, with even the dog catered for. The views were fabulous. Sitting in the morning/evening sun and just admiring the views from the balcony what more could you ask for. The location of the cottage was great, Walked to the gorge most days. A massive thank you and we hope to stay again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Not at all and we really do hope that you will visit us again - it's lovely to hear that you had a nice break (and hopefully Frodo, your little dog, had a good time too)! Kind regards Andy and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oona V
Oxted, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true gem of a place, amazing views, a home from home”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

When we arrived we were welcomed with an amazing welcome pack, we have never received such an impressive welcome pack before - they really know what people need when away from home. The house was lovely warm and welcoming, a real home from home, everything we needed. Very comfortable, a lovely balcony with very impressive views of the gorge, a lovely terrace and garden. Very close to all amenities but lso really quiet at night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
What kind comments - thank you so much! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and do hope that your gorgeous little pup wasn't too tired out with all the dog-walking! Kind regards Andy and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan W
1 review
“Very warm welcome and lovely cottage”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Very warm welcome in a very nice cottage and a beautiful landscape. Complete equipped charming cottage, feeling like at home. A great location to explore the area with a nice villages, parks & gardens and a impressive gorge just some minutes away for walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your comments - it was a pleasure to welcome you and your family (not to mention your lovely little Sheltie!) to Cheddar and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday. Kind regards Andy and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W
2 reviews
“Brilliant cottage in a perfect location with wonderful views of the gorge”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This lovely cottage in the most beautiful surroundings is very well equipped. Andy and Helen have thought of everything to ensure an extremely comfortable stay. The welcome pack was very gratefully received, as was the information folder. The location is perfect, offering secure parking and all that Cheddar has to offer within walking distance. A great base to visit nearby Wells, Glastonbury, Burnham, Brean and endless other places. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to return some day. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of accommodation, views and location.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted that you had a nice holiday exploring all that the local area has to offer and we very much hope that we will get the chance to welcome you here again, at some point in the future. Kind regards Andy and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisajared
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The photos don't do this property justice. It's fantastic. High standard, great location a real home from home. The secure parking is a great bonus too. The many levelled garden is a joy. I enjoyed my breakfast and a good read on the patio and listened to the water running by. We would be very happy to stay in this property again and would recommend it to anyone. Lis X

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for such a lovely review - we are delighted that you had a good holiday here in Cheddar and do hope that your little dog enjoyed all of the local walks. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing