We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, Comfortable Cottage with Beautiful Energy”
other travellers have booked this property
Moonstone Cottage by candlelight
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moonstone Cottage by candlelight
Moonstone is part of an old terrace of cottages built in 1790 A single parking space by the front door.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Moonstone Cottage by candlelight
Moonstone is part of an old terrace of cottages built in 1790
A single parking space by the front door.
Welcome!
Welcome! Nourish your soul with candles, wood burner, films, books, music, games for the children...
The TV & dvd player is located under the stairs opposite sofa. Sofabed sleeps 2
The arm chair is newly uphostered (formerly red). Photo Jan 2018.
The stairs lead to the two bedrooms and family bathroom
A single parking space outside the door. Church lectern with maps and leaflets
You will never want to leave!
Cottage kitchen seats 5. View through conservatory to garden. Treats in fruit bowl. Photo Jan 2018
Dishwasher, ceramic hob, fan oven, blender, microwave, coffee maker, percolator and much more.
Chalk board at child's height. Fermented grapes bottle in fruit bowl for adults.
Kitchen patio through conservatory which houses laundry faciilities. Double doors onto patio
Electric shower over bath, hand shower below, views over gardens and Abbey grounds. Photo Jan '18
View from bathroom and small bedroom. January 2018
Edible herbs, log shed on left, first arch leads onto lawn with swing seat, grape vine, roses, shubs
Second arch behind lawn leads to raised patio overlooking Abbey grounds
The swing seat under the grapevine
Nectar of the Gods!
Take it slow, have a lovely rest here!
Raised terrace with extensive views over Abbey grounds. Table now on kitchen patio, see next photo
New furniture for 2016. This was a warm day in January when Abbey ruins are visible
Normally a peaceful and serene space, Glastonbury Abbey comes alive at numerous special events.
Conservatory has washing machine, storage space, backs to kitchen and patio
New double thickness mattresses Jan 2018, salt lamps in each room, toys and children's books.
Stairs monitored by Audrey
Memory foam mattress topper has received much praise.
There are two wardrobes, one with shelves, one with hangers. Tor view
The main bedroom is larger than it looks on the photo!
View of Tor from the Master bedroom, Rural Life Museum across the road.
One cosy winter's day
Magical Christmas at Moonstone.
Glastonbury Tor at sunset
4 minutes walk to the Chalice Well and Tor footpath
Welcome!
The old oaks, Gog and Magog are 2000 years old.
The Dorset coast is just over an hour's drive away
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Aware33
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy, Comfortable Cottage with Beautiful Energy”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We loved staying at Moonstone Cottage and would readily stay there again.
Katarina is so helpful and friendly. Everything we needed was well
catered for. This cottage is in a great position close to all the sights
and the main shopping street. The back yard looks out to Glastonbury
Abbey gardens. The Chalice Well Gardens and the Tor are 3 minutes away. A
friend who came along is thinking of coming back to write part of her
book at the cottage. The only thing was that the traffic could be heard
from the front bedroom but this only happened in the mornings. The
bedroom was lovely with plenty of cupboard space and light. The bed was
very comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, friendliness and the good vibes
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2013
Thank you! It would be wonderful if C makes it back to Moonstone to write her book. And yes, Glastonbury needs a second by-pass (there is already one from the Wells direction) to route traffic away from some of its most historic parts! It was really lovely to meet you all and we are pleased you had a good stay. Blessings
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Wild...
Woking
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything and more!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A truly wonderful base to explore the magical Glastonbury and surrounded areas from. Just a 5 minute walk from the Tor, Chalice Well and the town. The cottage was beautifully furnished and at the end of a long day, the woodburning stove was a real treat. We arrived with a warm welcome, wine and chocolates (plus a Halloween pumpkin to carve!) and left with homemade, warm ginger cake - what more could you ask for?

Katarina, our host, has wowed us with Moonstone Cottage, we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2013
Aaaw! Thank you very much! We look forward to seeing you again and so is Axel. Blessings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darbyjess...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Unbelievable, Just like home but better!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at a property owned and operated by Katarina. The cottage is amazing, location brilliant. We will be back for sure and I can't wait to return! This is a truly amazing place to stay and recommend it for anyone looking for a great place to stay! Fantastic!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and warm welcome
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2013
Thank you for this - how we cherish surprise guest reviews!! You last stayed in our London property some years ago (sold to enable purchase of Moonstone Cottage). It was such a great pleasure to be able to accommodate you again and no small miracle you managed to fit Glastonbury and Moonstone Cottage (all the way from Down Under) into your busy itinerary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterP172...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A lovely warm and welcoming cottage that is ideally situated for walking into town or up to the tor. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the owner, who made us very welcome and helped us with all the information we needed to enjoy our stay to the full. We were given a lovely home made crumble made with local fruit along with a bottle of wine and some chocolates, we felt thoroughly spoilt. The cottage is very clean and has every modern conveniance you would need yet retains its old world charm. My wife has o.c.d. and normally finds it difficult when staying in another property, but due to the owners attention to detail and cleanliness had no problems with her stay at moonstone cottage and was able to relax fully.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the welcome and the cleanliness of the cottage
Liked least: the rain on thursday
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2013
We are so glad and grateful for your comments. What a relief to be able to (unwittingly) cater for someone with o.c.d. and pass the test. I often wonder if perhaps I have gone un-diagnosed myself?! But obviously cleanliness is very important in a holiday property, I am glad to say we try our very hardest to keep up the standards. Thanks so much for taking the time to review Moonstone Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran, Norway
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our host was very helpful with important details
Liked least: The weather was variable - couldn't be helped, though!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Sep 2013
How lovely, thank you and it is wonderful you had a good holiday at Moonstone Cottage. We hope to see you again one day should you return to Glastonbury. It was great to meet you and your family. N.B. Indeed the two bedrooms and bathroom are on the first floor. Regrettably this cottage is not suited to those who are unable to climb stairs. There are handrails on each side of the steps and there are 13 steps.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Twick2
Twickenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A special place”
Reviewed 14 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed for a week in June and had a lovely time in this wonderful cottage. The owner Katarina was very welcoming and she had thought of everything. We loved the wine and truffles waiting for us on our arrival. The house is spotlessly clean (great for me as I have a dust allergy) and has lots of character enhanced by the tasteful but quirky decor. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well in the bedroom overlooking the tor. The pretty garden was a lovely place for chilling out; we especially enjoyed breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Abbey Gardens and sitting in the swing seat by the lawn. The cottage is well placed for walking to restaurants and shops as well as to the tor and Abbey Gardens. We would thoroughly recommend and hope to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful garden and comfy bed.
Liked least: On a busy road but you don't notice it when inside or in garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2013
Thanks a million for your kind review. We work hard at maintaining the cottage and gardens - it is most rewarding to know our efforts are enjoyed and appreciated! Lovely to meet you both and thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruce g
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Like a second home”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I have stayed at Moonstone Cottage on several occassions.
The minute I walk into Moonstone I feel relaxed and comfortable.
The Cottage is a period cottage which has been tastefully and sympathetically decorated by the thoughtful and considerate owner. From the wood burning stove in the lounge to the delightful rear garden which backs onto and has views of the Abbey grounds.
Moonstone is ideally located, being only a couple of minutes flat walk to Glastonbury High street with its shops, restaurants and pubs.
On a practical note, there is an off street parking area at the front of the cottage, so you will not need to use your car during your stay.
If you dont want to eat or drink out in Glastonbury, there are 3 supermarkets in the locale where you can buy supplys, and then cook in the well equipped kitchen and eat in the dinning area or on an outside table in the garden.

The owner always provides a number of up-to-date leaflets, booklets and maps of Glastonbury and its attractions for guests

The view of the Tor from front bedroom window is a magestic.

The ambiance of Moonstone Cottage compliments the charms of Glastonbury perfectly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Repeat visits to Moonstone says it all .
Liked least: The stay never seems long enough
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It was great to see you again! We cherish the good vibes and feedback from guests as they keep Moonstone Cottage a happy home - many thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$127
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing