We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical”
other travellers have booked this property
Moonstone Cottage by candlelight
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moonstone Cottage by candlelight
Moonstone is part of an old terrace of cottages built in 1790 A single parking space by the front door.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Moonstone Cottage by candlelight
Moonstone is part of an old terrace of cottages built in 1790
A single parking space by the front door.
Welcome!
Welcome! Nourish your soul with candles, wood burner, films, books, music, games for the children...
The TV & dvd player is located under the stairs opposite sofa. Sofabed sleeps 2
The arm chair is newly uphostered (formerly red). Photo Jan 2018.
The stairs lead to the two bedrooms and family bathroom
A single parking space outside the door. Church lectern with maps and leaflets
You will never want to leave!
Cottage kitchen seats 5. View through conservatory to garden. Treats in fruit bowl. Photo Jan 2018
Dishwasher, ceramic hob, fan oven, blender, microwave, coffee maker, percolator and much more.
Chalk board at child's height. Fermented grapes bottle in fruit bowl for adults.
Kitchen counter, sink and tap replaced November 2018
New counters, sink and tap, November 2018
Kitchen patio through conservatory which houses laundry faciilities. Double doors onto patio
Electric shower over bath, hand shower below, views over gardens and Abbey grounds. Photo Jan '18
View from bathroom and small bedroom. January 2018
Edible herbs, log shed on left, first arch leads onto lawn with swing seat, grape vine, roses, shubs
Second arch behind lawn leads to raised patio overlooking Abbey grounds
New sun loungers for 2018
New swing seat 2018 under the grape vine
Nectar of the Gods!
Take it slow, have a lovely rest here!
Raised terrace. This was a warm day in January. View of Abbey grounds and ruins in distance
Conservatory has washing machine, storage space, backs to kitchen and patio
Salt lamp and new mattresses 2018
New double thickness mattresses Jan 2018, salt lamps in each room, toys and children's books.
Stairs monitored by Audrey
View of Tor from the Master bedroom, Rural Life Museum across the road.
One cosy winter's day
Magical Christmas at Moonstone.
Glastonbury Tor at sunset
4 minutes walk to the Chalice Well and Tor footpath
The old oaks, Gog and Magog are 2000 years old.
Normally a peaceful and serene space, Glastonbury Abbey comes alive at numerous special events.
The Dorset coast is just over an hour's drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
John M
Sliedrecht, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
“Magical”
Reviewed October 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Not our first time in glastonbury, but our first stay at moonstone cottage.
We had the most wonderfull time and will return for sure next year.
We loved all the lovely details and enjoyed the garden very much. No need to bring a book as there is a wonderfull collection right at hand.
The vieuws over the abbey grounds are peacefull and the cottage is equiped with all the things you you have at home. The owners makes you feel more than welcome...

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley W
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming cottage in great location”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Moonstone cottage is a lovely and special place to be. It is well-equipped and has a calm atmosphere. The garden is attractive and overlooks the Abbey park. The cottage is in walking distance of the Tor, the Chalice Well gardens, Wearyall Hill and the town centre with its many shops and cafes. The cottage has much interesting information on local walks (try the walk to the ancient oak trees Gog and Magog along Paradise Lane) and also further afield.

Katarina and David were never intrusive but hospitable and there when needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There's much to like. We liked just being there, being able to leave the car and walk to the town centre and sites, the garden, the homely feel.
Liked least: The cottage is just so nice and we loved everything about it. Glastonbury roads were busier than previously experienced but no doubt due to the build up to the renowned music festival.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abz94
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Moonstruck at Moonstone”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I went for a spiritual recharge and writing holiday and Moonstone cottage was the perfect venue. It feels very cozy and comfortable. It is clean and has every sort of amenity that you might look for. Perfect size for solo, a couple or a couple with children. It also has a nice library of books and dvds for adults, children and spiritualists. Everything is well documented in terms of how things work.

Probably the most magical part of the cottage is the back garden and raised terrace overlooking Glastonbury Abbey--a wonderful setting for reading, having a glass of wine, watching the moon or gazing at the Abbey grounds. At night, the garden has lights with timers. In the dark, the garden becomes a mystical wonderland for great conversations and silent contemplation.

Katarina and her husband are gracious hosts, always available next door, and full of tips on how to enjoy Glastonbury. She also makes a fantastic Finnish version of apple crumb cake.

As magical as Moonstone cottage is, it doesn't have the power to change the English countryside weather which started off a little dreary but ended on a high note. Short of weather control, I can't think of a thing that I would change about the cottage and the experience. Hope to return soon.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2014
Your review is most gratefully received, thank you. We are in suspense about reading your finished book....best seller in the making, we believe! As for the weather button, we are working on it... We hope to have the chance to welcome you at Moonstone again. Blessings for every aspect of the journey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous place to stay”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

What can I say but to echo others' reviews. It is a lovely, peaceful, clean place to stay. The garden is just divine, and the cottage quirky, quiet and interesting. Katarina is really lovely and attentive without being intrusive, and we appreciated knowing that she was just next door if we wanted anything, and indeed a couple of times she managed to help us out very promptly when we needed it. I can't recommend this place highly enough, and would love to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: The road could be a little noisy, but as others have said, when you shut the windows you can't hear much anyway.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2014
Thank you very much for this! It was so lovely to meet you all and we are absolutely delighted you appreciated your stay! Blessings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn522
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, comfortable, beautiful and well-located”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I highly recommend Moonstone Cottage to anyone looking for a super convenient, very comfortable, well-equipped and beautiful place to stay in Glastonbury. Just moments from the Tor and a short walk to the shops and cafes, it's the perfect location. It has a stunning private garden with a view over the Abbey grounds. I spent one whole, delightful day basking in the sun in the garden. The owner, Katarina, really went above and beyond -- despite her having to leave town to attend to a family emergency, she still arranged for our place to be ready, and, knowing it was my birthday during our stay, even arranged for some very thoughtful gifts to be left in cottage for us to enjoy. If you want to experience the magic of Glastonbury and amazing hospitality and comfort, stay at Moonstone Cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort, soft bed sheets, lots of room, well-equipped kitchen and beautiful garden
Liked least: Some noise from the road at night in the front bedroom, but with windows closed it was barely audible
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2014
Thank you so much! What can we say but express our delight at learning you appreciated your stay at Moonstone Cottage. Smiley face and happy days.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NesaSines...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in cottage for weekend with friends, Katarina has thought of everything and nothing is too much trouble. Great location to walk into town and we also walked up the Tor. Great garden to sit in and soak up atmosphere, as it backs onto Abbey gardens.
Great value for the weekend, would recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2014
Thank you for reviewing Moonstone Cottage! We are happy you had a good stay and enjoyed meeting you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ziegfeldg...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A special cottage in a special location”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We thoroughly enjopyed our stay here and for so many reasons.
Firstly all the practicalities. Everything we needed was provided - kitchen equipment, entertainment saystems for audio and visual, wi-fi that worked ,a wonderful library of books, especially those relating to Glastonbury, great selection of dvds which was also augmented by Katarina after we mentioned some we were interested in, log burnber, car parking, delightful garden. I could go on .
Katarina was a wonderfully warm and efficient host. Each time I emailed I had a reply virtually by return. She was helpful with her instructions and suggestions and a pleasure to deal with and to meet. I loved that she had left freshly cut flowers in both the sitting room and out on the garden table plus wine and chocolates.
The cottage goes beyond just being practical though - it's been furnished and decorated as though a real home with bags of atmosphere and soul. It felt very comfortable and comforting to stay there and it has such a nurturing energy.
And then there is the location in sight of the Tor and looking out over the the Abbey park and grounds from the bottom of the garden. Luckily we were blessed with glorious spring weather during our stay so were able to sit and relax out there.
It was a delightful treat to stay here. I'd read all the other positive reviews before booking and was expecting Moonstone to be good but I can honestly say it exceeded my expectations.
I would very happily recomment this cottage to others and hope that it won't be too long before we stay again.
Thanks to Katarina for making Moonstone so special and available for people like us to stay in .
Kim and Ryan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to pick just one thing but would say the very special location.
Liked least: Probably the stairs - but it is an old cottage and steep stairs come with the territory !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2014
What a lovely review you have written. Thank you! It is very helpful that you have specified what you appreciated exactly. This is beneficial for potential guests as reviews don't always give many details - more the general feel of the cottage. It was lovely to meet you and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing