We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm inviting comfortable cosy peaceful cottage...”
other travellers have booked this property
Moonstone Cottage by candlelight
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moonstone Cottage by candlelight
Moonstone is part of an old terrace of cottages built in 1790 A single parking space by the front door.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
Moonstone Cottage by candlelight
Moonstone is part of an old terrace of cottages built in 1790
A single parking space by the front door.
Welcome!
Welcome! Nourish your soul with candles, wood burner, films, books, music, games for the children...
The TV & dvd player is located under the stairs opposite sofa. Sofabed sleeps 2
The arm chair is newly uphostered (formerly red). Photo Jan 2018.
The stairs lead to the two bedrooms and family bathroom
A single parking space outside the door. Church lectern with maps and leaflets
You will never want to leave!
Cottage kitchen seats 5. View through conservatory to garden. Treats in fruit bowl. Photo Jan 2018
Dishwasher, ceramic hob, fan oven, blender, microwave, coffee maker, percolator and much more.
Chalk board at child's height. Fermented grapes bottle in fruit bowl for adults.
Kitchen patio through conservatory which houses laundry faciilities. Double doors onto patio
Electric shower over bath, hand shower below, views over gardens and Abbey grounds. Photo Jan '18
View from bathroom and small bedroom. January 2018
Edible herbs, log shed on left, first arch leads onto lawn with swing seat, grape vine, roses, shubs
Second arch behind lawn leads to raised patio overlooking Abbey grounds
The swing seat under the grapevine
Nectar of the Gods!
Take it slow, have a lovely rest here!
Raised terrace with extensive views over Abbey grounds. Table now on kitchen patio, see next photo
New furniture for 2016. This was a warm day in January when Abbey ruins are visible
Normally a peaceful and serene space, Glastonbury Abbey comes alive at numerous special events.
Conservatory has washing machine, storage space, backs to kitchen and patio
New double thickness mattresses Jan 2018, salt lamps in each room, toys and children's books.
Stairs monitored by Audrey
Memory foam mattress topper has received much praise.
There are two wardrobes, one with shelves, one with hangers. Tor view
The main bedroom is larger than it looks on the photo!
View of Tor from the Master bedroom, Rural Life Museum across the road.
One cosy winter's day
Magical Christmas at Moonstone.
Glastonbury Tor at sunset
4 minutes walk to the Chalice Well and Tor footpath
Welcome!
The old oaks, Gog and Magog are 2000 years old.
The Dorset coast is just over an hour's drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Glastonbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Claudia F
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm inviting comfortable cosy peaceful cottage in heart of Glastonbury.”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were met with the warm glow of a lit log burner and beautiful candle light, on a dark night after a horrendous journey. Katarina was all smiles and reassuring and lovely to meet. The first impression of the cottage was how perfect and beautiful and clean and warm it was. Thick walls and insulated well, warm colours inside. She greeted us with a special home made drink and treats, made just for us(!) and delicious snacks for my son.
The next morning we were able to relax and then explore the beautiful secluded garden leading onto the Abbey walls and overlooking the expanse there. Again Katarina and her family made us feel very welcome and were 'on tap' if needed for anything. This cottage is a joy to come back to after exploring various parts of Glastonbury or going out shopping and we will definitely be booking again for a longer visit, as soon as we can. My son loved staying there too, the beds were so comfortable and the linen top quality. Thank you so much! :)

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2014
Thank you!! What a great review, we are most obliged. It was lucky for our son to have a playmate with the same interests - perfect match. It will be fantastic to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanne E
1 review
“Beautiful Moonstone Cottage!”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Last summer stay at Moonstone Cottage was our third stay in this beautiful place. It's a perfect place to stay in Glastonbury with small children as we did. Wonderful hosts, Katarina and David providing everything needed to have a great stay. The cottage is clean, well equipped, delightfully decorated and very cosy. The garden is a great place to stay and play or relax, especially with children. Katarina was really helpful providing toys, a small swimming pond and everything needed for keeping the children busy. The location is great, just a few minutes walk from the busy High street, with all the nice cafees and shops. And just a few minutes walk from Chalice Wells and the Tor footpath. Moonstone Cottage has a very special atmosphere, and for us there is no other place to stay when we are visiting Glastonbury.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The details like the arrival gifts and the lovely garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John M
Sliedrecht, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
“Magical”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Not our first time in glastonbury, but our first stay at moonstone cottage.
We had the most wonderfull time and will return for sure next year.
We loved all the lovely details and enjoyed the garden very much. No need to bring a book as there is a wonderfull collection right at hand.
The vieuws over the abbey grounds are peacefull and the cottage is equiped with all the things you you have at home. The owners makes you feel more than welcome...

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley W
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming cottage in great location”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Moonstone cottage is a lovely and special place to be. It is well-equipped and has a calm atmosphere. The garden is attractive and overlooks the Abbey park. The cottage is in walking distance of the Tor, the Chalice Well gardens, Wearyall Hill and the town centre with its many shops and cafes. The cottage has much interesting information on local walks (try the walk to the ancient oak trees Gog and Magog along Paradise Lane) and also further afield.

Katarina and David were never intrusive but hospitable and there when needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: There's much to like. We liked just being there, being able to leave the car and walk to the town centre and sites, the garden, the homely feel.
Liked least: The cottage is just so nice and we loved everything about it. Glastonbury roads were busier than previously experienced but no doubt due to the build up to the renowned music festival.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abz94
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Moonstruck at Moonstone”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I went for a spiritual recharge and writing holiday and Moonstone cottage was the perfect venue. It feels very cozy and comfortable. It is clean and has every sort of amenity that you might look for. Perfect size for solo, a couple or a couple with children. It also has a nice library of books and dvds for adults, children and spiritualists. Everything is well documented in terms of how things work.

Probably the most magical part of the cottage is the back garden and raised terrace overlooking Glastonbury Abbey--a wonderful setting for reading, having a glass of wine, watching the moon or gazing at the Abbey grounds. At night, the garden has lights with timers. In the dark, the garden becomes a mystical wonderland for great conversations and silent contemplation.

Katarina and her husband are gracious hosts, always available next door, and full of tips on how to enjoy Glastonbury. She also makes a fantastic Finnish version of apple crumb cake.

As magical as Moonstone cottage is, it doesn't have the power to change the English countryside weather which started off a little dreary but ended on a high note. Short of weather control, I can't think of a thing that I would change about the cottage and the experience. Hope to return soon.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2014
Your review is most gratefully received, thank you. We are in suspense about reading your finished book....best seller in the making, we believe! As for the weather button, we are working on it... We hope to have the chance to welcome you at Moonstone again. Blessings for every aspect of the journey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous place to stay”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

What can I say but to echo others' reviews. It is a lovely, peaceful, clean place to stay. The garden is just divine, and the cottage quirky, quiet and interesting. Katarina is really lovely and attentive without being intrusive, and we appreciated knowing that she was just next door if we wanted anything, and indeed a couple of times she managed to help us out very promptly when we needed it. I can't recommend this place highly enough, and would love to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: The road could be a little noisy, but as others have said, when you shut the windows you can't hear much anyway.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2014
Thank you very much for this! It was so lovely to meet you all and we are absolutely delighted you appreciated your stay! Blessings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing