We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
102
17
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
17
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family suite choice of cooked items walking distance no hesitation in recommending feel very welcome a lovely stay city centre beautiful city stayed one night warm welcome comfy bed two nights yogurt julie hostess curtains glastonbury
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 128 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband and I stumbled across this gorgeous guest house purely by chance on our way up North to visit family. We had stopped off at a couple of other guest houses nearby to see what they had to offer but they didn't come anywhere close to the standard that we found at Glengarth. Julie the owner made us feel so welcome and the rooms were spotless. Decor is to die for and it is pretty obvious that Julie has put her heart and soul into this place. The breakfast was plentiful with all sorts to chose from - spoilt for choice - I did like the unusual and different flavours of home made jams - very tasty. Expect to see us again very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A group of us booked the Glengarth for my husbands birthday last weekend. First impression, was of a beautiful old style Georgian house, that once inside was very tasefully decorated and immaculately clean, Im talking not a speck of dust could i find!
Julie, the host was really friendly and accomodating. My husband forgot his razor, but Julie went and got her own husbands shaving foam to lend him. Very flexible, friendly and warm. We didnt feel molly coddled and were free to roam as we pleased. The location is about a 10 minute walk into Wells town, not far at all. The breakfast was delicious! Overall, a fantastic little b&b - we all said we would definately stay again, thanks Julie and family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shell1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, am so pleased you enjoyed your weekend in wells.hope all your group got home safely, and that one day you may visit again.... Another birthday treat perhaps! Cheers julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2012

First Time At this Lovely B&B,Julie the owner was very welcoming,and gave us some good directions and info about the local attractions,the room was very clean,the breakfasts were
exellent,within easy walking distance to Wells,which was really great, so much to see and Do,
We had a realy nice stay here and would definatly recomend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thank you for your great review of Glengarth, I am very pleased you enjoyed your time here. It makes such a difference to me to know that it has been a pleasant experience for my guests! So, thanks again. Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I were recommended this guest house by some family friends and it didn't disappoint.... The owner Julie was very welcoming and friendly and gave some excellent ideas for local places to visit and local pubs / restaurants to try, it was also nice to have small touches such as DVD's, magazines and yummy chocolate orange cookies in the room, we stayed in Room 4 at the top of the house and it was peaceful with a lovely view over the countryside, plus the bed was super comfortable. There was a great selection for breakfast too and nothing was too much trouble, the host was even happy to accommodate us having a slightly later breakfast than normal which we really appreciated. We had a really fantastic break away from London and will definitely be back for another visit in the near future :-)

Room Tip: Room 4 has a comfortable bed and is very quiet with lovely views..........
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your review, it is really lovley to get positive feedback, hope you had a safe journey back to London, and enjoy your little holiday to st.ives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed here early 2011 as a couple retuned this time with the family. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Wells. Warm, exceptionally clean and so close to the beautiful city of Wells. Julie's bubbly and makes you so welcome. Nothings to much trouble, even when one of the children were ill!
Thanks for a great stay. Can't wait to return later in the year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prickles_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Thanks for the review, really appreciate your comments, hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews