We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and welcoming”
Review of Glengarth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glengarth House
Ranked #12 of 24 Wells B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Meeting up with a friend for a girlie break in Wells we chose the Glengarth partly due to the reviews we read on TripAdvisor.....and we were not disappointed. The owner knows her stuff when it comes to running a B and B. Great welcome, room ready, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Although on a main road we stayed at the front of the property, but had an excellent nights sleep due to modern double glazing.
Breakfast was very good, Julie knows how to cook scrambled eggs (and I am very fussy about my scrambled eggs, according to my husband).
The property is just on the outskirts of the city centre and only a short walk to the marvellous cathedral and sights and good cafes, pubs and restaurants. Parking on site is a huge bonus as when staying in any town/city.
My chum and I only had from mid morning Tuesday to Wednesday afternoon but the accommodation made it feel like a good holiday.
Will definitely stay at Glengarth again and would be happy to commend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BZR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2015

I have just stayed for four nights at this lovely B&B in beautiful Wells. I highly recommend it to you.

Firstly, the location is perfect, being just an easy ten minute walk from the town centre. Secondly it is spotlessly clean and well furnished. It is easy to see the owner, Julie, has put a lot of love and attention into the place.

My room was at the back of the building and was peacefully quiet. The bed was really comfortable and I slept well! There was a hospitality tray with some of the nicest tasting UHT milk I have ever tried, a hairdrier, TV with freeview and free Wifi.

I didn't have breakfast any morning, so can't comment on that. Maybe it's an excuse to come back ...

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mikkaau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Very relaxed atmosphere. The room (guess it was family room) had all we needed - shower worked very well. Recently renovated bathroom. Lovely host, very good breakfast. Short walk to the centre of Wells. Extremely good value!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank finnscouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Thank you so much. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We stayed in family room which was colourfully decorated and was very clean. Beds very comfortable. Plenty of choice for breakfast including a very tasty cooked breakfast. Staff were nice and friendly and helpful. We were just 10 minutes walk from the city centre and a 2 minute walk from Lidl and Morrisons. Well situated to explore Somerset.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darryl_mcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Best wishes julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

We spent a week at this B&B and we found it very clean and welcoming. The decor and furnishings were superb which gave the homely feeling. Breakfast each morning was excellent, thanks Chris! The only problem we had was there was no access to wifi - we did ask and were told there was a problem with it but overall it was a very pleasant stay and we would consider staying at Glengarth again if the occasion arose

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015

Very clean, quite well positioned , excellent breakfast and more than helpful proprietor.
The walls are a bit thin so you can hear creeks from other rooms , but having said this it is still good value.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015

We had a short break over May Day Bank Holiday, staying at this B&B. Nothing was too much trouble for Julie - a comfortable, clean and convenient place to stay while exploring Wells and Glastonbury. Room was warm and had a very comfy bed.
It was sheer chance that brought us to Glengarth House but we would strongly recommend staying there!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Thank you for your kind review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
1.1 km away
The White Hart Hotel
2.9 km away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,096 reviews
1 km away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 24 in Wells
357 reviews
2.1 km away
The White House
The White House
#1 of 1 in Dulcote
45 reviews
0.2 km away
No. 23 Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengarth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarth House

Address: 7 Glastonbury Road, Wells BA5 1TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: C$148 - C$184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Glengarth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing