We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family visit”
Review of Glengarth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glengarth House
Ranked #20 of 37 Wells B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 September 2016

we stopped for one night our son & daughter in law in the family room on 17 th sept room"s all very clean our room no 5 was very nice but very cold that night the only thing that let the place down was the breakfast not what I would call full English!!!!! we all had 1 slice bacon 1 cheap sausage egg and tomato .but my wife just had juice!!!! no tomato as a 4 star AA place I would only give it 1 star for breakfast very disappointed

Room Tip: if you want a good breakfast try premier inn !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank phil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Thank you very much for your feedback.We were very happy that you found room 5 nice and clean, however, we are of course concerned that you felt cold in the room during your stay.

There are extra blankets in the drawer next to the beds, and an additional heater in each room if required.

I am sorry to hear that you also found breakfast was not up to your standard,we always endeavour to make sure this is satisfactory and we are always as accommodating as possible,and had I been made aware at the time this would of been rectified immediately . Best wishes julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We stopped over for one night and enjoyed our stay in the family suite. Our rooms were clean and modern and the Glengarth is just a short stroll from the centre of Wells (10 mins). Julie was friendly and helpful and there was a good choice for breakfast.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank reviewbypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Hello , thanks for taking the time to do a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and your visit to wells.julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

My wife and I had occasion to revisit Wells last week and took the opportunity to again stay at Glengarth B&B, having experienced Julie's kind hospitality some time ago.

Once again, the welcome was both kind and helpful, with nothing being too much trouble and we were indeed lucky to be accommodated, given the popularity of Glengarth with the returning travellers.

Two days of comfort with super breakfasts, what more could we wish for, when away from home, if you are going to visit Wells, do try Glengarth, you will not be disappointed.

Keep up the good work Julie, as a certain General McArthur once said," We shall return".

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Thanks so much for your fantastic review, it was my pleasure to look after you, and I'm very pleased you had a fantastic anniversary weekend.❤️
Kind regards Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

A family of 4, we were very comfortable in the very nice family suite. Beautifully decorated and clean. Julie was a fantastic host and made the best bacon and egg sandwich! A lovely start to the day.

We had a nice evening in Wells, which is within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndyWatsonSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Thanks for your lovely review, I really appreciate your comments, it was great to meet you all, hope all went well at millfield.
Best wishes julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Family room for 2 of us (3 single beds). Ensuite shower and toilet. Lovely Kath Kidston bedlinen and curtains. Off road parking, own key, TV, internet and fabulous choice at breakfast with lively conversation with the hostess...

Room Tip: The pictures are on the internet. We chose from that and weren't disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneIp14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Thanks for your review , it was my pleasure to look after you and make your stay a memorable one. Glad you enjoyed your breakfast!
Best wishes Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016

We found a warm and helpfull welcome with an ensuite-room for 3 and -to the special delight of our daughter!- a stylish design with lots of roses, good tea&cookies and even a dvd-player...maximum delight: the English breakfast in the morning in front of the fireside with freshly prepared excellent poshed eggs on toast -> that was a wonderful start in the morning of quite rough days in February! And: We even got help with the online-booking for Stonehenge. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ulmi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Sorry for the late reply, but I will always remember you loved your poached eggs lots of love, come back soon. X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Meeting up with a friend for a girlie break in Wells we chose the Glengarth partly due to the reviews we read on TripAdvisor.....and we were not disappointed. The owner knows her stuff when it comes to running a B and B. Great welcome, room ready, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Although on a main road we stayed at the front of the property, but had an excellent nights sleep due to modern double glazing.
Breakfast was very good, Julie knows how to cook scrambled eggs (and I am very fussy about my scrambled eggs, according to my husband).
The property is just on the outskirts of the city centre and only a short walk to the marvellous cathedral and sights and good cafes, pubs and restaurants. Parking on site is a huge bonus as when staying in any town/city.
My chum and I only had from mid morning Tuesday to Wednesday afternoon but the accommodation made it feel like a good holiday.
Will definitely stay at Glengarth again and would be happy to commend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BZR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebwells, Owner at Glengarth House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
1 km away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
1.1 km away
The White Hart Hotel
1.1 km away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The White House
The White House
#1 of 1 in Dulcote
45 reviews
0.4 km away
The Sherston Inn
The Sherston Inn
#35 of 37 in Wells
149 reviews
2.6 km away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#2 of 37 in Wells
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengarth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarth House

Address: 7 Glastonbury Road, Wells BA5 1TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Wells
Price Range: $139 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Glengarth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing