We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect little hideaway, a stones throw to the...”

Review of IN-B-TWEEN COTTAGE

View from the  middle floor accommodation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the  middle floor accommodation
Bedroom with view of the Cathedral Kitchen/diner - middle floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
View from the  middle floor accommodation
Bedroom with view of the Cathedral
Kitchen/diner - middle floor
The cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wells, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
The3Deans
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect little hideaway, a stones throw to the beautiful city with stunning views”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from a short break and we couldn't have enjoyed our stay more.

The house was fully equipped with everything you could need. Clean and tidy throughout; it's obvious the cottage has been updated yet it still holds it's charm.

The double bed was comfy and the views from the master bedroom across at the Cathedral and Glastonbury Tor in a morning was truly stunning. This could also be enjoyed on an evening from the main living/kitchen area.

The service from Linda was very prompt and I believe she truly cared that we enjoyed our stay, she was very helpful at allowing us to have our 22 month old daughter with us who also enjoyed the cottage and slept very peacefully in a travel cot we took and put up in the master bedroom.

We will be visiting again and would certainly recommend to friends and family.

Thank you Linda for a great stay.
Amy, Andrew and Elizabeth

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views ad location
Liked least: Doors would benefit from a latch on the inside to improve security when in the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. I am so glad that you had such an enjoyable visit.You were perfect guests and I shall be only too happy to have you stay in the cottage at any time in the future.
Kind regards,
Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam B
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Although In-B-Tween Cottage looks impossibly tiny from the outside, the light and airy interior with windows to front and back never seemed restricted. It is within easy walking distance from the Cathedral and town centre, and there is a small supermarket within a few hundred yards, open until 10.00pm even on a Sunday. The rooms are immaculately clean and wel-equipped, the king-size bed huge and comfortable, and the en-suite shower impressively powerful. Linda the owner was kind and helpful, we arrived after a long journey to find the cupboard already stocked with tea and real ground coffee, and a jug of fresh milk in the fridge. A delightful little place, just like Wells itself!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nearness to the historic centre
Liked least: The lack of Wi-fi
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind and detailed review. It was a pleasure to have you stay in the cottage, and I was delighted to have the opportunity to meet you. I look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendour...
2 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We loved staying at the cottage. It was really comfortable with great views. Linda was a great host. We love Wells. Can't wait to go back. Will most definitely stay at Linda's cottage if we visit Wells again.

Mark, Hong, luc & Jon from Australia

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. You were perfect guests and I should be delighted for you to stay in the cottage again at some future date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gbgirl194...
Great Bardfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely visit to Wells”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted to stay in Wells for a few days to help celebrate a friend's birthday. Couldn't have chosen a better place, quiet, comfortable and spotless, with fantastic views from the bedroom window. Great location, just a short walk from the cathedral and town centre. Wells is definitely now one of our favourite towns, we will be back to see more.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm so glad that you really enjoyed your stay, and that you want to revisit Wells. I do hope that we can welcome you to the cottage again, and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for looking after the cottage so well. It is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilliamBy...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A tiny jewel”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

With only three rooms, one on each floor, a tiny outside space and a small and slightly awkward parking space, In-b-tween Cottage certainly can be described as tiny. It is however so delightfully arranged and fitted that we never felt squashed, and with splendid views of the Cathedral from the upper floors (and even of Glastonbury Tor from the top floor) there is no risk of claustrophobia. It is well located for the town centre, and alternatively a brief walk takes one into open countryside. The only downside is a surprising amount of traffic noise but overall this is of little consequence.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and upper rooms
Liked least: Traffic noise and the ground floor room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, and for your appreciative words in our guestbook.
I am so sorry you experienced traffic noise - it is something that I have not been aware of, and which has not been brought to my attention before, so I am wondering whether there was some event bringing in extra traffic to Wells, or whether it is a possible problem during some climatic conditions. I am very glad that it did not adversely affect your enjoyment of your stay, and do hope you will come again. Thank you for looking after the cottage so well during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Reviewed October 8, 2012 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Oct 2012
Dear Carol,
Thank you so much for your kind and comprehensive review. We have always found you to be very welcome guests, and hope that you will visit the cottage again soon.
We'll be giving further thought as to how we can improve the lighting in the ground floor room for daytime use.
Kind regards,
Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joan A
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely, well equipped cottage in the centre of Wells but a quiet and tranquil setting.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We have just spent a week in this delightful cottage and would have no hesitation in returning again. It was spotless, warm, comfortable, light and airy and very well equipped. The centre of Wells was a few minutes walk away and there is a wonderful view of the Cathedral from the windows. A parking space opposite the cottage was an added bonus. Despite being so close to the centre it was in a quiet and peaceful setting. Although there is no garden there is a lovely view of other people's gardens from the first floor windows. The bed is very comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property
Liked least: no instructions for the washing machine
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. You were very welcome guests and I do hope we shall have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing