We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Booked 2 x twin rooms In June for stay in August, quoted £98.70 at the time but this turned out to be an estimate! Charged £119.70 and then 6 days before the trip charged a further £148.45 for additional room I had booked, phoned to query this and said this was not mine and money was refunded. Two days before I was contacted by phone to confirm I had 3 rooms booked - no I only need 2 x twins!
On arrival late at night we were given 2 x doubles!! OK very large beds but not what we had booked and really don't understand the estimate quote and why we were deducted more money for another random booking - just as well I check bank statement daily.
Otherwise hotel was ok, comfortable, clean and reasonable breakfast.

Room Tip: Back, front rooms noisy with window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank taylorhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LichfieldHIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Taylorhogg.

Thank you for leaving a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield.

I am genuinely sorry to learn about any confusion that you have experienced in respect of your reservation particularly regarding rates, this should always be clear from the point of reservation and should have no reason to vary.

I have sent you a private message in respect of your booking so that I can review your reservation details and ensure that you have paid correctly.

Kind Regards

Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

First time we have booked a holiday inn express, myself and my friends were very impressed, hotel was lovely and clean, room was great and fitted 3 of us brilliantly, beds were really comfy, loved that wifi was free and breakfast included in the price, breakfast was a self serve option and there was plenty on offer, good location plenty of parking and a frankie & Bennys, Costa and McDonalds all next door to hotel. Staff were very friendly and polite. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Wilkotrougher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Highest praise. Comfortable clean room. Reception staff exemplary and went the extra mile for us several times. Nothing too much trouble. Continental bfast we paid for turned out to be a full english bfast. The xpelair fan in the room was of high quality. Soft drinks (cold) and ice available freely at front door. The parking was good and everything comfortable and clean. This has won us back to using Holiday Inn Express after one bad experience at another of their hotels (one near Ipswich) where the member of staff we dealt with had a superior and supercilious attitude.

Room Tip: I doubt you could go wrong with any of the rooms at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rob_barnett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Last stayed here about 3 years ago. The site surrounding the hotel has been developed and now includes a Mcdonalds, Frankie ans Bennys and a very large and busy David Lloyd fitness centre. The hotel itself was very clean and the staff very polite and attentive. The room was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a 'eat as much as you want' buffet with a very good choice. Check in and out was easy and there is also free parking and wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

A lovely comfortable bed and excellent breakfast which was included in the room rate. Easy access to A38. Nearby there is a MacDonalds and a Frankie and Bennys. Pizzas were the only thing on offer on Sunday evening in the hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sugartot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel is clean, the rooms a good size and the staff are friendly enough, but the hotel lacks atmosphere and the breakfast is very limited.

There's plenty of parking, but dinner & beer options are very limited in the hotel and unless you're driving or getting a cab you will find yourself without many choices.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank wellersky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hello wellersky,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. I am happy that you found our hotel clean and staff accommodating. However, I regret that the breakfast selection and lack of items in the restaurant affected your overall satisfaction. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

Again, thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights due to visiting Drayton Manor nearby and this area being half way on our longer journey up to North Wales. We are a family of 4, made of 2 adults, 4 year old and 8 month old baby. Sometimes I find hotels of this nature not necessarily family friendly however this hotel was fantastic. Very family friendly and accommodating. We were made to feel really welcome and staff were really helpful in making our stay the most comfortable and stress free. The room was spotlessly clean, had all we required. We were able to get peaceful nights sleep. Breakfast provided was good standard. Snack machine was available and provided good choice and guests could help themselves to the coffee and tea facilities in the lobby. It's a bright and spacious hotel with coffee shop next door and family friendly restaurant very near as well as fast food outlet. Would definitely stay here again if in the area and would recommend to anyone else.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank clairemc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lichfield
3.5 km away
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
3.9 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
405 reviews
4.6 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
8.6 km away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
9.4 km away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lichfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lichfield

Address: Birmingham Road | Shenstone, Lichfield WS14 0QP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lichfield
Price Range: $57 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Lichfield 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield is ideal for both business and leisure guests. Guests can enjoy free WiFi, free parking and breakfast is included. Rooms have en suite shower rooms, a flat screen TV and a modern design (renovated 2016). The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel lies within the West Midlands within easy reach of the M6 Toll, M42, A5 and the A38. The National Exhibition Centre and Birmingham Airport are within 30 minutes by car. The hotel is ideal for those wishing to attend the attractions nearby such as Drayton Manor Theme Park, Lichfield Cathedral, National Memorial Arboretum, Wall Roman Site and Alton Towers. The Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel also makes an ideal base if you are visiting local businesses such as Nextiraone, Pink Homeloans, Faurecia or Tesco. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Lichfield hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lichfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield Hotel Lichfield
Holiday Inn Lichfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing