We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
48
57
33
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
57
33
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub full english would recommend booking pleasant beer garden continental breakfast bed settee toast varied choice enjoyable stay yogurt excellent value for money samuel johnson night stay lovely grounds shower gel the room was nice city centre
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 153 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

This pub/hotel is a good place to stay but worth bearing in mind some negatives if these points are important to you.
Firstly the positive points;
There is more than enough parking and the pub is slightly out of city centre so you haven't got the busy weekend noise. The rooms are large and very clean with extremely comfy bed and well equipped bathroom.
We had a lovely welcome when we checked in even though we were 1hr early.
The negatives;
We stayed Saturday through until Wednesday and while the breakfast on the first morning was plentiful and with kind staff each morning after got less and less. Our room rate came with continental breakfast included. Fine. But we ended up with instant coffee sachets when we started with lovely filter coffee. They ran out of orange juice one morning, only offered 2 croissants on 2 mornings when there were 4 of us. On the last morning no croissants and offered cereal bars instead. They should either offer a breakfast and have the same standard every morning or you pay for it. The breakfast staff during the week were unfriendly whereas the lady at the weekend was helpful and chatty.

We had a room out the back and my in laws had a room out the front. Unfortunately during the week day mornings the deliveries arrived around the back about 7am. These are very noisy. This didn't bother us too much as we were up early but if noise is an issue then a room out the front would be better.
We would stay again but would ask for a room out the front and would hope the breakfast supplied was consistent each morning.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lotsstill2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

Great place to break our journey.
A warm welcome from Amanda who checked us in and showed us to our room, which was as good as many five star hotels we have stayed in.
The service was good and the staff really friendly. Dan the manager and his staff looked after our every need.
We ate late but the food was really good with a varied choice.
Although this was a Vintage Inn the restaurant was very cosy and not overly crowded.
The garden was well kept with plenty of seating and room for the grandchildren to run around, without worrying other guests.
All in all a lovely spot to stay.
Amanda deserves a special mention.... because she asked for itseriously though great value for money

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KeithandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2018

a very nice place to stay ... large clean room ... friendly and helpful staff ... great beer ... beautiful property ... a historical building with amenities fully modernized ... lots of parkinf if you drine to get there (we used the train per Lichfield train station) ...

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2018

I was expecting the usual chain pub with the rooms in a faceless annexe, so was pleasantly surprised by the old large Victorian building and the rooms were on the first floor. Check in was a bit slow at the bar but we were showed personally to the room. This had been tastefully modernised , whilst still retaining the some Victorian character. Same for the bathroom with a very good shower ( the open wardrobe looked out of place though , made it look like it was the bargain rail at TK Maxx ) In the public area it was also modernised but in a better way than is often the case . Beer and food were quite good .
main gripe was the price was a bit steep for this type of accomodation , especially considering the very sparse breakfast offering . Only bread;croissants; cereal etc
Also was woken at 06.00 by deliveries and then at 07.00 by them mowing the lawn.
Plus you have to pay for the room when you book in and then pay for drinks/meals seperately which is a pain.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albermarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. I'm sorry to here that you were woken up by these disturbances and I have spoken to our trade team distribution centre and they have assured me that they will not be delivering at that time again. I have also had conversation with our gardeners about the time they start mowing the lawns. I do hope that this hasn't put you off visiting us again.
Kind regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night for a night out in Lichfield, the lodge is about a mile out of town. Very friendly welcome when we arrived & we were personally shown to our room. Stayed in room 3 the Erasmus Darwin, room was beautifully decorated, furniture was very modern, have seen other reviews about the storage but this wasn’t an issue for us. Bed was really comfortable and bathroom was spotless. Toiletries provided in bathroom which leads me to my only extremely minor gripe as shampoo & conditioner provided & a bar of soap but no shower gel so make sure you take your own. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jdandcokeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark P, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

Jdandcokeuk, we're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us. Our team strives to deliver an excellent experience, and are glad you found this to be the case during your visit. If you have further needs or questions, please reach out!
Kind regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews