We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular customer”
Review of Miso

Miso
Ranked #30 of 596 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed June 15, 2018 via mobile

I’ve been to Miso a fair few times now and often recommend it to others. The decor inside is nice, although the tables look a little tired, but the food is what keeps me going back. I’ve only ever tried the veggie options (my other half is vegan and they cater for him too). The pumpkin korroke are great, along with the edamame for starters, and my favourite main is the tofu katsu curry. Don’t expect fast food, this is the ideal place to visit with friends as it is laid back, with good service that does not make you feel rushed in the slightest. We’ve never had to book as it is easy enough to get a table.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank SSS1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 207 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2018

This place is "OK" at best considering its the only Japanese restaurant around, and is definitely not a notch on authentic Japanese food.

Gyoza arent pan fried as you would expect them to be (this is how they are automatically served in Japan or indeed in most Japanese restaurants worldwide), but instead are rather lazily deep fried ("age" gyoza) like you find in Chinese restaurants.

They add these deep fried gyoza into ramen, which is counterintuitive - why put something made to be crispy into a broth to just get soggy and weird? You would expect then to boil or pan fry the ramen like every other Japanese restaurant in the world does. Maybe they are accommodating for the tastes of people in Stoke?

The ramen broth lacks the umami punch that you usually get from the broth and tastes more like cheap pre-mix. Alarm bells should have rung the authenticity when the menu didn't state the type of broth the ramen used (e.g Shio/Tonkotsu/Miso/Shoyu etc).

None of the food is overly impressive, but it's edible. If this is your first experience of Japanese food then you will probably enjoy it as you won't have anything to compare to.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Danni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2018

Went for a meal here with my family had a really great time as we ordered three courses and one bottle of house red wine. All of the meals were very nice and pleasant to eat and the customer service I couldn't fault it. Had a really great time and would recommend it to my friends. My only complaint is that it's at the far end of Stoke and there is no where decent to park you're car.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Sean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2018

I loved in Japan for ten years and the quality and variety of the Japanese lunchtime and evening menu here is Excellent. Its a small family run local business, the lunchtime Bento box for £6 is true healthy value for money. Most Japanese restaurants in big cities Birmingham, Liverpool , Manchester cater for higher end wallets and tastes, Miso gives every restaurant in Stoke a run for its money. Great for parties, I had my Hen Do here and the owner Amy and her Masterchef son do an excellent job, my recommendation is the Nigiri two piece sushi, and Katsu curry, Tofu Agedashi deepfried, Gyoza dumplings, Donburi on bowl of rice. Each Bento box comes with fresh vegetables, pickles, salad.
Lunchtime sushi boxes are really handy. They also stock a wide range of Ume shyu plum liquers, sake, Japanese cold and hot green teas, whiskeys and calpis, Ramune.
Please give Miso a try its a hidden gem in Stoke on Trent and Newcastle under Lyme. Within ten minutes walk of Stoke station opposite Sainsburys. 5 star thumbs up! Totemo Oishii!

Date of visit: April 2018
3  Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2018

I visited Miso's earlier this month with my brother and two mutual friends. I had been before and was prepared on what to expect.

Don't expect a large and bodacious menu when visiting Miso's, they do a relatively small selection but they do everything pretty well and it is always enjoyable.

If you have never tried Japanese food before, I thoroughly recommend that you try one of the Bento boxes on offer for a little piece of everything.

Overall I would gladly come along again, the food isn't mind-blowing but it is definitely good and considering Japanese restaurants are few and far between in Stoke-On-Trent, this one definitely takes my pick as being the best.

4/5.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Conor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miso also viewed

Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent
Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent
 

Been to Miso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing