We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a meal”
Review of The Duke Of York

The Duke Of York
Ranked #14 of 594 Restaurants in Stoke-on-Trent
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

Had chicken liver pâté which was lovely, then fillet steak with Diane sauce, my husband had the same apart from peppercorn sauce. Homemade chips lovely, steak cooked perfectly not a compliment but wee bit to much sauce for me. No way could either of us have a pudding, but we did have a French coffee made lovely. Waiters very polite and helpful. Will be going back

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank Kath150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 283 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2017

Our go to pub for lunch. Always consistent and never disappoints. Superb friendly, efficient staff and great range of drinks. Try the prawn cocktail, chicken goujons or Hunter's chicken sandwich for a super lunch.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank SJL1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2017 via mobile

Reserved table waiting for us.
Half full restaurant on Friday night.
We both had steaks - cooked to perfection. Probably too much sauce on the steak - very rich.
Chips are famous - very tasty.
Good portion size and sides for the price.
Tables a bit sticky to the touch is only gripe.
Will be coming back. Thanks to Harrison for good service.

Date of visit: June 2017
2  Thank crommers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I went for a pub lunch and the food was excellent. The ambience was good, everywhere was clean and the young lady who doubled as the bar staff and waitress was friendly and welcoming .

The steaks on the evening menu sound absolutely stunning.

This is a classic traditional country pub and is highly recommended.

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank Bunterjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2017

After reading such positive reviews I was looking forward to my​ my meal and boy what a let down asked for steak medium rare and received​ it medium well so it was hard to tell the quality of the cut.i also asked if any veg was available but told only on a Sunday is this some kind of religious belief only found in Stoke frozen peas should only be found in the cheapest of restaurants if this is the best barlaston as to offer god help the locals

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Duke Of York also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Duke Of York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing