We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful break by the sea!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Brudenell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful break by the sea!”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed with my other half for a mid week break. Hotel very clean & staff friendly. Great cosy seating to enjoy the views of the beach. No complaints at all, although would not have wished to have paid full price for the inland room we booked, deals here are the way forward. Location great. Had we stayed longer we would have eaten at the hotel as it looked great. Instead went to a favourite restaurant The Lighthouse which you must try. Would recommend hotel & would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizziebee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Front Office Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. You must try our restaurant when you are back in Aldeburgh, I look forward to seeing you again next time. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    287
    91
    14
    7
See reviews for
159
639
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
175 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is the only hotel in Suffolk with virtual direct access to the beach. That means the sea view rooms give you exactly that.The deluxe rooms are worth the extra as they are beautifully styled with every need addressed and the warmest bathroom we have ever had. All the rooms are good but avoid room 105 as there is noise from the kitchen fan.The staff are very attentive and helpful. The food is good but do ask for the B&B price, otherwise it is expensive for what you get.Breakfasts are magnificent.As for dinner,starters are very pretty but minuscule which does not give you a fair idea of the more substantial mains to come. I had a grey mullet dish that was totally wrong in colour, flavour and texture but the steaks were good.This is a delightful hotel and I had to think twice before writing this as I wanted to keep it all to myself. I do suggest dining elsewhere in Aldeburgh to ring the changes as the other restaurants in the town are really excellent.

Room Tip: Do ask for a sea view, and if possible, ask to see the room. The staff will be obliging. All the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankafile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Front Office Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
I am sorry to hear of your dissppoint with regards to your meal with us, if you would like to contact Kelly on 01728 452071 to discuss further, I would be more than happy too. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay on the whole, and glad to read you will be returning soon. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We have just returned from a stay at this hotel, having taken advantage of the special mid-week deal which represented excellent value for money. In fact, it was so good that we stayed an extra night!
The standard of decor (modern Scandinavian) was superb throughout due to a recent refurbishment. Unlike some othere reviewers, we thought the service was very good. The food was excellent, but the vegetarian options were very limited and would not last beyond two nights.

The horel is immediately on the beach,within the town and well sited for trips to the RSPB reserve at Minsmere, Dunwich Heath, Snape Maltings and the well maintained Georgian harbour town of Orford - the "Regardless" boat trip (www.orfordrivertrips.co.uk )around Havergate Island is very enjoyable, our highlights were avocets, curlews, spoonbills and harbour seals.

Room Tip: Always go for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Front Office Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Wow, thank you for your feedback. It is much appreciated by the whole team here at the Brudenell. I do hope to see you on your return visit. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Very friendly staff, lovely views from the sea view room we stayed in, the room was a little bit smaller than I expected but very nicely laid out. The choice of wine was outstanding! The food options were limited, I think there were 6 different choices but the meals we had were excellent!! All in all a lovely hotel that I would defiantly return to..

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robhodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Front Office Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable and memorable stay with us. The team do work hard to exceed expectations, Stay in touch, Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington
Level Contributor
242 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The hotel has friendly, attentive staff. Our room was clean, with excellent sea view, bed comfortable but a little hot on arrival. There are specific examples as to where they could do a lot more to justify the charges. For example, we had predinner drinks in the lounge. The service was slow, and no knapkins were supplied for the drinks. There is free wifi in the rooms but they spoil it by providing a wifi that is very intermittent with poor signal strength. Have they thought about Supplying a router for each floor? Breakfast in the restaurant was generally very good but the waitress got our breakfast orders wrong on two occasions. Finally they tainted a really excellent dinner in the restaurant by providing a starter with only two very small scallops that had little taste. The steak was excellently cooked and the dessert and cheese tasty and sufficient. It is such a shame that this 4 star hotel falls below standard. More attention to detail would lift this hotel to the rating that it has been given.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CriticP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We have stayed at this hotekl before and love the sea view from therestaurant. The bedroom was lovely overlooking the Alde and an excellent bathroon. Dinner was very good but the service was poor. Our desserts arrived separately! Breakfast could have been better. The scrambled egg with the smoked salmon was dry.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countrysidefans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at half term in February and booked a room for the two of us and our 12 year old daughter. In order to give us a price that we found acceptable, we were offered a double with a sea view that was described as "a bit tight" with the additional bed. We arrived expecting a slightly down at heel seaside hotel and a pokey room. Fortunately we were proved wrong on both counts. The hotel itself is well refurbished and the room was delightful. All the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful.

But.....first we noticed that the room (206) had a persistent low rumbling noise that seemed to be coming from the wardrobe area. We asked about it and were told that there had been no complaints. Nevertheless it was not just left there and the conclusion was that it probably was coming from the ventilation fans for the kitchen. We were assured that these would be switched off by 10.00 and this was the case so it did not disturb our sleep. What did disturb us was the heat in the room. Despite the window being as wide open as possible and all heating turned off (in February!), it was still uncomfortably hot. When I rang reception to see what could be done, they drew my attention to a fan in the wardrobe which we used to cool the room so we could at least get to sleep. But once turned off it became hot again during the night.

My other niggle was the pillows. I feel the hotel could invest in some higher grade pillows as these were amongst the worst I have encountered.

Overall would I stay again? Almost certainly; the location is fantastic, the hotel is of a very good quality and the staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.8 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,398 reviews
0.9 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
629 reviews
31.9 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
781 reviews
21.6 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
316 reviews
14.3 km away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brudenell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brudenell Hotel

Property: The Brudenell Hotel
Address: The Brudenell The Parade, Aldeburgh IP15 5BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brudenell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic seaside setting, just a pebble's throw from Aldeburgh's shingle beach, the privately-owned Brudenell typifies all of the elements of a luxury four star seaside hotel. Following a complete refurbishment in 2010, it has been awarded 4 AA stars, a merit score of 85%, two rosettes and the coveted Visit Britain Gold Award. Our decadent bedrooms are distinctly decorated, incorporating vibrant colours so often associated with Aldeburgh and Suffolk. Enjoy soporific sea views, as well as beautiful views of the River Alde and the surrounding countryside. We are passionate about providing you with the very best service and a warm Suffolk welcome awaits you the minute you walk through the new doors of this fabulous hotel. So uniquely Aldeburgh. WiFi is available throughout the hotel for the convenience of our guests, the password for which can be obtained from reception. A stay at The Brudenell is perfect for those looking for a luxurious short break in Suffolk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Brudenell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brudenell Hotel Aldeburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing