We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Brudenell Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Wentworth Hotel(Aldeburgh)
US$209
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toll House(Aldeburgh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,113)
Filter reviews
1,113 results
Traveller rating
644
327
110
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
644
327
110
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewseafoodsound of the waveslovely hotelsuffolk breakfastsuperior roomsea frontthird flooroverlooking the beachevening mealnight breakbiscuitsfirst classmain courseshort breaklounge areaattentive staff
Filter
Updating list...
983 - 988 of 1,113 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed at The Brudenell in Jan having booked their Romance package...we really enjoyed our stay! we had a room overlooking the sea (massive comfy bed!!) with champers, choc and fruit on arrival...followed by afternoon tea after a lovely stroll around the town then a great evening meal in the restaurant! oh and breakfast in bed the following morning.
Everything was fab, friendly helpful staff and great food....fully recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0ul0u1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Front Office Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Do come back and see again soon, Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I booked the Brudenell because of its location - right on the sea shore. The beach is shingle and spotlessly clean - not a bit of debris in sight. The weather was sunny and the sea like a mill pond so a good start! We arrived early but our room was ready and we were able to check in. After a wander down the front and back through the High Street we decided the best place for chilled glass of Sauvignon Blanc was The Brudenell - lovely terrace by the sea with the sun shining - perfect! The reception staff are friendly and efficient and a couple of requests we made were met with immediate action. Scott (deputy manager) was extremely obliging and made us feel very welcome. Dinner was exceptional - I asked for the sea bream to be changed to salmon whilst keeping the dish the same and this was met with a 'no problem'. The following day we wanted to do a 10 mile run before breakfast and were a little worried we wouldnt make it back by 10am the time breakfast finished - but Scott said he would ensure that would get our breakfast even if we were not back by this time! Fantastic service!
The decor is lovely throughout the hotel and the rooms really comfortable and well appointed with great bathrooms with a separate shower. We asked for an ice bucket to be sent up to our room - it arrived within 5 minutes complete with two glasses! Nothing was too much trouble was our feeling and this place deserves to be the number 1 hotel in Aldeburgh.
Downsides - well if you are on Vodafone you wont get a signal at all but maybe that could also be an upside!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Front Office Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Wow, thank you for your kind words. There really is no better venue for lunch or dinner in Aldeburgh when you want to dine alfresco. We are lucky enough to be situated in one of the most beautiful locations. Stay in touch. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed in a twin "Aldeburgh" inland facing room for 1 night March 2012 and had a lovely time! I would thoroughly recommend it if you are looking to be 4* spoilt and don't mind the expense..

The wonderful points are: the room was large, the beds sumptuous and realxing and the bathroom also large with funky tiling (I think it was all renovated in 2010). Everything in tip top, spotless condition. Our view was the town rooftops and the River Alde which was fine - we didn't spend much time gazing out of the window!
We paid £20 extra for the dinner option which was 3 courses par excellence! Fabulous scallops, prawns, sea bass etc etc The poussin looked great as well. We weren't hurried and the service was friendly and informal, not pompous at all.
Breakfast was more fabulous sea food - smoked salmon for Mum and haddock and poached eggs for me. The hotel was so lovely we almost spent more time lolling around reading the papers than outside. The location is perfect - you can ignore the car for the whole weekend and just enjoy Aldeburgh and the sea (including the fanous sea shell) on your doorstep.

Bad points? Absolutely none. We were warned about noise from the lift in the twin room but it didn't trouble us. Very little car parking (about 8 cars) but you can park outside the front as well. A slight shame that the twin rooms are all R Alde facing - it would have been nice to have the option of a sea view had we wanted to pay more.
The only restaurent quibble was the wine prices (pretty extortioanate). I paid £24 for 50cl chablis which arrived in a glass carafe and could have been anything - I guess it might have been nice to see it decanted. Next time I'll order a bottle and take the spare back to the room!
And the afternoon cake and cream came without forks or napkins which we had to request. The most minor-est of shrtfalls.
We are definitely planning to go back again - in warmer weather and taking the family!

Room Tip: You can hear the lift in the twin room but unless you are a super-light sleeper, its not a preoblem
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Front Office Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Thank you for your comments, I have shared them with food and beverage manager who has identifed training. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal and your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights the room was great with a sea view staff were friendly (if not a little vague) but the food is something else, the menu was changed slightly each night, poussin was succulent and the vegetarian open lasagne very original already planning a return!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrudenellFOHManager, Front Office Manager at The Brudenell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Great to hear your planning a second visit. I have shared you comments about the food with the Head Chef, thank you! See you soon. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stayed in the Brudenall in March 2012 on business and i must say i was very impressed. I last stayed here about 10 years ago and it was not up to much, but this time a great improvement. The reception staff were very good and went out their way to help.
The rooms were good, very clean and warm. The internet was a little sporadic but contact could be made in certain rooms/places. The restaurant staff were so professional and polite. Food excellent & service great. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank algersewebba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews