We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Lion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Wentworth Hotel(Aldeburgh)
US$200
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satis House Hotel(Yoxford)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa(Woodbridge)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodhall Manor(Woodbridge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,560)
Filter reviews
1,560 results
Traveller rating
863
497
150
38
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
863
497
150
38
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsea frontafternoon teafishold buildingbreakfast was excellentevening meallovely hotelwithout exceptionstayed for one nightcomfortable roomstaff were excellentkippersweekend breakfirst classshingle beachsecond visit
Filter
Updating list...
1,382 - 1,387 of 1,560 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Arrived Friday evening after a long drive, the hotel receptionist was pleasant and we were checked into the hotel and directed to our room (17) on the first floor.

On arrival at the room we noticed that there was an incredible lack of space within the room, especially between the bed and the table, which at its narrowest point was less the 12inchs from either object and had to be navigated to get to and or from the WC.

The pillows were very hard and the matteress was uncomfortable, in outline we did not have a good nights rest.

We did not dine at the hotel in the evening, opting to sample some of the local fare.

Breakfast was average as we were served burnt toast in a rack and also with the main breakfast meal.

In summary, i would not be happy to stay here again and as such feel that the £134.00 fee for the nights stay was in excesses of the hotel and local B&B,s that we have stayed at recently would be better value for money.

Room Tip: Please do not accept room 17. Its to small and is like a box.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I am sorry to hear that the room was not to your liking. As you know the building has benefited from a recent refurbishment, finished in a contemporary and mordern style whilst maintaining many of its much loved features from the past. Next time you book your stay with us, please contact me directly and I will ensure you are allocated a larger room if available. In regards to the breakfast, I am surprised if you were served toast that appeared to be burnt in places, if you had let the duty manager or waiter know they would of replaced the rack of toast with no hesitation. Hope to see you again soon.Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was a return visit to The White Lion after 5 years and was chosen because Aldeburgh is a beautiful place ( bracing east winds so pack warm clothing) with far reaching sea views, interesting galleries and gifty shops as well as the usual co-op, deli and fresh veg shops, an ice cream parlour and excellent tea shops (Cragg Sisters a must). There are loads of fresh fish sheds along the beach and good fish and chip shops for supper. Aldebrugh is ideally located if you require an overnight stay whilst visiting The Maltings in Snape for an arty event. I was pleasantly suprised to find that The White Lion Hotel has had an update and is bright and light, recently recarpeted and decorated. The reception staff were friendly and the twin room, whilst compact (and no sea view), had good storage, clean bath and shower, a firm comfortable bed. There is also WiFi if you ask for the pass word at reception. There was a good choice for breakfast using local produce and I had the scramble and salmon. The only thing I could fault is the bread - there must be someone local making a decent artisan loaf! Parking might be a problem if you arrive when everyone is visiting but you can usually find a slot later in the day when the trippers have gone home. Lovely place, great hotel, cannot wait for a return visit.

Room Tip: If a sea view is important then make sure you ask for one.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank you for your comments. Both Aldeburgh and the White Lion are the place to be for some well deserved R & R. Come back and see us again soon. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We spent two days on the Suffolk coast this week, dodging the showers, and our visit was greatly enhanced by our stay at The White Lion. The hotel has been attractively refurbished and our room was clean, comfortable and had a lovely sea view. The only drawback was the bathroom, where the bath/shower was rather difficult to access. We enjoyed breakfast and two suppers in the restaurant and the food was delicious: the menu offered a good range and there was an excellent wine list. Every member of the hotel's staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Worth paying the little bit extra for a sea view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Wow - thank you for your comments. We are pleased you have discovered this gem on the suffolk coast. We are very lucky to be situated in one of the most beautiful locations on the Coast. Come back and see us again very soon. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed for one night last week. The hotel was completely refurbished in early 2011 and it shows. The rooms and public areas are very clean, smart and well decorated. The bar and restaurant are very smart and tasteful.

The staff were all very friendly & helpful.

I look forward to staying there again. Aldeburgh is beautiful

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea is a must
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hornbydavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Short, Sweet and straight to the point. Thank you! See you again soon. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Six of us (3 couples) stayed at The White Lion this week-end to celebrate a special birthday. From the minute we arrived until the minute we left we were so well looked after and nothing was too much trouble. Our rooms were clean, spacious and we had a great sea view. We had a lovely meal on the Friday night which turned into rather a late night and I think one of the reasons for that was that we relaxed and enjoyed the cosy atmosphere of the hotel. Breakfast was delicious with a lovely choice. We have all said we would like to visit the hotel once a year from now on because we have such great memories.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186338Paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Wow, thank you so much! The White Lion and indeed Aldeburgh is the perfect location for friends to relax and unwind and of course catch up over a drink or two. It was a pleasure to meet you during your stay. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews