We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend break and birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The White Lion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend break and birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was a 2nd visit to the White Lion for my partner and me. As it was a birthday visit we requested a sea view and for a few extra pounds had a much bigger room than previously with a great view. This hotel is a wonderful place for a quiet break. The staff are great, the decor is really tasteful and the breakfasts are really special. I love that unlike a lot of hotels that do the breakfast totally as a buffet, at the White Lion there is an interesting menu and everything is served to you. Makes the whole experience even more relaxing. Lastly, my partner was really touched that the staff took the trouble of puting a birthday card for him in our room! Look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
I am very pleased that we made your birthday celebration memorable. As soon as you arrive at the White Lion we endeavour to ensure our guests are relaxed, we do hope to see you again next year for your birthday if not before. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    440
    129
    33
    11
See reviews for
178
866
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Arrived Friday evening after a long drive, the hotel receptionist was pleasant and we were checked into the hotel and directed to our room (17) on the first floor.

On arrival at the room we noticed that there was an incredible lack of space within the room, especially between the bed and the table, which at its narrowest point was less the 12inchs from either object and had to be navigated to get to and or from the WC.

The pillows were very hard and the matteress was uncomfortable, in outline we did not have a good nights rest.

We did not dine at the hotel in the evening, opting to sample some of the local fare.

Breakfast was average as we were served burnt toast in a rack and also with the main breakfast meal.

In summary, i would not be happy to stay here again and as such feel that the £134.00 fee for the nights stay was in excesses of the hotel and local B&B,s that we have stayed at recently would be better value for money.

Room Tip: Please do not accept room 17. Its to small and is like a box.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I am sorry to hear that the room was not to your liking. As you know the building has benefited from a recent refurbishment, finished in a contemporary and mordern style whilst maintaining many of its much loved features from the past. Next time you book your stay with us, please contact me directly and I will ensure you are allocated a larger room if available. In regards to the breakfast, I am surprised if you were served toast that appeared to be burnt in places, if you had let the duty manager or waiter know they would of replaced the rack of toast with no hesitation. Hope to see you again soon.Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was a return visit to The White Lion after 5 years and was chosen because Aldeburgh is a beautiful place ( bracing east winds so pack warm clothing) with far reaching sea views, interesting galleries and gifty shops as well as the usual co-op, deli and fresh veg shops, an ice cream parlour and excellent tea shops (Cragg Sisters a must). There are loads of fresh fish sheds along the beach and good fish and chip shops for supper. Aldebrugh is ideally located if you require an overnight stay whilst visiting The Maltings in Snape for an arty event. I was pleasantly suprised to find that The White Lion Hotel has had an update and is bright and light, recently recarpeted and decorated. The reception staff were friendly and the twin room, whilst compact (and no sea view), had good storage, clean bath and shower, a firm comfortable bed. There is also WiFi if you ask for the pass word at reception. There was a good choice for breakfast using local produce and I had the scramble and salmon. The only thing I could fault is the bread - there must be someone local making a decent artisan loaf! Parking might be a problem if you arrive when everyone is visiting but you can usually find a slot later in the day when the trippers have gone home. Lovely place, great hotel, cannot wait for a return visit.

Room Tip: If a sea view is important then make sure you ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for your comments. Both Aldeburgh and the White Lion are the place to be for some well deserved R & R. Come back and see us again soon. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We spent two days on the Suffolk coast this week, dodging the showers, and our visit was greatly enhanced by our stay at The White Lion. The hotel has been attractively refurbished and our room was clean, comfortable and had a lovely sea view. The only drawback was the bathroom, where the bath/shower was rather difficult to access. We enjoyed breakfast and two suppers in the restaurant and the food was delicious: the menu offered a good range and there was an excellent wine list. Every member of the hotel's staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Worth paying the little bit extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Wow - thank you for your comments. We are pleased you have discovered this gem on the suffolk coast. We are very lucky to be situated in one of the most beautiful locations on the Coast. Come back and see us again very soon. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed for one night last week. The hotel was completely refurbished in early 2011 and it shows. The rooms and public areas are very clean, smart and well decorated. The bar and restaurant are very smart and tasteful.

The staff were all very friendly & helpful.

I look forward to staying there again. Aldeburgh is beautiful

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hornbydavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Short, Sweet and straight to the point. Thank you! See you again soon. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Six of us (3 couples) stayed at The White Lion this week-end to celebrate a special birthday. From the minute we arrived until the minute we left we were so well looked after and nothing was too much trouble. Our rooms were clean, spacious and we had a great sea view. We had a lovely meal on the Friday night which turned into rather a late night and I think one of the reasons for that was that we relaxed and enjoyed the cosy atmosphere of the hotel. Breakfast was delicious with a lovely choice. We have all said we would like to visit the hotel once a year from now on because we have such great memories.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186338Paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Wow, thank you so much! The White Lion and indeed Aldeburgh is the perfect location for friends to relax and unwind and of course catch up over a drink or two. It was a pleasure to meet you during your stay. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

Two night weekend whilst bird watching at Minsmere. Staff very friendly, breakfasts good. I decided to eat dinner elsewhere, but the brasserie looked good and was busy both nights.
I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank CKN-Harrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
I am pleased that you enjoyed time with us and your breakfast with us too. The Brasserie for lunch and dinner is very popular for locals aswell as our residents. The room prices do move up and down with demand and of course the type of room. The website is the best place to find our latest offers and packages, so ensure you are on our mailing list. stay in toucn and see you again soon. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.8 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.1 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
20.7 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 km away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
2.9 km away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
32.3 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Property: The White Lion Hotel
Address: Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aldeburgh
Aldeburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing