We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice place but no food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Lion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place but no food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We recently went for a meal in the hotel restaurant whilst staying at the Brudenell (their sister hotel in Aldeburgh). The restaurant had a pleasant atmosphere and the staff were very friendly. We had a lovely table near the front of the restauranst which had a seaview.

However, as soon as we sat down we were informed that most of the menu was not available. The waitress explained this was due to an unusually busy lunch and dinner the night before. However, we were slightly surprised that the management had not planned ahead especially given that it was a bank holiday weekend.

In summary, pleasant restaurant but dont make the mistake of looking the menu beforehand!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We were extremely busy over the weekend you are talking about and unfortunately as we buy most of our fresh fish locally we are sometimes at the hands of the supplies that are caught daily. We did run out of 2 fish dishes and 1 meat dish during the evening you visited us but we do have an extensive menu to choose from aswell as our daily changing set menu. so there is never a lack of choice. I am pleased that you found the hotel decoration to your liking aswell as the setting, I do hope you will visit us again soon. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    425
    126
    28
    11
See reviews for
172
834
27
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

A wonderful stay, great food and excellent service. Super breakfast. We only stayed one night but it felt like a real break.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you again back with us soon. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

It was a last minute getaway and we weren't expecting much as it seemed as if we'd got the last rooom. It was apleasant surprise to find such a well situated, clean hotel with such lovely staff. The breakfast was amazing - and no buffet either!

Room Tip: probably worth booking in good time and paying extra for a sea view it it's a special trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
It was a pleasure to meet you during your stay, I do hope you will return again soon. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Excellent clean and comfortable, staff friendly and very professional, bedroom was smaller than expected, but bed was huge! Bathroom spacious and spotless. Great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Firstly thank you so much for your feedback, it is very much valued by us as a team. It was a pleasure to meet you during your visit and I do hope you will come back and see us all again soon. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colle di Val d'Elsa, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Me and my girlfriend enjuyed so much our stay at the White Lion Hotel . The hotel is very nice, a perfect balance between a traditional inn and a modern hotel. The hotel restaurant is very nice, modern looking and with a wide selection of fish dishes . The sight from the Hotel is perfect, directly on the beach . The staff is very very kind and always ready to help and suggest . Nature around is fantastic, if you love rivers and birds . A very romantic and pleasant easter... .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugenio_greeneng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for your kind words. It is appreciated by both myself and the team. Stay in touch and come back and see us soon. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was a 2nd visit to the White Lion for my partner and me. As it was a birthday visit we requested a sea view and for a few extra pounds had a much bigger room than previously with a great view. This hotel is a wonderful place for a quiet break. The staff are great, the decor is really tasteful and the breakfasts are really special. I love that unlike a lot of hotels that do the breakfast totally as a buffet, at the White Lion there is an interesting menu and everything is served to you. Makes the whole experience even more relaxing. Lastly, my partner was really touched that the staff took the trouble of puting a birthday card for him in our room! Look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
I am very pleased that we made your birthday celebration memorable. As soon as you arrive at the White Lion we endeavour to ensure our guests are relaxed, we do hope to see you again next year for your birthday if not before. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Arrived Friday evening after a long drive, the hotel receptionist was pleasant and we were checked into the hotel and directed to our room (17) on the first floor.

On arrival at the room we noticed that there was an incredible lack of space within the room, especially between the bed and the table, which at its narrowest point was less the 12inchs from either object and had to be navigated to get to and or from the WC.

The pillows were very hard and the matteress was uncomfortable, in outline we did not have a good nights rest.

We did not dine at the hotel in the evening, opting to sample some of the local fare.

Breakfast was average as we were served burnt toast in a rack and also with the main breakfast meal.

In summary, i would not be happy to stay here again and as such feel that the £134.00 fee for the nights stay was in excesses of the hotel and local B&B,s that we have stayed at recently would be better value for money.

Room Tip: Please do not accept room 17. Its to small and is like a box.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLAldeburgh, General Manager at The White Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I am sorry to hear that the room was not to your liking. As you know the building has benefited from a recent refurbishment, finished in a contemporary and mordern style whilst maintaining many of its much loved features from the past. Next time you book your stay with us, please contact me directly and I will ensure you are allocated a larger room if available. In regards to the breakfast, I am surprised if you were served toast that appeared to be burnt in places, if you had let the duty manager or waiter know they would of replaced the rack of toast with no hesitation. Hope to see you again soon.Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.8 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.1 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
32.3 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
2.8 km away
The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club
13.6 km away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Property: The White Lion Hotel
Address: Market Cross Place, Aldeburgh IP15 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aldeburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aldeburgh
Aldeburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing