We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Cadogan Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cadogan Arms
Ranked #14 of 53 Bury St Edmunds B&B and Inns
Suffolk, UK
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We went for a Sunday lunch and were not disappointed.

Food was excellent with an interesting and varied menu, staff extremely helpful and friendly.

Loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    65
    17
    6
    11
See reviews for
38
53
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The rooms were at a very high standard and the food was fantastic. Bed very comfy. Value for money you couldn't get better! Wish I had turned heater down as room got very warm in night.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Great rooms very well fitted out in a good location not far from the A14 just outside of Burt St Edmunds

Restaurant is very good indeed the staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: Make time for breakfast its fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrWhoStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I have stayed at this location twice recently.

I had a different room on each occasion. Each room was spotlessly clean and tidy. The bed comfortable, the tv channels good, internet fine.

I had breakfast only once due to an early start on one occasion, and breakfast was good. Similarly, dinner on the one occasion I had it was good.

There is ample parking. It is easy to find.

It is staffed by a friendly group of generally young employees. If you want milk for coffee/tea in your room ask for a flask. They offer this option rather than leaving small cartons in the room which may, as many will attest, go off.

My one negative comment is that the sewage system is for a septic tank. The pumps etc. are a little noisy at times. For this reason I have marked down for sleep quality. The bed was lovely.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Famsol67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Just got back from this hotel and can only say how brillinat the whole experience of staying there was. We stopped in a twin room at the front and despite other reviews saying the traffic from the front was problematic we found it presented no problem at all. The staff were an absolute delight, nothing was too much trouble, they were extremely friendly and welcoming. Our room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The breakfast was top notch, my companion stated it was the best scrambled egg and smoked salmon she had ever tasted. Beautifully clean and decorated to a high standard, wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

My husband took me to the Cadogan Arms for Sunday lunch recently and it was, as usual, very good. Their menu is interesting and their wine list, particularly the range offered by the glass, is exceptional. The restaurant and bar are beautifully decorated: comfortable and welcoming.

My only issue (and the reason I am writing this review) was having to listen to the staff moaning about the amount customers were leaving in tips. The complaints ranged from hating people who added on £1.30 to the bill for a tip and the even worse, those dreadful customers who only left loose change. However miffed the staff might feel I do not feel that their views should be aired with no effort to lower voices in front of the PAYING public. if I receive good service I will tip; if I don't, I will leave little or nothing. The staff at the Cadogan Arms would do well to consider this message from their customers. We were fortunate to enjoy excellent service and tipped accordingly - despite being tempted not to having had to listen to the complaints whilst trying to enjoy our lunch.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamarTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Arrived to find a very modern inn inside a lovely old building. The rooms looked newly refurbished, a good size and nicely decorated. On the evening there was a good buzz in the restuarant and bar and the bistro style foof was good and well presented. A word for the staff, from check in to check out they were happy, attentive, and efficient. A special mention for Nicola, She was there the whole time, last orders and then for breakfast....Excellent.
Great service from such a young team.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkjkjkjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
4.8 km away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
486 reviews
3.3 km away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
220 reviews
6.6 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
413 reviews
7.1 km away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurston
253 reviews
6.9 km away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cadogan Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cadogan Arms

Property: The Cadogan Arms
Address: The Street | Ingham, Bury St Edmunds IP31 1NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cadogan Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know that not everyone wants the same thing. You might want a pint of local real ale at the bar… A bottle of wine and a grazing board on the sofas… A meal in the dining room… A really good coffee with a read of the paper… To rest your head the night before an important business meeting… A relaxing weekend break only 4 miles from Bury St Edmunds… Take your pick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Cadogan Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cadogan Arms Hotel Bury St. Edmunds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing