We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation ”
Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed in Room 6, the one with the large bath and four poster bed.
It was up a private staircase. Very nicely appointed with a large, clean and modern bathroom. Interesting contrast of exposed beam and cut glass chandelier. Quiet and dark at night so we slept well.

Several choices of hot breakfast plus fruit, cereal, yoghourt and toast.

Good location, a five minute walk from town centre. I thought it was a bit expensive but it was nice and spacious, so worth the money.

Bury St Edmunds is a quaint small ancient market town well worth a visit for a few days.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank JOyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Thank you for the great feedback, we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. We review our room rates on a daily basis to ensure they are competitively priced within the area and we continue to offer value for money for the high standard of accommodation that you mention within your review. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2015

We visited with a group of friends over lunchtime, shown to a lovely table by the window, however that's as good as it gets! Young staff will clearly to busy keeping each other entertained, drinks were made wrong twice and the meals were only just about warm! My husbands steak was so overcooked it looked as though it had been cremated and despite asking the young lad for sauces twice they still never appeared! Such a shame as we visit Greene king pubs and highly rate them however I think this one has really let the company down! Such a shame that a what we hoped would be a nice meal out with friends who we haven't seen in a while turned into such a disaster!!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
3  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

We’re sorry to read of your disappointing experience at The Fox. The new manager (Wayne) will be reviewing your comments with his team and using them within training sessions to minimise any shortfalls in our standards of service. We appreciate all feedback as it offers a great insight into where we can improve for the future . Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Our room was large and airy, the décor was stunning and the bathroom was clean and modern. The bed was comfortable and huge. The staff were friendly and the breakfast choice was plentiful. This is a convenient location for walking distance to the Abbey Gardens and not too far a walk from the town itself were there are many good quality eateries.

Room Tip: Good value for money in a stable that has been beautifully converted into stylish accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

We’re glad you enjoyed you stay and the beautiful town of Bury St Edmunds. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

This hotel has six rooms which are converted barns. the conversion has been done to quite a high spec with good ensuite facilities and an extremely comfortable bed. There is (or there was in our room anyway) an electrically operated Velux window which meant that some air could circulate around the room. There's also a safe, iron, hair dryer - in short all mod cons. We only had a snack at lunchtime but this was good quality home made produce. Breakfast was fine, if a little basic, but sustained us for the next part of our journey.Bury is a charming town and there's a lot to see and do

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank trampslikeus01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Thank you for your feedback, our housekeeping team pride themselves on their attention to detail and will appreciate it has been noticed. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015

We booked a table for lunchtime and were shown to a dark part of the restaurant.. When I asked for the table by the window, the lad said it was reserved and then after the meal I went to check it and found our name and time on. Too late... I ordered 1/2 lager & lime which came in a pint glass, asked for a smaller glass and a different pint glass came. Asked for a grapefruit drink but didn't understand that request, decided on soda. Ordered smoked salmon for starters and our friend said; he's had more smoked salmon fall out of his sandwich at home than what was on the plate but the garlic mushrooms was good. For mains we had 2 steak pies and chips but the pie outer crust was too hard, we first thought it was a dish. 2 sea bass with salad was very good but what bit of the instructions did the waitress not understand. No dressing or sauces on anything.......
So to the owner of the Fox Inn, I think you need to be around to train your very young staff and you might get better reviews, as normally I don't write them but thought you might go under if this continues. Good luck. Date: 18/08/15

Room Tip: we only booked the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Thank you for your comments, The new manager at The Fox (Wayne), would like to apologise for the lapse in service you and your guests received. Please be assured he is placing training at the front of his agenda to prevent any recurrence of the issues you raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015

stayed for one night and was treated well and would return, great breakfast, nice pint etc ,beautiful town with friendly locals , staff did all they could to help us out with taxis and local info , nice bed nice room

Room Tip: nice bar , nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank joey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Thank you for taking the time to recognise our team, kind words work wonders. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Not gonna go into to much detail as in my other reviews but stayed here for a relaxed shopping weekend and found a well run pub with a lovely well appointed room in a great location for the town centre. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Think all rooms are more or less the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2015

Thank you, we hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bury St Edmunds hotels
0.4 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,247 reviews
0.5 km away
The Chantry Hotel
The Chantry Hotel
#4 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
226 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
519 reviews
0.3 km away
The Northgate
The Northgate
#4 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
188 reviews
0.6 km away
The Bushel
The Bushel
#11 of 53 in Bury St Edmunds
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Address: 1 Eastgate Street, Bury St Edmunds IP33 1XX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range: $157 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fox is a friendly family run 500 year old inn with a contemporary fresh food restaurant and large luxury boutique hotel rooms converted in an ancient barn - complete with Hayloft Suite. Nestled next to the Abbey Gardens and yet only 5 minutes walk to the town centre in the historic town of Bury St Edmunds, with Newmarket and Cambridge close by. An ideal venue for business or pleasure. Open all day, every day with an emphasis on quality and friendly service. Fresh food served from 7am weekdays and 8am at weekends and bank holidays prepared by our team of chefs using only the best quality local ingredients. Free parking & WiFi. Our air conditioned rooms include: handmade super king beds with natural hand stitched mattresses for a good nights sleep. Handmade oak furniture & room fittings, luxury stone tiled bathrooms with natural French toiletries, flat screen TV, Fair Trade tea & coffee, spring water, safe, steam iron, cosy underfloor heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Bury St. Edmunds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing