We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Of My Favourite Places To Eat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One Of My Favourite Places To Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

The food here is always outstanding, as is the service. The builiding itself is also very impressive. A great time to go is in Jan-Mar as they do 2-4-1 on meals.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ihartthesunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    148
    64
    34
    23
See reviews for
82
354
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Ravenswood is my favorite place to eat. The food in the restaraunt is of a very high standard.
The old world surroundings give a very pleasant feeling of a traditional British home of the rich.
Bar food is available at lunch time and it is an ideal retreat for you and your secetary..
January to March is a good time to eat as all meals seem to be two for the price of one.
My children gave me £250 of voucher as my Christmas present. These I will use January to March.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rho, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I love this location where I enjoyed many occasions of stay for business, once also extended for a long weekend in the Suffolk country. I love the rooms in the main building, and I like very much the environment all around, the gardens, the flowers, the furniture. last time I was given a Mew, the last one of them. to reach my mew, I was obliged to climb the steps, and it was plenty of webs and spiders - I am arachnophobic, so I really DID NOT LIKE this. in any case, if you can get a room in the main building, it is a great location. very good also the restaurant, you can enjoy good wines, cheese and meat (sirloin was excellent).
Waitress in the breakfast room is very friendly – service is sometimes very slow, and this is not good expecially when you are travelling for business.
In any case if you like to stay in a proper country location in Suffolk, this is very good.
My score would have been 5 stars if I did not experienced the webs and spiders!
I recommend this experience, but only in the main building rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConteMax5364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Good in parts then. Upstairs mews room cosy and with very comfy bed. Weirdly, ladybirds started appearing from I know not where soon after we got into the room! not just one or two. I collected 20 in a couple of minutes. Hotel has a lovely atmosphere with log fires on the go all the time. The party we were at went really well. Breakfast was lovely but took far too long to arrive

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yantofram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed at Ravenwood Hall as part of their New Year Package. Good atmosphere, real Christmas trees, log fires and candlelight. Staff were on on the ball and nothing was too much trouble. The afternoon teas on both days were excellent as was the food at dinner. Staff did not rush at all and gave diners as much time between courses as they liked. Bathrooms in excellent conditon, which makes a welcome change. All in all a good find and we would love to return.

Room Tip: Mews rooms a bit cheaper and only a few steps away. But the rooms with character are probably to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkTelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ely cambs
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Chose Ravenwood for my husbands 60th birthday party - what a find.A beautiful venue with excellent staff and superb food - lovely rooms and a very friendly atmosphere - what more could you ask for.Thank you for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBHElyCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Stayed in upstairs mews room. Nicely decorated, but house keeping not up to stratch. Dirty toilet bowl, blown lamp in bathroom (very gloomy) no blub in bed side lamp and mould in corner of cupboard. And why o why shower curtains.? Fixed glass panel not only cheap but cleaner. Bring back the house keeper!
Lovely house lovely setting good food but where are all the staff? It's a ghost ship.
Breakfast at 9 in freezing cold dinning room, fires just being lit, waitress had to be reminded to bring milk for tea,salt and pepper etc - just general dizziness because she was trying to do too much. THis hotel is part of a bigger group of private hotels/resturants it feels as if the owner is skimming on staff and standards have fallen. Have been visiting for two years and things have declined. But still a nice place to visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Outofkernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
4.7 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
4.3 km away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
7.0 km away
All Saints Hotel
All Saints Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
14.4 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
8.7 km away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel

Property: Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Address: Mouse Lane | Rougham, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most historic hotels in Bury St Edmunds, steeped in nearly 500 years of history. Set in seven acres of landscaped woodlands and gardens, this country house hotel is easily accessible from the main A14. Whether your visit is for business or pleasure, you will find a winter fireside welcome and a summer poolside welcome. Whatever your needs, you will find a little luxury in the atmosphere of a country home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenwood Hall Country Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing