We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place with wonderful atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place with wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We arrived in the evening, after whole day of rainy and cold weather in Cambridge. Christine nicely welcomed us with hot tea, scones and home made jelly. Very nice rooms, decorated with attention to the smallest details make the stay feel like at home. And breakfast was wonderful! All guests sit at one big table that is placed so close to the kitchen, that everybody can chat with the owners while they are cooking. And everything was prepared according our individual tastes. It was simply delicious!!!
The place is arranged in a way, that you don't feel like you were staying in BB or hotel, more that you visit friends or family!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarolinaElie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
That is a lovely review to read, although we are fortunate in that our guests have reviewed us positively yours seems to give a different aspect and is lovely to read. We are so pleased that you felt so comfortable and 'at home'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
265
39
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dorset England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

A very warm welcome on our arrival from the hosts Christine and Michael
Excellent service and attention to our needs and requirements with nothing being too much trouble.
This delightful establishment won us over completely should NOT be a 4 star BUT should be graded 5 or 6 as it is really that good. Plus the Breakfast is out of this world.
We would highly recommend for any one to stay at the Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast, and come out feeling as good as we did, l would say hand on heart that this was the best Bed & Breakfast, we had ever stayed at. WELL DONE to you both.
Basia & Bobby Gee Stay was 27 - 29 April 2012

Room Tip: All rooms are First Class
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Basia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we can only add that it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we do very much look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham on Sea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Having first had the pleasure of Drinkstone back in January there was only ever going to be one place I was going to stay this time - Drinkstone - Yet again by the time I had parked my car Michael was out to greet me and offer to take my bag to my room, once settled in I was enjoying one of Christeen's lovely Cream Teas.
The mornings start with a great cooked breakfast and upton your return in the evening you receive another one of Christine's Cream Teas.
This time I was lucky enough to be able to enjoy the beautiful gardens, and Michael as usual made time for a quick chat, this time about the fine fish he has in the 2 large ponds to be found, the extensive gardens are well laid out and so peaceful and relaxing.
The rooms, I have now stayed in the Red and Blue rooms and were of a high standard, the ensuites were spotless and cleaned daily, tea & coffee making fasilities, TV/DVD, WiF, the list goes on.
I only have one problem and thats thinking of another reason to visit the area again, but I am working on it, and there is only one place I will be staying - Drinkstone.
Thanks again M&C and will be seeing you again in another few months.

Jon

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
As with your previous visit it was lovely to have you with us, you are the perfect gentleman and the perfect guest. We look forward to your next visit which I suspect must be the Peach Room?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I had not B&Bd in years but came to this delightful establishment and was completely won over. The sheer peace and tranquillity of this home - that's the difference - won me over completely. Much time,effort, and care has gone into making this comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast is English Perfection. In short this is the sort of establishment that is the Best of Britain and restores one's faith that out there are people who genuinely enjoy and care about their guests and want to please them. The grounds are magnificent and the only problem that you will experience is reluctance to leave when it is time to go.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAULWOODS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Well what can I say to that? Peace and tranquility is what we strive to offer our guests and it is apparent that you felt this, along with your enjoyment of breakfast of course!
We thank you for your review and trust that although you may now try other b and b's you will return to us at some stage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Occold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Which is highly appropriate as Michael is just embarking on the hobby of beekeeping! I tend to take glowing reviews with a pinch of salt (or two!) but this time I can only add to the huge list of such reviews that this establishment has garnered. The house is lovely with extensive, peaceful and immaculately kept grounds. Michael and Christine are the perfect charming hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. The room we stayed in (Blue) was extremely well appointed and beautifully maintained each day. And the breakfasts, whether Full English or some other variant containing eggs from the resident 27 hens, fresh fruits or the exquisite pancakes, really do set you up for the whole day.

Michael and Christine are very happy to chat with you about the local area, which they know extensively, and to give you tips on where to go and what to do. Their recommendations for local evening eateries were spot on. Michael even insisted on printing off local maps to help our wanderings each day.

Thank you both for helping to make our few days break so enjoyable. We'll see you again before long I'm sure.

Say "Hi" to Mr Wilson for us.

BT & IC

Room Tip: Stay in any room; they all seem great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertsBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Alas next door's dog got two hens so only 25 now! Yes the new hobby! The bees are suffering due to the appalling weather so no honey yet I am afraid, the apiary is now completed and carefully fenced off in case the 'girls' have a bad day.
We are pleased you enjoyed your break and look forward to seeing you again, thank you for reviewing us so positively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed two nights in the Red Room, it has great views out over the wonderful garden and open country beyond, Michael and Christine are perfect hosts they have a stunning immaculate home, in which you will be made to feel so welcome. We loved our stay and would recommend Drinkstone Park to anyone, The breakfast is delicious with fresh eggs laid by their very own hens, there is something to suit everyone on the breakfast menu you can help yourself to cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt and juices with toast and spreads including homemade lemon curd - honey and marmalade, and then you have a choice of dishes which are cooked to order by Christine, such as a full English, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. Overall a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. I have a course in May, so I’ll be back at Drinkstone without question. Thank you Tony & Nicky..

Room Tip: All the rooms meet the same immaculate high standard..(Red room is where we will stay on our next vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andaly45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Our pleasure to have you here, we look forward to your return, so glad that you felt able torelax and unwind as that is what a short break is all about in my opinion. Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

First class bed & breakfast offering in the middle of peaceful, rural Suffolk - despite being only a few minutes from the A14. I stayed on a Sunday night and was met most hospitably. Great location, great hosts who go the extra mile, better than standard facilities and a breakfast that won't be bettered anywhere. Really good value for money and much recommended. Why stay in a corporate box when this is so much better value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L, Owner at Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Why indeed? You were more than welcome and we are delighted that your review clearly states the difference between the corporate box and home from home. Thank you for reviewing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bury St Edmunds
9.8 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
9.5 km away
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Bury St Edmunds Town...
#1 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
5.2 km away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
3.8 km away
Oak Farm Barn
Oak Farm Barn
#4 of 57 in Bury St Edmunds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
13.9 km away
Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens

Property: Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Address: The Ambers | Drinkstone Park, Bury St Edmunds IP30 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Bury St Edmunds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed and Breakfast on the edge of the village of Drinkstone close to Bury St Edmunds. Quiet, comfortable and welcoming with an excellent breakfast & more.We are situated in three acres of beautiful gardens that once formed part of the Drinkstone Park estate. Quiet and secluded yet only a short drive to the A14 and easy access to the major road networks. A ten minute drive to Bury St Edmunds. We look forward to welcoming you to our home. Michael & Christine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HRS, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing