We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Five Star Plus Property”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Holm Oak Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nikki K
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Five Star Plus Property”
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent Christmas visiting family in Bury St. Edmunds and this was the perfect spot to stay! There were five of us, and with three bedrooms and three bathrooms, we were all set. The house is immaculate, the beds are comfy and the kitchen has everything you need. The house was so comfy to come back to and we even had a Christmas tree!! It was so quiet and peaceful, yet just about a 10 minute drive into Bury St. Edmunds. We enjoyed the visiting peacock, who came by in the morning as well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Lack of cell phone service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review, I agree that we are very well located for Bury St Edmunds. So pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas in Holm Oak Barn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derrick b
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Definitely 5 star rating”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We just arrived back from a three day break at holm oak barn. We found the accommodation to be of a very high standard, comfortable and spotlessly clean with a well equipped kitchen. Having taken parents for a short break we found the accommodation had easy access for people with restricted mobility. Worthy of everyone's 5 star rating.
Location was easy to find and there are lovely walks nearby at lack ford lakes which enables you to leave the car back at the barn. Would definitely reccomend this accommodation and will be happy to return nex year.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rob w
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“EXCELLENT STAY”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here for a week in august, four adults and two children, aged 1 and 6. Everything was as described on the website we booked it on. The location was fantastic and very peaceful. We will definitely be returning here !! Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're glad you had such a good stay and look forward to you coming again. Best wishes from all of us at Lackford Lakes Barns
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mlenaei
1 review
“Relaxing”
Reviewed May 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just spent a week at holm oak barn and had a lovely relaxing week in a great location, an added bonus was having the nature reserve on your door step! The owners have thought of everything would definitely stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The conversion and accomodation itself and the location for birdwatching and walking.
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Offcut
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place and location”
Reviewed January 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

I stayed here with my partner and extended family for a long weekend. The property is part of a selection barn conversions around a central courtyard within private gated grounds. It was spotless, spacious and met all of our requirements.
It is on the edge of Lackford Nature reserve which is worth a visit. The local pubs all sell good beer and food.
Bury St Edmunds is well worth a visit in particular the abbey.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing