We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant house, great facilities and helpful...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cart Lodge

Highly rated, award winning accommodation, enclosed garden within Lackford Lakes Nature Reserve
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Highly rated, award winning accommodation, enclosed garden within Lackford Lakes Nature Reserve
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Highly rated, award winning accommodation, enclosed garden within Lackford Lakes Nature Reserve
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HarleyTit...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Brilliant house, great facilities and helpful owners”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Cart Lodge for Christmas 2014. We felt the house was even nicer/better than the pictures conveyed (always nice to have a place that exceeds your expectations). The open-plan living space is perfect for family gatherings and for hosting larger groups should you need to and the on-site games room makes for a brilliant over-flow option for kids that want a little bit of extra stimulation and variety of activities.

The house was warm and spacious, with lots of room to spread out and 2 very large rooms that can easily accommodate travel cots. The only negative was the spotty reception for mobiles but that may have just been O2.

I always think that the owners/managers of rentals can either significantly add to or detract from the experience and in this case the owner (Emma Ramsay) definitely added positively to our stay. The first thing we noticed when we walked in was the Christmas tree that had been put up for us (a very nice touch as we had young children that were desperately excited about Christmas), there were also some complimentary chocolates on the kitchen counter and fresh milk in the fridge. In one of the cupboards there was a large box of toys and lego which was also brilliant and various books got in the house got us out of a bind as we had somehow forgotten to pack kids books (so thanks again for that).

All in all, a brilliant house and a fantastic holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living space and family areas (play room etc.)
Liked least: Lack of mobile reception
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2015
Thank you for such a positive review and I do hope you'll come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne B
Cupar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous Lodge”
Reviewed November 28, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Spent 4 nights in the Cart Lodge and would highly recommend. The lodge is very comfortable, warm & cosy, with excellent facilities. Would love to return at a future date.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds were exceptionally comfortable.
Liked least: Local taxis could not pick up the address on sat nav which caused slight delays in transfers to Bury St Edmunds.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyWebb
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quilters' Paradise”
Reviewed November 13, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Lovely accommodation- high spec. We came as a group of 5 sewing ladies. Just right for bedroom and bathroom arrangements.
Suited us perfectly. We brought the large patio table in and, with the dining table had 2 big work areas in front of big glass doors.
Plenty of room for cutting boards, irons, and small tables.
Beautiful outlook and 5 minutes to Wildlife Trust centre/ coffee shop.
Close to Cosy Cabin fabrics and workshops at Risby Barns. Greyhound pub delicious food and log fire. We are coming back!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2014
We'll look forward to seeing you again! I've posted some lovely photos of your quilting on our face book page Lackford Lakes Barns.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pestilent...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An really good visit”
Reviewed November 7, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A very nicely maintained property and grounds with good amenities for walking the adjoining nature reserve. Room, beds very comfortable, good size, ample bathrooms.Living space plentiful with room to spread out. Safe area outdoors for children to play. Cooker in kitchen not brilliant - numbers for heat levels on controls had rubbed off making guess work necessary. cooking equipment adequate, - dishwasher questionable, did not wash and release soap, only 2 wine glasses there. Games room could do with new equipment and more space. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackish
London
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous long-weekend at The Cart Lodge”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at The Cart Lodge over a long-weekend (Fri-Mon) in early March. We have a 2-year old and we invited grandparents along so 5 adults in total plus the toddler. Booked through a website but didn't receive further details on what to do so contacted the owner direct and she promptly responded with leaflet containing all the things we needed to know (GPS post code, where to find keys, etc.).

The lodge itself was easy enough to find and we had plenty of space directly by the barn to park. The decor suits the barn conversion and was very 'cottagey/homely'. The bedrooms are spacious and it was great to have many bathrooms for the various occupants. We expected to find a basic travel cot for our son but was pleasantly surprised to have a proper wooden cot, fully furnished with pillows and a duvet cover which our son was excited to see all set up in his room. We also later discovered a box of lego/duplo in the under-stairway cupboard, which was a lovely find.

The owner came by in the evening of the day we checked in just to say hi and let us know how to contact her if we needed to, which was a nice touch. Most of the holiday we spent outdoors in the day but we did cook breakfast and some dinners in, and found pretty much everything we needed to use in the kitchen to create decent meals (did a roast dinner one of the nights, in fact). Only feedback with regards to this is the oven door seemed to be missing one pane of glass but we left feedback with the owner about this after we left anyway. There was a written visitor's book in the lodge which we noticed some people used to leave constructive feedback and many of the suggestions had been delivered by the time we got there.

As we were lucky enough to have great weather whilst we were in Bury St Edmund's, we took the opportunity to take a few walks around the nearby Lackford Lakes (literally few minutes away) and also sat around the outdoor table soaking up the sunshine. It's nice and quiet where the lodge is, which made for a nice and peaceful holiday.

The town of Bury St Edmund's is just a 10-15min drive from the lodge so we went out a few times for meals and explored the local market (Sat), shopping centres and restaurants for meals. We also took a drive to Banham Zoo on Sun to treat the little one to a zoo visit and it was not a bad journey.

Check out day was also very good with the owner kind enough to extend our 10am departure so we could time it for the little one's nap in the car. All in all, a nice place and would visit again if going to Bury St Edmund's.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed February 21, 2014 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing