We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic converted Barn in beautiful area”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cart Lodge

Highly rated, award winning accommodation, enclosed garden within Lackford Lakes Nature Reserve
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Highly rated, award winning accommodation, enclosed garden within Lackford Lakes Nature Reserve
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Highly rated, award winning accommodation, enclosed garden within Lackford Lakes Nature Reserve
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James T
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic converted Barn in beautiful area”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed over the Easter weekend, 4 Adults and 2 teenagers. Had a wonderful time.
Lodge is beautiful with it's own lawned area, large windows look out onto the garden with plenty of wildlife visitors including rabbits, peacock, robins & woodpeckers.
Kids liked the small shared games room with table tennis, pool and darts.
Clean, very spacious and well equipped. Highly recommended.
Situated next door to the lakes which are beautiful too.
Only tiny negatives are only one tv (which is sometimes an issue with kids) and also layout of front room is tight if all of you want to sit at same time. Otherwise absolutely perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it. I'm glad that you enjoyed the wildlife, games room, garden and accommodation. Thank you for your suggestions about getting a second TV. Some families bring laptops and will perhaps watch a dvd while the the tv is in use by the rest of the party. We will review the layout of the seating area. Best wishes and please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowflake...
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A lovely barn conversion in a quiet location, which is comfortable and well equipped”
Reviewed January 9, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We spent the Christmas week in this barn with an extended family group of 6 adults, and the acoommodation worked out very well for us. It has a ground floor bedroom and ensuite which is perfect for elderly parents. The ground floor living area is very comfortable and the kitchen although not that large, is well equipped, with a good sized fridge. we cooked a full roast Christmas lunch with no problems.
The barn is a short drive from Bury St Edmunds which is a lovely town. The owner was very friendly and happy to attend to a request very quickly.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed Christmas in the barn! I agree that the ground floor bedroom with en suite lends itself particularly well to an elderly couple in an extended family group. We love Bury too, such a historic and beautiful town with a great market day on Wednesdays and Saturdays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 21, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
Thank you for your review and so pleased that you intend to come back and stay again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, and the birds (recent arrival of a young peacock!)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Dec 2015
We are so pleased that you keep coming back! We are planning to do some redecoration in January so it should be nicely spruced up before your next stay. Best wishes from all of us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Dec 2015
Thank you, we welcome return visitors and look forward to seeing you again soon! Merry Christmas X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
heather s
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent property, comfortable, well equipped and clean. Great location.”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The property was ideal as one of the party was elderly with impaired mobility. We had groundfloor facilities (bedroom and ensuite) and everywhere downstairs was level access. It was understated so she did not feel it was "adapted" but one of the party in normal accommodation. The bed was an ideal height. In other properties we have rented, the groundfloor although described as suitable for disability, had a modern pine slatted low bed or low divan. It was a great relief and showed that much thought had been given to it.
We chose the barn conversion because the photographs indicated it had no steps to access the property. This has not been the case with other places - even though they professed wheelchair access!
The location was lovely, peaceful and quiet and we managed to get to the Wildlife Visitors Centre with Mum - albeit for a cuppa! As Mum is hard of hearing, we had the TV on rather loud at times but being detached we did not disturb neighbours.
We chose the area as we have famiy living 20 minutes away and it was good to catch up with new family addititons. Mum particularly enjoyed the attentions of Percy the peacock, taking great joy in feeding him. Her youngest great , great niece who visited, called him "the blue chicken" - but at 2 years old this was understandable.
The furniture was comfortable in the lounge area, the dining room and upstairs were excellent with beautiful furniture. The kitchen was well eqipped and we had plenty of crockery/glasses for all occasions. In past rentals we have found inadequate (even battered) saucepans etc. We could not think of anything lacking (except perhaps my range cooker.....!).
If we are able to visit the area again we would rebook this property.
Please do not hesitate to share this with the owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: See review above
Liked least: Lack of phone signal- but rural area so only to be expected (home area dodgy anyway). This was only to keep in contact with family and could get some signal in carpark.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: the space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
We really appreciate your review, thank you and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing